Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This is a consolidated guideline of new and existing recommendations on routine postnatal care for women and newborns receiving facility- or community-based postnatal care in any resource setting. It provides a comprehensive set of recommendations for care during the postnatal period, focusing on the essential package that all women and newborns should receive. This guideline updates and expands upon the 2014 WHO recommendations on postnatal care of the mother and newborn, and complements existing WHO guidelines on the management of postnatal complications. The recommendations are intended to inform the development of relevant national and subnational health policies, clinical protocols and programmatic guides.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Maternal health, Newborns, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, World health

Annotation: This report provides information about a meeting held in Bangkok, Thailand, to explore possible public health solutions to early childhood caries and consider actions to ensure that future generations of children have better oral health and quality of life worldwide. The report includes an overview of the issues and the meeting objectives, a summary of plenary sessions and group discussions, and a participants’ statement.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood caries, International health, Oral heath, Prevention, World health, Young children

Annotation: This manual provides guidelines for assessing the oral health status of a population and determining need for oral health intervention. The manual aims to encourage national oral health survey planners to standardize measurements of oral diseases and conditions that are important for planning and evaluating oral health programs, as well as to ensure the comparability of data collected in a wide range of environments. The manual advocates applying the World Health Organization (WHO) global approach to chronic-disease-surveillance to an operational model for the integration of oral health into chronic disease surveillance systems. Topics include basic principles of oral health surveys, oral health self-assessment, and obtaining assistance from WHO.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9789241548649.

• PDF

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, International health, Oral health, Research design, Research methodology, Surveys, World Health Organization

Annotation: This guide describes the Healthy People 2020 website and explains how online users (public health professionals as well as the general public) can take advantage of the site's features. It includes a brief overview of the Healthy People 2020 initiative, including its overarching goals; a description of the features on the site's home page; and summaries of the information available in each section of the site. The guide also describes the site's relational database called Closer Look, Health Disparities, which can be used to access a wide variety of data from federal agencies. Information on external Web 2.0 tools, mobile applications, and GIS-mapping data sites is also provided.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Guidelines, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Information sources, Information systems, Internet, Technology, World wide web

Annotation: This online toolkit contains downloadable resources highlighting programs and practices to help local health departments with their work related to maternal and child health and adolescent health. The toolkit is divided into the following categories: programs, publications, toolbox, public health advocacy, press room, and membership. Users may also request help (including help finding a tool), bookmark tools, and submit tools.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, City agencies, Community agencies, Internet, MCH, Maternal health, Programs, Public health, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This webcast, which was conducted on April 21, 2009, highlights the importance of how children uniquely benefit from the medical home, shares current efforts to implement the medical home across multiple stakeholder groups, and seeks to spur future collaborative efforts in support of the medical home. The webcast can be viewed in various formats, including video + slides + captioning, presentation slides, transcript (html or pdf), or audio only. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Multimedia, Child health, Collaboration, Medical home, Primary care, World wide web

Annotation: This paper describes a national survey about the social impact of the Internet on health care. Topics include types of Internet or traditional sources used by consumers, how information gathered is used to communicate with health professionals, and who is likely to be using which services. Contents include a summary of findings, the shifting landscape, social media and health, readers and listeners versus writers and creators, the impact of online health resources, and trends to watch.

Contact: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4500 Fax: 202-419-4505 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewinternet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health attitudes, Health literacy, Information sources, Internet, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Social media, Surveys, Trends, World Wide Web

Annotation: This Web site provides students with curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Users can subscribe for a fee or use a 3-day free trial. Sample articles on anorexia nervosa, asthma, and decision making are available.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption, Drug use, Eating disorders, Families, Food, Grief, Mental health, Nutrition, Relationships, Safety, World Wide Web

Annotation: This Web site includes information about public health preparedness. The site includes a searchable resource guide database with guidelines, fact sheets, and other tools; a current awareness update section that contains recent additions to the database; a list of other sources of information about distasters and medicine, and background information on the Resource Guide project. In 2010 the guide became hosted by the National Library of Medicine.

