Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report builds on state and national efforts to promote information, share best practices, and educate health professionals, including prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals for the benefit of patients, including pregnant women, children, and families receiving oral health care. The report introduces the issues, discusses trends, discusses national efforts and Massachusetts' efforts to address oral health among pregnant women and children, and provides information about the role of health professionals in improving oral health among pregnant women and children. Guidelines for prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Dental care, Health education, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Role, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Spotlights include a program overview; a description of the program’s inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation. The report also describes key elements for program success and challenges common across all programs that support or limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This checklist, which is intended for clinics participating in the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the MCH Safety Net's Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, is designed to help ensure that work done toward integrating oral health care is sustained after the project has ended. The checklist includes items demonstrating that oral health has been integrated into a practice. Examples from the checklist include submitting a written self-assessment, updated job descriptions, an onboarding process, a patient health history intake form, and appropriate policy documents.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This data dictionary specifies elements required for data collection, analysis and reporting by the community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health project (RoMoNOH). RoMoNOH focuses on primary prevention of dental caries in infants and children from birth to age 40 months and pregnant women who are receiving health care in participating community health centers (CHCs) throughout Arizona, Colorado, Montana, and Wyoming.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Excel Document

Keywords: Community health centers, Data analysis, Data collection, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This handout outlines a set of maternal and child health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Indicators for women of childbearing age and pregnant women are broken into three categories: access, utilization, and outcomes. Indicators for children are broken into four categories: access, utilization, process, and outcomes.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This handout provides information about the dental hygienist liaison (DHL) project coordinated by the National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Wellness, working in partnership with the American Dental Hygienists’ Association. Under the DHL project, volunteer dental hygienists help promote oral health for pregnant women and children enrolled in Head Start and children enrolled in child care. The handout explains the rationale for and purpose of the project and discusses the role of the DHL. Information on how to contact the DHL in each state is included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Head Start, Health promotion, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This series of tip sheets is intended for Head Start staff to use to support the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start programs and their families. The tip sheets include up-to-date practices and practical tips to promote good oral health. Health and social service professionals interested in improving the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start and their families may also find Brush Up on Oral Health tip sheets helpful.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Annotation: This paper affirms the National WIC Association’s support of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children’s (WIC’s) commitment to promote oral health to program participants. Topics include oral health in young children, oral health in women, and racial and ethnic disparities in oral health. For each topic, ways that WIC staff can help are presented. Promoting oral health in the WIC program is also discussed.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Federal programs, Health promotion, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Racial factors, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This resource guide includes tools and other resources that can be used to improve the oral health status of women of childbearing age, pregnant women, infants, and young children in Illinois. It provides an introduction and background and discusses health information for women of reproductive age and pregnant women; the role of health professionals in improving the oral health of pregnant women, infants, and young children; reasons for not prescribing opioids for women of reproductive age; and progress toward improving oral health in Illinois. State guidelines for policy and practice are included. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Related Publications

Keywords: Guidelines, Illinois, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, State materials, Women’s health, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet is an installment of the Massachusetts Oral Health Series, developed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH). The series focuses on oral health issues in the state through topic-specific installments. This issue discusses oral health programs and presents oral health statistics for Massachusetts. It presents facts on oral health in pregnant women and in early childhood, oral health trends in Massachusetts and in the nation, and next steps for the DPH, Office of Oral Health.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, State programs, Trends, Young children

Annotation: The Coaching Change Package (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-change-package.pdf>) is for guiding coaching activities with participating CHCs. The Community Health Center Site Monthly Field Note (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-chc-field-note.pdf>) is a template to inform project leads about coaching work during the month. The Learning Network Field Note (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-learning-network-field-note.pdf >) is a template for recording coaching notes from learning network calls with CHCs in the state. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Change Package
• Site Field Note Template

Keywords: Community health centers, Infant heath, Ora health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; and oral health for older adults. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This newsletter features information and materials for Head Start staff to help families promote good oral health. It also includes a recipe for a healthy snack that children can make in a Head Start classroom or at home with their families.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Fluoride, Head Start, Health promotion, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This set of five modules is intended for use by medical providers and staff at community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The modules include information about oral health integration, clinical skills, oral health communication and education, interprofessional collaboration, and perinatal oral health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, CUeLearning, Aurora, CO 80045, Web Site: https://cuelearning.org/ Available from the website.

• Instructions For Accessing 5 Learning Modules.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication skills, Community health centers, Health education, Infant health, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This course for community health workers includes six modules about improving the oral health of pregnant women, children, and families: (1) oral health essentials, (2) oral health screening, (3) oral health during pregnancy, (4) oral health knowledge and skills for infants and young children, (5) planning and making changes for good family oral health, and (6) advocacy for oral health for mothers and infants. The course has been approved for continuing education units and medical education units for community health workers and representatives by the New Mexico Department of Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability, 2300 Menaul Boulevard, NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107, Telephone: (505) 272-3000 Fax: (505) 272-5280 Web Site: http://cdd.unm.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Continuing education, Infants, New Mexico, Oral health, Pregnant women, Professional education, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This guide for pregnant women and families provides information about oral health for women during and after pregnancy as well as for infants and young children. Topics include oral diseases, keeping teeth healthy, healthy eating for two, the safety of oral health care for pregnant women, the importance of primary teeth, the causes of tooth decay and how to prevent it, caring for an infant’s mouth, and the first dental visit. The guide is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: zzz, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report provides results from the Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement’s Quality Indicators Advisory Team’s efforts to establish a set of maternal and child oral health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. The report provides indicators for women of child-bearing age and pregnant women and for children, as well as a user guide, and discusses implementation strategies, indicator limitations, and challenges in obtaining data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children