Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides businesses with cost-effective tips and solutions for any industry setting to support women who are breastfeeding. Users can search by industry or by solutions to find creative options for space and time, as well as options for supporting women in large companies and small businesses. Topics include room amenities, breast pumps, options for handling expressed milk, education and professional support, promoting services to employees, and privacy. Videos are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Multimedia, Parent support programs, Policy development, Working mothers

Annotation: This paper investigates the impact of mothers’ earnings on birth weight and gestational age of infants. It also analyzes the impact of earnings on mothers’ consumption of prenatal medical care, and their propensity to smoke and drink during pregnancy. Study methodology and findings are described.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Smoking during pregnancy, Socioeconomic factors, Working mothers

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines breastfeeding provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and discusses how maternal and child health programs can use the ACA to strengthen breastfeeding efforts for women. Topics include breastfeeding support, counseling, and equipment, as well as reasonable break time and appropriate space in the workplace. Sources and selected resources for further information are provided.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health care reform, Legislation, State MCH programs, Women, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This book, which focuses on the importance of paid parental leave after the birth of an infant, weighs the implications of existing research on child health and development along with what is known about the economic impact of parental leave policies as they have evolved in other nations and in the United States. The book defines various types of leave—maternity, paternity, parental, family, and newborn care. It discusses who receives parental leave and why or why not, who benefits from unpaid job protection under the Family and Medical Leave Act, and to what extent private firms are providing these types of leave for the care of infants or newly adopted children. Other practical issues, policy options, and financing mechanisms are also discussed.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $34.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 9781934019979.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoption, Child development, Child health, Early childhood development, Economic factors, Families, Family leave, Fathers, Financing, Infants, Legislation, Mothers, Parental leave, Parents, Public policy, Working parents

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is intended for consumers, explains the benefits of breastfeeding, facts about breastfeeding; how to breastfeed; tips on diet, birth control, and returning to work; and how to keep breasts healthy . Illustrations depicting breastfeeding positions and instructions on how to store breastmilk are included. The pamphlet also contains a glossary of terms. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org $24.95 in packets of 50, plus shipping and handling.

• English Version

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Nutrition, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s health

Annotation: This study examines the effects of maternal employment on family well-being, measured by maternal mental and overall health, parenting stress, and parenting quality. Using longitudinal data from the Study on Early Child Care (SECC) conducted by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the authors first estimate the effects of maternal employment on family outcomes when children are 6 months old and then use dynamic panel data models to examine the effects of maternal employment on family outcomes during the first 4.5 years of children’s lives. Detailed findings are presented in table format.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website, after registration.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Employment, Family health, Longitudinal studies, Mental health, Parenting, Research, Working mothers, Young children

Annotation: This issue of The Future of Children examines a variety of work-family conflicts and assess their effects both on the well-being of American employees and their families and on the productivity of American employers. The authors also suggest approaches to help working parents meet the challenges of work-family conflict. The issue includes articles on the following topics: work and families; changing families, changing workplaces; policies to assist parents with young children; families with school-age children; children with health problems; families and elder care in the twenty-first century; workplace flexibility; the government's role in work-family conflict; and international perspectives on work-family policies.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9814705-7-3.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special heath care needs, Employment, Families, Government role, Older adults, Public policy, School age children, Working mothers, Working parents, Young children

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 25, 2011, explored ways health plans and businesses can promote breastfeeding. Topics included supporting breastfeeding benefits for everyone, breastfeeding for infants in the neonatal intensive care unit, and promising practices at work. Archived content includes the webinar agenda, speaker biographies and presentations, evaluation, and additional resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Lactation, Multimedia, Work family issues, Working mothers

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the break time requirement in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act for working women who are breastfeeding. Topics include general requirements, time and location of breaks, coverage and compensation, and where to obtain additional information.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (866) 4-USWAGE Secondary Telephone: (866) 487-9243 Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/whd/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Federal legislation, Regulations, Work family issues, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This paper describes provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) intended to make it easier for women with children under the age of one who participate in the labor force to continue breastfeeding and providing breast milk to their children. The paper provides background information on the benefits of breastfeeding and discusses the disparities that exist in breastfeeding based on maternal education, age, race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status. It describes Section 4207 of the ACA that requires employers to provide a reasonable amount of time and a place where breastfeeding mothers can express milk. The paper also explains how the new provisions differ from the previous law.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal legislation, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Working mothers

