Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (73 total).

Virginia Health Catalyst. 2019. Providing comprehensive care for your patients: An oral health integration toolkit for health care providers. Glen Allen, VA: Virginia Health Catalyst, 18 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: info@vahealthcatalyst.org Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children

TeethFirst!. 2016. Healthy teeth for you and your baby. Providence, RI: TeethFirst!, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women focuses on the importance and safety of oral health care during pregnancy. It also includes information about the age 1 dental visit for children and how to find a dentist. The brochure is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: info@TeethFirstRI.org Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available at no charge; also available from the web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parent education, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health visits, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013-. Show Your Love. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, multiple items.

Annotation: This website describes a national campaign to increase the number of women who plan their pregnancies and engage in healthy behaviors before becoming pregnant. The website also provides resources for promoting preconception health to women in communities including buttons, checklists, press releases, talking points, e-cards, posters, videos, public service announcements, podcasts, and an image library.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Campaigns, Family planning, Health promotion, Life course, Multimedia, National initiatives, Preconception care, Public awareness materials, Reproductive health, Women's health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Preconception care fact sheet. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This preconception care fact sheet provides an explanation of what preconception care is and why it is necessary and gives examples of preconception interventions and opportunities for state health agencies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, Infant health, Intervention, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Screening, State initatives, Women's health

National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality . 2013. Becoming baby-friendly: Improving breastfeeding support in US hospitals. [Boston, MA]: National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality, 1 video (16 min., 47 sec.).

Annotation: This video presents the stories of four hospitals as they journey toward Baby-Friendly status. The video was produced as part of the Best Fed Beginnings quality-improvement project, a nationwide effort to help hospitals improve maternity care and increase the number of Baby-Friendly hospitals in the United States. The video features the Barnes-Jewish Hospital's (Missouri) work on patient-centered care, the Presbyterian Hospital's (New Mexico) efforts to increase skin-to-skin contact, the Christiana Hospital's (Delaware) focus on staff buy-in, and the University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital's efforts to catalyze the community by changing misconceptions about breastfeeding.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Communities, Hospital programs, Infant health, Newborn infants, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Women's health

HealthConnect One, Illinois Department of Human Services, University of Illinois School of Public Health. 2013. Illinois breastfeeding blueprint: A plan for change. [no city, IL]: HealthConnect One, Illinois Department of Human Services, University of Illinois School of Public Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: This document, which is focused on the importance of breastfeeding and breastfeeding promotion, describes a plan for changing breastfeeding practices in Illinois. The document discusses the evidence base for breastfeeding, including benefits for mothers, psychosocial benefits, and benefits for families and communities. Illinois breastfeeding data are also presented.

Contact: Illinois Breastfeeding Blueprint, E-mail: http://www.ilbreastfeedingblueprint.org/pages/contact_us/12.php Web Site: http://www.ilbreastfeedingblueprint.org Available from the website.

Keywords: State surveys, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Communities, Families, Illinois, Infant health, Mental health, Statistical data, Women's health

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2013. It's only natural: Mother's love, mother's milk. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health,

Annotation: This website offers information to help African-American new mothers and their families understand the benefits of breastfeeding, make breastfeeding work, and get the support they need to breastfeed their infants.Topics include planning ahead, breastfeeding myths, overcoming challenges, finding support, and fitting breastfeeding into women's lives. One woman's breastfeeding story is also presented, and links to related information are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Families, Infant health, Mothers, Parent support services, Public awareness campaigns, Women's health

Kaiser Permanente Care Management Institue. 2013. Improving hospital breastfeeding support: Implementation toolkit. Oakland, CA: Kaiser Permanente Care Management Institue, 103 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit, which contains information about breastfeeding promotion in the inpatient setting, is designed to assist health care organizations and hospital teams in planning and implementing performance-improvement projects. The toolkit is organized around five primary components of performance improvement in hospital-based breastfeeding support: leadership engagement, planning and ongoing improvement, measurement strategy, keeping patients at the center, and sustainability. The toolkit provides information on evidence for breastfeeding benefits, Kaiser Parmanente's journey, building for successful change, and innovative ideas for breastfeeding support and promotion.