Contact: New York Academy of Medicine, 1216 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10029, Telephone: (212) 822-7200 Fax: (212) 722-7650 Web Site: http://www.nyam.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Online databases, Public health, Resource materials, World WIde Web

Annotation: These revised guidelines were developed to help managers, designers, and others involved in creating websites base their decisions on the most current and best available information. The guidelines are particularly relevant to the design of information-oriented sites but can be applied across a wide spectrum of sites. Researchers who investigate web design issues may also find the guidelines useful. The guidelines strive to contribute to the creation of better health and human services websites, provide quantified peer-reviewed website design guidelines, and stimulate research in areas that will influence the creation of useful websites.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-076270-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Design, Graphic design, Guidelines, Health, Information, Information sources, Research, Resource materials, World wide web

Annotation: This tool kit, which is in the form of a Web site, includes online health resources focused on anxiety and depression in children and adolescents. Resources, which can be printed and copied for personal use, are divided into the following categories: (1) introduction, (2) information for families about child and adolescent depression, (3) information for families about anxiety, (4) treatment and referral for depression and anxiety, (5) medications, (6) resources for parents and caregivers, (7) resources for children and adolescents, (8) resources for professionals, (9) additional mental health issues, (10) additional resources, and (11) multilingual resources. Languages include French, German, Iceland, Polish, Russian, and Spanish.

Contact: Seattle Children's Center for Children with Special Needs, P.O. Box 5371, M2-16, Seattle, WA 98105, Telephone: (206) 987-3736 Fax: (206) 884-5741 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cshcn.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anxiety, Child health, Consumer education materials, Depression, Families, Mental health, Non English language materials, Prescription drugs, Referrals, Resource materials, Spanish language materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This paper examines the demand for health care information on the Internet, which consumers are more likely to use the Internet, and why. Topics include background on healthcare consumers' need for information, the emerging role of the Internet as a source of health information, differences among consumers in their demand for health information, sources of health information, the role of health insurance on consumer's desire for information, and types of health information individuals access on the Internet. Sections include an introduction to the research, the basis of the theoretical framework, empirical models, study results, and conclusions. Tables at the end of the paper provide statistical information, demographics of searchers for information on the Internet, communication preferences, insurance status, and type of use during last visit.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Consumers, Health care utilization, Information sources, Internet, Needs assessment, Physician patient relations, Research, Self care, World Wide Web

Annotation: This document describes for researchers, teachers, practitioners, policymakers, and organizations action plans on the general strategies and specific steps they can take in support of six of the objectives of the Healthy People 2010 program. The six objectives address these topics: Internet access in the home, improvement of health literacy, research and evaluation of health communication programs, disclosure of information to assess the quality of health Web sites, centers for excellence in health communication, and healthcare providers' communication skills. The appendix provides examples of stakeholders involved in technology diffusion and Internet action initiatives.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Health education, Health literacy, Healthy People 2010, Information networks, Information sources, Internet, Program evaluation, Strategic plans, Technology transfer, World Wide Web

Annotation: This resource handbook is designed for librarians and others who help the general public locate consumer health information. It covers standard resources for answering health-related questions, discusses the art of the health-reference interview, and touches on such related matters as the legal implications of providing health information to consumers. The handbook provides librarians with resources in consumer health in three parts. Part one discusses consumer health essentials such as decoding medical terminology, understanding health concerns of a variety of diseases, and exploring complementary and alternative medicine. The second part provides recommended resources in both electronic and print formats, and includes a section focused on children's health. Part three gives specific tips for librarians on providing consumer healthcare information including the creation of services, evaluating resources, creating publications, and building successful consumer health Web sites. This handbook also contains a CD-ROM which includes a Web-ready HTML list of recommended health Web sites and a template of the Hathaway Medical Center Library Consumer Health Web Site for use in Web design.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-418-2.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diseases, Information services, Information sources, Library services, Medical terminology, Reference materials, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This manual describes how to start a youth Web advisory program -- a project to involve adolescents in the development of Web resources and to educate them on how to access and evaluate health information, especially on the Internet. It includes information on the following topics: creating a project timeline; developing a needs assessment; recruiting, interviewing, and hiring advisors (for grant-funded programs); preparing an orientation schedule and materials; orientation and training; outreach; and post-program acknowledgment. Also provided are six appendices: a health resources scavenger hunt sheet; a general pretest; a work contract for youth advisors; an evaluation form for community agencies/resource centers; a journal of guidelines; and a computer training schedule. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital, Center for Young Women's Health, 333 Longwood Avenue, 5th Floor, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 355-2994 Fax: (617) 730-0186 Web Site: http://www.youngwomenshealth.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health promotion, Adolescents, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, World Wide Web, Youth services

