Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Based on an analysis of 2020 Title V Block Grant applications across 59 jurisdictions, this report outlines three major MCH workforce priorities: 1) advancing anti-oppressive, equity-centered practices through initiatives like implicit bias training and cultural competency development, 2) enhancing data infrastructure and evidence-based decision making capabilities through improved systems and staff training, and 3) strengthening community-based workforce investments through partnerships with healthcare providers, schools, and local organizations. The analysis focuses specifically on professionals directly or contractually supported by federal Title V Block Grant funds and draws from multiple sections of the grant applications, including Federal Title V Funds, MCH Success Stories, Jurisdiction Overview, Workforce Development, and Technical Assistance.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Block grants, Grants management, Proposal writing

Annotation: This fact sheet provides tips for using complex oral health data and for presenting it in a way that is understandable and meaningful for a non-oral-health audience. Selected tips include reporting data in a timely manner, developing an effective written communication plan, humanizing the story, and considering publishing a full- length report as well as a brief summary.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communication, Data, Oral health, Writing

Annotation: This resource provides materials to help users learn about using plain language in their work, including a getting started/brushing up tool, self-guided online training, additional government resources, contacts for plain language at federal government agencies, and information on language access for limited-English speakers.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication skills, Health literacy, Training, Writing

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist media writers, editors, and bloggers in crafting stories and highlighting ways to help prevent traumatic brain injuries (TBIs) from all causes. Topics include TBI as a preventable public health issue, groups at risk for TBI, tips for accurate reporting and story development, and resources for more information.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Injury prevention, Mass media, Online discussion groups, Online journals, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Traumatic injuries, Writing

Annotation: This e-book features guidance for health promotion and health education professionals. The content focuses on enhancing professional development and covers topics such as face-to-face communications, writing, teaching tools for junior faculty members, program planning and evaluation, and career development.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org $19.95.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Communication skills, Health education, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Teaching, Writing

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Developmental disabilities, Developmental disabilities programs, Guidelines, Nonprofit organizations, Proposal writing

Annotation: The proposal development guide is designed to assist community planners in developing programs that meet the grant requirements of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program (NTPCP), a collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB); The guide provides suggestions for assessment and planning activities along with tips for promoting pediatrician involvement; creating an advisory board; developing an evaluation plan; and creating a budget. Listings of resources of use in community-based initiatives are also included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Evaluation, Fundraising, Grants, Manuals, Program development, Proposal writing, Proposals

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance about creating material that is easy for people to read, understand, and use. Contents focus on creating material intended for use by individuals eligible for or enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, or the Children’s Health Insurance Program and by those who serve or assist them. Topics include a reader-centered approach, writing and graphic design, testing material with readers, readability formulas, and translation.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Graphic design, Guidelines, Health literacy, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Translations, Writing

Annotation: This brochure for writers, educators, and service providers offers guidance on making choices concerning language and portrayal of people with disabilities. It explains preferred terminology and makes suggestions for appropriate ways to describe people with disabilities. This is in English and Spanish.

Contact: Research and Training Center on Independent Living, University of Kansas, Dole Center Room 4089, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-4095 Secondary Telephone: (785) 864-0706 Contact Phone: (913) 864-4095 (voice/TDD) Fax: (785) 864-5063 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rtcil.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Culturally competent services, Special health care needs, Style manuals, Writing

Annotation: This manual offers guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication. Topics covered also include scholarly publishing, preparation of scholarly manuscripts, preparation of theses and dissertations, and abbreviations.

Contact: Modern Language Association, 26 Broadway, Third Floor, New York, NY 10004-1789, Telephone: (646) 576-5000 Fax: (646) 458-0030 Web Site: http://www.mla.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-87352-298-4.

Keywords: Legal issues, Research, Style manuals, Writing

Annotation: This book is a guide to understanding and presenting statistical information for authors, editors, and reviewers who prepare or evaluate biomedical research articles for publication. It is divided into four parts: annotated guidelines for reporting statistical information; guidelines to statistical terms and tests; an unannotated, referenced list of guidelines; and appendices on reporting clinical trials, mathematical symbols and notation, rules for presenting numbers in text, and spelling of statistical terms and tests. In addition, there is a bibliography listing the articles and books on which the guidelines are based.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Contact Phone: (215) 351-2620 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-943126-44-4.

Keywords: Analysis of covariance, Analysis of variance, Guidelines, Multivariate analysis, Research design, Research methodology, Sampling studies, Statistics, Writing

Annotation: This document provides tips on successful grantwriting. It discusses where grantwriting fits in the overall mission of an agency, time and organization needs, finding and collecting data, creating the narrative/application, tips for keeping it concise, tips on budget and appendices, and managing the project post award. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Grants, Oral health, Proposal writing

Annotation: This manual provides health care professionals with information, work sheets, and forms needed to develop and evaluate resources for patient and family education. It includes ways to make print material easier to read, a list of simple words for medical jargon and information on using readability formulas and using written materials effectively in patient teaching.