Contact: Kaiser Permanente Case Management Institute, 1 Kaiser Plaza, 16L, Oakland, CA 94612, E-mail: cmi.communications@kp.org Web Site: http://kpcmi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Hospital programs, Infant health, Leadership, Program improvement, Women's health

Texas Breastfeeding Collaborative. 2013. Improving breastfeeding support through milk banks. Boston, MA: National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality , 1 video (4 min., 4 sec.).

Annotation: This video provides a tour of the Mother's Milk Bank of North Texas. The video explores how the milk bank works, explains why breastfeeding is important for mothers and infants, and discusses why donation milk is important for helping families to support breastfeeding. The video describes the screening and approval process for donors and explains how milk is tested, stored, mixed, bottled, pasteurized, and released to hospitals for use—primarily in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Community programs, Hospitals, Infant health, Mothers, Multimedia, Neonatal intensive care units, State programs, Texas, Videos, Women's health

U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Refugee Resettlement. 2013. Somali refugee women: Learn about your health. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 4 videos.

Annotation: This four-part video series aims to provide information for current and former Somali refugee women about their bodies and health, so they can make the choices that are right for them. Topics include the reproductive system; infections, relationships, and cancer; pregnancy and birth; and other female health issues.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Audiovisual materials, Health promotion, Minority health, Refugees, Reproductive health, Videos, Women's health

Federal Partners Committee on Women and Trauma. 2013. Trauma-informed approaches: Federal activities and initiatives. Alexandria, VA: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 77 pp.

Annotation: This document describes how the Federal Partners Committee on Women and Trauma's efforts to promote, adopt, and implement trauma-informed approaches have enhanced the effectiveness of a wide range of government services and supports. It also demonstrates the impact of the committee's coordinated cross-agency efforts. Contents include the committee's model for cross-agency collaboration, information about the importance of survivor voice and participation, a common framework for implementing a trauma-informed approach, and progress reports from each participating federal agency. Topics include the impact of trauma, how a trauma-informed approach can make a difference, major accomplishments, new directions and collaborations, and resources.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Health promotion, Models, Participation, Service coordination, Trauma care, Women's health

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington. [2012]. My guide to working and breastfeeding: Tips on how to make working and breastfeeding work for you. [Seattle, WA]: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: rachels@wihtinreachwa.org Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women's rights, Working mothers

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2012. Oral health fact sheet. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource provides answers to questions that women frequently ask about oral health. Topics include common problems and how they may be linked to non-oral-health problems, oral hygiene and dental visits, pregnancy, infant health, and cancer treatment. Contact information for organizations that provide relevant information is also included.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Health promotion, Infant, Oral health, Pregnancy, Women's health

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, [Prevention Services Division, Women's Health Section]. 2012. Nationwide initiatives on preconception health: A summary of 16 key informant interviews. Denver, CO: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, [Prevention Services Division, Women's Health Section], 21 pp.

Annotation: This report comprises summaries of 16 key informant interviews about existing programs and innovative strategies for preconception health and promotion throughout the United States. The report describes the methods, discusses strategies being used (such as integrating preconception health into clinical settings, vitamin giveaways, and provider education and training), and discusses relevant formative research and other work.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Prevention Services Division, Women's Health Section, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2480 E-mail: cdphe.pswomenshealth@state.co.us Web Site: http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/pp/womens/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Health promotion, Preconception care, Programs, Reproductive health, Research, Women's health

Santoro KL, Speedling CM, Schoenman J, Myers C. 2012. Health plan approaches to preconception health. Washington DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 9 pp. (NIHCM Foundation issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief reports the activities of health plans and foundations that are addressing preconception health. The brief examines the role of private health plans and their philanthropic foundations in promoting preconception health, including the motivations for their interest in preconception care and their strategies to increase access to preconception care and document how these approaches are reaching women of childbearing age. The brief concludes with a summary of remaining barriers, along with potential strategies for overcoming the barriers and promoting preconception health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health insurance, Health promotion, Philanthropy, Preconception care, Women's health

American College of Nurse-Midwives, Midwives Alliance of North America, National Association of Certified Professional Midwives. 2012. Supporting healthy and normal physiologic childbirth: A consensus statement by ACNM, MANA, and NACPM. Putney, VT: National Association of Certified Professional Midwives, 8 pp.

