Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book provides a framework for understanding the relationship between early childhood education and the capacity to function effectively in a democracy. It offers guidance, examples, methods, and language to help prepare young children to grow within the culture of democracy. Topics include education and democracy; the child-centered classroom; creating a plan for the child-centered classroom; equality; skills, talent, and creativity; encouragement of positive behavior; development of healthy habits; communication with other children, parents, and others; family and community involvement, and the transition to elementary school.

Keywords: Child behavior, Communication, Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Elementary school children, Families, Parents, Preschool children, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations and explains why it is important for young children to receive comprehensive vision and eye examinations conducted by a doctor before they start school. The fact sheet explains the essential elements of a comprehensive eye examination used to ensure that learning is maximized through good vision.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Eye diseases, Screening, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: This brochure is designed for coroners or medical examiners to give to families of an infant or a young child who has died suddenly. It outlines the roles of the professionals that may be involved in investigating the death, gives time estimates for the investigation process, and lists national resources. It can be used for all manners of sudden pediatric deaths. A sample of this brochure is available online; agencies can order a customized version that includes their local information. It is available in three versions: coroner only, medical examiner only, and coroner/medical examiner combined.

Contact: Sudden Unexplained Death in Childhood Foundation, 549 Pompton Avenue, Suite 197, Cedar Grove, NJ 07009, Telephone: (800) 620-SUDC Secondary Telephone: (973) 239-4849 Fax: (973) 559-6191 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sudc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Coroners, Death scene investigation, Infants, Medical examiners, Role, Sudden death, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote the social and emotional health of young children. It includes separate tips for parents, pediatricians, and early education and child care providers. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction, Young children

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: These videos provide information about oral health for children and adolescents in pre-kindergarten to grade 2, grades 3–5, grades 6–8, and grades 9–12. The videos discuss the importance of oral health, how to keep the teeth and mouth healthy, the importance of toothbrushing and flossing, and the importance of eating healthy foods and drinking water and avoiding foods and drinks high in sugar. They also explain what tooth decay and gum disease are and discuss the importance of visiting the dentist and what happens during dental visits.

Contact: San Juan Basin Public Health, 281 Sawyer Drive, Durango, CO 81303, Telephone: (970) 247-5702 Web Site: https://sjbpublichealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents, Dental care, Gingivitis, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This video library is designed for pediatricians wishing to integrate oral health care into well-child visits, as well as for parents. The library contains one video correlating with each well-child visit, from the 2-month visit to the age-5 visit.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, Telephone: (207) 805-4243 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mainecohn.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Maine, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, State materials, Videos, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information on a 5-year comprehensive program evaluation of Cavity Free at Three. The report offers background information on Cavity Free at Three as well as on the program’s infrastructure development. Methods related to the data-collection process and evaluation-question development are discussed, and results are presented for the following four areas: training data, pre/post data, technical assistance data, and impact data.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This guide describes how Head Start and Early Head start programs can facilitate mental health screening and referrals for children and families. It explains how Head Start staff can prepare for the referrral and engage families in the process and facilitate the process once the referral has been made. A referral checklist and a guide to help facilitators locate mental health providers are included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Early Head Start, Families, Head Start Centers, Mental health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This report builds on state and national efforts to promote information, share best practices, and educate health professionals, including prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals for the benefit of patients, including pregnant women, children, and families receiving oral health care. The report introduces the issues, discusses trends, discusses national efforts and Massachusetts' efforts to address oral health among pregnant women and children, and provides information about the role of health professionals in improving oral health among pregnant women and children. Guidelines for prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Dental care, Health education, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Role, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dental hygienists can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dentists can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what health professionals can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This survey for health professionals and staff within the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health presents questions about opinions and experiences with providing oral health care to children ages 3 and under. Selected question topics includes age of first dental visit, fluoride varnish application during dental visits, making referrals, fluoride counseling, and anticipatory guidance and education.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Counseling, Fluoride, Health care providers, Health education, Oral health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Spotlights include a program overview; a description of the program’s inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation. The report also describes key elements for program success and challenges common across all programs that support or limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This checklist, which is intended for clinics participating in the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the MCH Safety Net's Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, is designed to help ensure that work done toward integrating oral health care is sustained after the project has ended. The checklist includes items demonstrating that oral health has been integrated into a practice. Examples from the checklist include submitting a written self-assessment, updated job descriptions, an onboarding process, a patient health history intake form, and appropriate policy documents.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This data dictionary specifies elements required for data collection, analysis and reporting by the community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health project (RoMoNOH). RoMoNOH focuses on primary prevention of dental caries in infants and children from birth to age 40 months and pregnant women who are receiving health care in participating community health centers (CHCs) throughout Arizona, Colorado, Montana, and Wyoming.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Excel Document

Keywords: Community health centers, Data analysis, Data collection, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health professionals implement oral health risk assessment for infants and children from birth to age 6 during health supervision visits. The tool, which can be used to document dental caries risk, presents a checklist for evaluating the oral health status of a child that includes risk factors, protective factors, and clinical findings, as well as an assessment and plan. Guidance on the factors in the checklist and color photographs depicting clinical findings are included. The tool is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental caries, High risk groups, Infants, Oral health, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children