Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This blog post explains how states are sustaining, developing, and partnering with the community health worer (CHW) workforce and describes how states are leveraging Medicaid strategies to finance CHWs. Included is a link to a 50-state Medicaid tracker that provides details on state CHW models, including certification and training, Medicaid reimbursement, other funding mechanisms, state legislation, and key partnerships.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health aides, Health policy, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This brief provides information about the registered dental hygienist (RDH) workforce in Wisconsin. Data is from a 2023 survey of RDHs conducted as part of their licensure renewal process. Topic include workforce demographics, the number of years RDHs have practiced in the state and how many hours per week they work, information about RDHs licenced to practice in Wisconsin but not working in Wisconsin, practice settings among RDHs working in Wisconsin, and workforce characteristics by county. Limitations of the survey are discussed.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, One West Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 266-1865 Secondary Telephone: (888) 701-1251 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov Available from the website. Document Number: P-03239.

• PDF

Keywords: Demographics, Dental hygienists, Geographic factors, Oral health, State information, Wisconsin, Work force

Annotation: This call to action provides an overview of perinatal mental health mood disorders, including racial and ethnic disparities in screening and treatment. It describes state and federal legislation and policy addressing perinatal mental health workforce diversity and recommends solutions to help bolster and build diversity among mental health providers.

Contact: Health Affairs, Project HOPE: The People-to-People Foundation, 7500 Old Georgetown Road, Suite 600, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-7401 Fax: (301) 654-2854 Web Site: http://www.healthaffairs.org

• Link

Keywords: Health professionals, Policy, Work force

Annotation: This snapshot provides information on how states can increase access to oral health care by supporting, strengthening, and expanding their oral health workforce. The snapshot presents five things to know about access to oral health care and the oral health workforce. It also presents opportunities for states to consider to strengthen their oral health workforce.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial and ethnic factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: [This issue brief explains how expanding the role of midwives in the U.S. health care system could reduce perinatal health disparities and help address provider workforce shortages. It provides an overview of the midwifery model of care and describes how the integration of midwifery as a standard feature of maternity care varies dramatically across states. It also examines racial/ethnic disparities in midwifery access and use and examines barriers, including inequitable Medicaid reimbursement rates, that limit broad access to midwifery care.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health, Barriers, Midwives, Perinatal care, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This report outlines strategies and actions that can be taken to help ensure an adequate pediatric subspecialty physician workforce to support broad access to high quality subspecialty care and a robust research portfolio to advance the health and health care of infants, children, and adolescents. The recommendations come from the Committee on the Pediatric Subspecialty Workforce and Its Impact on Child Health and Well-Being, formed by the National Academies and a coalition of sponsors.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Pediatrics, Tertiary care, Work force

Annotation: This action brief describes the need to expand and diversify the perinatal workforce to meet the nation's health care needs. Compounding the limited access to maternal health care professionals, the brief highlights the lack of racial and ethnic diversity in the workforce and recommends increasing the number of nurses, health aids, midwives, doulas, lactation consultants, and community health workers to help bridge the gap. Statistics on maternity care desserts and employment of obstetricians and gynecologists by state are included The brief also describes the numerous factors that influence the lack of maternal health care practitioners in the U.S. and includes a list of innovative projects and programs aimed at addressing the issue.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Healtah equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Statistics, Work force

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health workforce in North Dakota. Topics include the number of dentists and dental hygienists licensing and practicing in the state, by year; the percentage of practicing dentists planning to retire in 15 years; the percentage of practicing dentists accepting Medicaid patients; the estimated percentage of practicing dentists with at least one paid medical claim; the number and percentage of counties without a practicing dentist; and patient wait time as reported by North Dakota oral health professionals.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental hygienists, Dentists, North Dakota, Oral health, State information, Work force

Annotation: This report provides updates on Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health (OOH) , for fiscal year 2023. Information about the OOH vision, mission, values, staff, budget, and goal highlights is presented. Goal highlights include are provided for the following: surveillance, prevention, access and workforce, and integration.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Service integration, Massachusetts, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This guide provides information for policymakers, state agencies, licensing boards and agencies, oral health and other nonprofit organizations, state governments, and other interested parties in states that have enacted dental therapy legislation and are planning licensing and regulatory efforts. The guide explains what an administrative rule is and offers background information on dental therapy and rulemaking. Also discussed are best practices in dental therapy administrative rulemaking, tribal regulation of dental therapists, and the Model Dental Therapist Rule.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Best practices, Licensing, Oral health, Public policy, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This guide serves as a resource to encourage models of workforce development that promote mentorship and holistic development for disconnected (opportunity) youth ages 16-24. It discussing the challenges that these young people face; the types of workforce skills needed; and best programs and practices to help youth succeed as they transition to adulthood.