Annotation: This pocket guide is intended to give readers direct access to the cases on which the monograph, Medicine and Public Health: The Power of Collaboration, is based. Available in print form and as an interactive, searchable database on the World Wide Web, this pocket guide is structured so that users can identify collaborations that share one or more characteristics of interest and network with the people involved. Each case is described in a brief narrative abstract, which includes a contact person or literature citation. In addition, the cases are indexed according to the multidimensional framework developed in the book upon which this is based. The print version of this guide organizes the case abstracts geographically, listing all cases that correspond to each index term at the end of the book. The Internet version has special features that allow users to search the database through multiple index terms simultaneously, to search the text of the case abstracts, to connect to relevant parts of the monograph, and to engage in on-line networking. Both versions provide readers with instructions for submitting new cases of collaboration for addition to the database.

Contact: New York Academy of Medicine, 1216 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10029, Telephone: (212) 822-7200 Fax: (212) 722-7650 Web Site: http://www.nyam.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-924143-08-8.

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Collaboration, Directories, Directories, Medicine, Public health, World Wide Web

Annotation: This chart book is intended to document current differences in well-being by race and Hispanic origin and to describe how such differences have evolved over the past several decades. The book is designed to educate Americans about the facts surrounding the issue of race in America. The charts show key indicators of well-being in seven broad categories: population, education, labor markets, economic status, health, crime and criminal justice, and housing and neighborhoods. This information is provided to be used as a benchmark for measuring future progress and can highlight priority areas for reducing disparities in well-being across racial and ethnic groups. The indicators in the charts were selected on the basis of their importance for economic well-being, as well as the quality and availability of data. The appendix indicates how to access additional information on these topics from federal government agencies.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-049616-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Bibliographies, Crime, Economics, Education, Health status, Housing, Minority groups, Population dynamics, Race, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, United States, World Wide Web

Annotation: This guide explains how to find health information, support groups, and self-help information by using commercial information networks or by using the Internet or World Wide Web. It provides basic information on accessing online information; reviews the specific requirements of America Online, CompuServ, Prodigy, and a select number of other commercial services; and describes various components and features of mailing lists and news groups on the Internet and discusses the use of the World Wide Web and other resources.

Contact: Pearson Higher Education, Addison-Wesley , One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Telephone: (201) 236-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 822-6339 Web Site: http://www.pearsonhighered.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-201-40989-5.

Keywords: Health, Health promotion, Information, Information networks, Internet, Support groups, World Wide Web

Annotation: This book is a guide to all aspects of the development, adaptation, and use of home-based maternal records as a tool for reducing maternal and perinatal morbidity and mortality. Designed to help program managers and administrators introduce and use home-based maternal records to the greatest effect, the book draws on experiences and lessons learned during the field testing. While a World Health Organization prototype record is presented as a model, emphasis is placed on the best ways to adapt this prototype to local conditions, test its effectiveness, pinpoint problems, and find solutions, even when resources are scarce and populations largely illiterate.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92 4 1544464 3.

Keywords: Guidelines, Maternal mortality, Medical history, Medical records, Perinatal mortality, Prenatal care, World Health Organization

Annotation: This report discusses the work of an international working group intended to provide the basis for a better understanding of the characteristics and problems of adolescents in society. Solutions and recommendations developed by the group are included. This document was prepared in preparation for 1978 meeting of the World Health Organization. This report is also available in French and Russian.

Keywords: Adolescents, Non English language materials, World Health Organization