Contact: Children's Hospital and Regional Medical Center, 4800 Sand Point Way, N.E., P.O. Box 5371, Seattle, WA 98105, Telephone: (206) 987-2000 Secondary Telephone: (206) 987-2280 Contact Phone: (206) 527-5731, ext. 2 Contact Fax: (206) 527-5705 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.seattlechildrens.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Low literacy materials, Patient education materials, Writing

Annotation: This report presents research examining the efforts of organizations serving the needs of families and individuals affected by genetic conditions. This research is one phase in the development of a toolkit to guide efforts to conduct education and outreach on genetics and health care to promote informed health care decisions, particularly for the underserved. This current phase of research is focused specifically on efforts of organizations to meet the needs of individuals and families affected by known genetic conditions.The report is organized into three main sections. Section 1 discusses issues related to the content of outreach materials produced, the development of these materials, modes of dissemation to consumers, and the gneral health outreach context in which they operate. Section 2 discusses lessons learned by consumer organizations that have direct bearing on outreach efforts. Section 3 discusses specific next steps to be carried out as the research project moves forward. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Development, Education, Educational materials, Families, Genetic disorders, Genetics, Health care, Outreach, Research, Underserved communities, Writing

Annotation: This tool is a how-to guide dealing with the writing and publication of scientific papers. It defines what a scientific paper is, and how scientific writing differs from other forms of writing. It then analyzes each element of a scientific paper (such as the title and introduction), technical issues (such as preparing illustrative material), and the post-writing stages (the submission, review, and publishing processes). It provides guidance on special circumstances such as review papers, conference reports, and oral presentations. It also covers electronic publishing formats, and some of the rules of English as applied to scientific writing.

Keywords: Manuals, Writing

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist providers of services to maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health needs (CSHN) populations to contract with managed care organizations (MCOs) for health and health related services. It provides suggestions and a range of approaches to providers by guiding them through the process of developing contractual relationships with MCOs. Topics include the following: 1) understanding your state's Medicaid managed care program, 2) understanding managed care organizations, 3) evaluating and selecting the most appropriate contracting arrangement, 4) selecting services to offer an MCO, 5) how to develop a managed care proposal, and 6) proposing, marketing, and negotiating a managed care contract. Each area summarizes the subject areas covered and provides a checklist of the key steps to follow to achieve the goals of each topic. An appendix provides three sample contracts, a glossary of managed care terms, and a listing of state Medicaid agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative policy, CSHCN programs, Contract services, MCH programs, MCH services, Medicaid managed care, Proposal writing, Proposals

Annotation: This third MCH casebook from the Columbia University School of Social Work discusses program planning and development for social programs, adolescent pregnancy and parenting, young men's clinics, pediatric nutrition parents' support groups, parent-child programs, and tubal ligation; and professional writing for social workers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Case studies, Child nutrition, Infant nutrition, Program development, Program planning, Social work, Tubal ligation, Walk in clinics, Writing

Annotation: This book describes techniques for most effectively teaching patients with low literacy skills. The book includes a description of the literacy problem and its effect on health; an explanation of current theories of comprehension; descriptions of tests for patient comprehension and for readability of materials; tips on teaching patients; suggested techniques for writing and rewriting educational materials; use of audio-visual materials in patient education; and advice on pretesting written materials for patients. The book includes chapter bibliographies and an index.

Keywords: Educational materials, Language barriers, Low literacy, Manuals, Patient education, Programmatic issues, Risk factors, Writing

Annotation: This bibliography lists brochures, pamphlets, videotapes, and other educational materials on maternal and child health topics prepared for low literacy audiences. Some of the materials are available in Spanish and Vietnamese. A resources section includes catalogs of educational materials and work that discuss how to prepare low literacy materials. It also lists organizations that publish low literacy materials. [Funded by Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Writing

Annotation: This computer-aided instruction software and operating manual guides a novice grant writer step-by-step through the process of writing a grant. Some of the topics covered in this workbook are developing the problem statement, objectives, planning the methodology, evaluation, budgeting, summarizing the proposal, and packaging your proposal. It is almost identical to one published in 1988 for public health nutritionists. This computer-aided software is designed to operate with an IBM PC with a 256K or higher main memory or equivalent microcomputer. Several versions are available depending on the computer to be used. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, Jessie Harris Building, Room 229, 1215 W. Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37996-1920, Telephone: (865) 974-5445 Fax: (865) 974-3491 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nutrition.utk.edu

Keywords: Grants, Proposal writing