Contact: National Mentoring Resource Center, 201 South Street, Suite 615, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 303-4600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalmentoringresourcecenter.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Best practices, Mentors, Models, Program development, Work force, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This brief provides data on the maternal health workforce, including information on demographics and comparisons to the female population of childbearing age. The National Center for Workforce Analysis compiled the data to help policy makers and other stakeholders analyze the maternal health workforce and develop workforce education, training, and other programs to improve maternal health outcomes, particularly for under-resourced populations.

Contact: National Center for Health Workforce Analysis, Health Resource and Services Administration, Bureau of Health Workforce, Rockvillle, MD Telephone: (301) 443-9256 Web Site: http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/healthworkforce

• PDF

Keywords: Data , Maternal health, Policy development, Work force

Annotation: This booklet, which is targeted toward decision-makers, program developers, health professionals, oral health teams, state agencies, and others, when responding to the oral health needs of North Dakota communities, describes opportunities to promote good oral health in the state. The booklet addresses the following topics about oral health in the state: children, adolescents, adults, adults in long-term care, pregnant women, indigenous health, North Dakota Medicaid, oral cancers, cleft lip or palate, water fluoridation, and workforce. Also discussed are the following topics about oral health equity: underserved communities, why oral health equity matters, meeting oral health needs in North Dakota, and burden of disease. A snapshot of oral health in the state is included.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Data, Fluoride, Health promotion, Indigenous peoples of Micronesia, Polynesia, and Melanesia and their descendants, Medicaid, North Dakota, Oral cancer, Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, State information, Work force

Annotation: These recommendations promote access to health care, including oral health care, for all Virginians. Recommendations are divided into the following categories: strengthen the oral health workforce, value the importance of oral health to overall health, employ data to improve outcomes and patient experience, and adapt technologies. For each category, objectives and strategies are presented.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Oral health, Public health, State initiatives, Statistical data, Virginia, Work force

Annotation: This strategic plan provides a framework for health workforce improvements, focusing on four key goals: expanding supply, ensuring equitable distribution, improving quality, and enhancing the use of data and evidence to improve program outcomes. This plan is Section 3402 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, enacted in March 2020, to address barriers to strengthening the health work force. The plan aligns with Presidential Executive Orders related to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. The American Rescue Plan (ARP) of 2021 invests resources in the health care, public health, and mental health work force in alignment with the goals of this strategic plan.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community needs, Personnel, Public health, Public health services, Work force

Annotation: This report identifies key policy flexibilities enacted during the COVID-19 public health emergency. It summarizes stakeholders' perspectives about the impact of the pandemic and policy flexibilities on children and youth with special health care needs and their families and providers. The authors present recommendations for continuing or ceasing temporary policy changes after the public health emergency, as well as new policies and actions to best support children and youth with special heath care needs and their families.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Medicaid, Mental health, Telehealth, Virus diseases, Work force

Annotation: This assessment of Idaho's oral health workforce is divided into three sections. Section 1 discusses Idaho's current oral health workforce and includes information on characteristics of Idaho, access to oral health care, supply and distribution of dentists and dental hygienists, and education and training. Section 2 discusses Idaho's ability to provide oral health care to populations that are underserved and includes information about those populations, health professional shortage areas, access to oral health care by geographic location, Idaho's Medicaid workforce, and community outreach and initiatives. Section III discusses the future of Idaho's workforce and provides information about workforce projections, opportunities for workforce advancement, and workforce planning.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community outreach, Geographic factors, Health education, Idaho, Medicaid, Oral health, State information, State initiatives, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes findings and recommendations for increasing the cultural, linguistic, and health literacy competency of health professionals and health care delivery organizations throughout Maryland. Contents include recommendations for cultural competency standards and tiered reimbursement for medical and behavioral service settings, standards for multicultural health in patient-centered medical homes and other health care settings, and standards for continuing education in cultural competency for health care professionals.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• 2013-2020 Report
• 2019-2020 Update

Keywords: Access to health care, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Equal opportunities, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health literacy, Language barriers, Maryland, Medical home, Reimbursement, Standards, Work force