Annotation: This consensus statement identifies key benchmarks of safe, healthy, and normal physiologic childbirth and is intended to assist maternity care providers, women, policymakers, and payers in protecting, promoting, and supporting human childbearing physiology and to avoid overuse of interventions to achieve better care, better health, and lower costs. In addition to identifying benchmarks, the consensus statement defines normal physiologic birth and identifies factors that facilitate or disrupt it.

Contact: National Association of Certified Professional Midwives, 243 Banning Road, Putney, VT 05346, E-mail: executivedirector@nacpm.org Web Site: http://www.nacpm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Health promotion, Prevention, Public policy, Reproductive health, Standards, Women's health

National Institutes of Health, Office of Research on Women's Health. 2012. A primer for women's health: Learn about your body in 52 weeks. [Bethesda, MD]: National Institutes of Health, Office of Research on Women's Health,

Annotation: This web site provides weekly information on many women's health issues, presented in blog format, to promote healthy lifestyles by offering practical guidelines and strategies women can use every day to reduce the risk of developing illnesses or conditions that can affect quality of life. The web site also provides free download-able apps for iOS and Android devices. Additional information includes a glossary of terms, health extras, and additional information about the Office of Research on Women's Health.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, Office of Research on Women's Health, 6707 Democracy Blvd. Suite 400 , Bethesda, MD 20892-5484, Telephone: (301) 402-1770 Fax: (301) 402-1798 E-mail: odorwh-research@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www4.od.nih.gov/orwh/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Prevention services, Women's health promotion

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2012. Maternal, infant, and child health. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, (Leading health indicators webinar)

Annotation: This webcast is the third installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides an overview of the March LHI topic—maternal, infant, and child health—and provides information about maternal, infant, and child activities in DHHS's region IV. Also discussed is how the Kentucky Department of Public health, with the help of national, state, and local partners, has successfully combatted rising rates of premature birth.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Infant health, Kentucky, Local programs, Premature infants, Prematurity, Prevention, State programs, Trends, Women's health

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2012. Reproductive and sexual health. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, (Who's leading the leading health indicators webinar)

Annotation: This webcast is the sixth installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides information about reproductive and sexual health. The presenters explain the impact and cost of sexually transmitted diseases, indicators for reproductive and sexual health, HIV statistics, and federal actions.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Federal programs, HIV, HIV infected patients, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Prevention, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data, Women's health

Baby-Friendly USA. (2011). The Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative: Guidelines and evaluation criteria for facilities seeking baby-friendly designation. [Upd ed.]. Sandwich, MA: Baby-Friendly USA, 31 pp.

Annotation: This document presents guidelines and evaluation criteria for hospitals and birthing centers seeking Baby-Friendly designation. The Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative is a global program to encourage and recognize hospitals and birthing centers that offer an optimal level of care for breastfeeding. Guidelines address the following steps: (1) having a written breastfeeding policy, (2) training staff to implement the policy, (3) informing pregnant women about the benefits and management of breastfeeding, (4) helping mothers initiate breastfeeding within 1 hour of birth, (5) showing mothers how to breastfeed and how to maintain lactation, (6) giving infants breast milk only unless medically indicated, (7) practicing rooming in, (8) encouraging breastfeeding on demand, (9) giving no pacifiers or artificial nipples to breastfeeding infants, and (10) fostering the establishment of breastfeeding support groups and referring mothers to them after discharge.

Contact: U.S. Committee for UNICEF, U.S. Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative, 125 Wolf Road, Suite 311, Albany, MNY 12205, Telephone: (518) 621-7982 Fax: (518) 621-7983 E-mail: info@babyfriendlyusa.org Web Site: http://www.babyfriendlyusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Birthing centers, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Communities, Evaluation, Guidelines, Hospital programs, Infant health, Newborn infants, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Support groups, Women's health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.