Annotation: This paper provides a background for understanding the role of lactation breaks in the workplace as a critical way to improve the health and productivity of working women and their children, in compliance with Section 4207 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Section topics include the public health case; how lactation breaks support the physical process of maintaining milk supply; lactation breaks in the context of other work-family and workplace wellness issues and explores the business case for breastfeeding; U.S. laws about breastfeeding and the workplace; and looks ahead to unfinished business. The appendix offers a quick look at the history of infant feeding and women’s work, in order to provide context for decision-makers in government and business.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Working mothers

Annotation: This paper examines how the public policy environment in the United States affects work by new mothers following childbirth. The authors examine four types of policies that vary across states and affect the budget constraints in different ways. Specifically, the authors examine how state parental leave laws, child care subsidies, cash welfare and food stamp benefit generosity, and welfare work requirements for mothers of infants affect the employment patterns of mothers of newborns and young children.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Food stamp program, Parental leave, Public policy, Welfare services, Working mothers

Annotation: This eight-section kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging business and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation-support programs for their employees. The kit is divided into the following sections: (1) the business case for breastfeeding promotion, (2) workplace breastfeeding options, (3) breastfeeding promotion program components (4) employer case studies, (5) getting started, (6) methods of measuring success, (7) other ways to support breastfeeding women, and (8) tools for employers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Working mothers

Annotation: This report examines trends in maternity leave and the employment patterns of women who gave birth to their first child between January 1961 and December 2003. The first section of the report analyzes trends in women's work experience prior to the birth of their first child and the factors associated with employment during pregnancy. Changes are placed in the historical context of the enactment of family-related legislation during the last quarter of the 20th century. The second section identifies the maternity leave arrangements used by women before and after the birth of their first child and the shifts that have occured in the mix of leave arrangements that are used. The third section discusses how rapidly mothers return to work after the birth of their first child and the factors related to the length of time they are absent from the labor force.

Contact: U.S. Census Bureau, 4600 Silver Hill Road, Washington, DC 20233, Telephone: (301) 763-4748 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.census.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Employment, Family leave, Legislation, Mothers, Pregnancy, Statistical data, Trends, Working mothers

Annotation: This 5-piece resource kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging businesses and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation support programs for their employees. The five components include 1) a business case for breastfeeding; 2) easy steps to supporting breastfeeding employees; 3) a toolkit with resources for building a lactation support program; 4) an employees guide to breastfeeding and working; and 5) an outreach marketing guide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Costs, Economics, Family support programs, Infant health, Policy development, Women', Working mothers, Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: This report reviews the major national policies of 21 high-income economies as of June 2008. The report focuses on two aspects of parental leave policies: (1) the level of support provided to parents and (2) the degree to which leave policies promote an egalitarian distribution between mothers and fathers of the time devoted to child care. The report concludes with best practices culled from the 21 national experiences.

Contact: Center for Economic and Policy Research, 1611 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 293-5380 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cepr.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Families, Family leave, Fathers, International programs, Model programs, Mothers, Parental leave, Public policy, Working parents

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about a plan that aims to improve health care services for at-risk populations, strengthen families and communities, and address social and economic inequities over the life course. The fact sheet discusses how the plan addresses these three topics.

Contact: Contra Costa Health Services, 50 Douglas Drive, Martinez, CA 94553, Telephone: (925) 957-5403 Fax: (925) 957-5409 Web Site: http://www.cchealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Communities, Education, Ethnic factors, Families, Fathers, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Service coordination, Working mothers

Annotation: This blueprint, which provides information on the importance of breastfeeding for both mothers and infants, incorporates input from a broad spectrum of community, state, and national stakeholders and experts and is intended to serve as a guide for North Carolina communities, health care systems, professional societies, academic and training programs, workplaces, and child care facilities to support, promote, and protect breastfeeding. The document discusses benefits to and barriers of breastfeeding, provides recommendations, and discusses ways to translate recommendations into action.

Contact: North Carolina Division of Public Health, Nutrition Services Branch, 1914 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1914, Telephone: (919) 707-5799 Fax: (919) 870-4818 Web Site: http://www.nutritionnc.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child health, Infant health, Mothers, North Carolina, State initiatives, Women', Working mothers, s health

Annotation: This brief examines two questions regarding the relationship between maternal employment and breastfeeding: (1) whether a mother's plans to return to work after a birth affect her decision to breastfeed her child, and (2) whether returning to work shortens the duration of breastfeeding, and if so, by how much. Contents include an introductory background, data and methods, results, conclusion and policy implications.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employment, Surveys, Work family issues, Working mothers