Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (651 total).

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. n.d.. Mi futuro será brillante: Actividad física y alimentación saludable—para mujeres adultas. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Postpartum Progress. n.d.. Clinical tools for postpartum depression. [no place]: Postpartum Progress, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: postpartumprogress@gmail.com Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women's health

Women's Preventive Services Initiative. n.d.. Well-woman preventive visits. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides resources for the well-woman visit, including recommendations, an evidence review, a well-woman chart, and other resources. It is aimed at obstetricians-gynecologists, other health care providers, and patients.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Women's health

Le C, Burroughs M. 2020. Improving pregnancy-related oral health coverage would bolster maternal health, reduce health care costs. Washington, DC: Families USA, 3 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health to women’s and children’s overall health and discusses the benefits of making comprehensive oral health coverage a guaranteed part of pregnancy-related Medicaid coverage. Other topics include the importance of oral health coverage to mothers’ and children’s well-being, the contribution of oral health disparities to disparities in maternal health outcomes, and variations in pregnancy-related oral health coverage by state.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Women's health

Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement Quality Indicator Advisory Team, Dental Quality Alliance, National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2020. Oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population: User guide and technical specifications. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance, 80 pp.

Annotation: This user guide provides guidance on implementing oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population. The guide provides background information on the indicators and presents indicator summaries. Also included are general guidelines for data collection, preparation, and reporting and technical specifications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Data collection, Quality improvement, Surveillance, Women's health

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center and Dental Quality Alliance . 2020. Readiness assessment: Assessing capacity to implement oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance, 16 pp.

Annotation: This readiness assessment is a tool for state oral health programs to explore capacity for collection of, access to, and analysis of the data used to calculate maternal and child health oral health quality indicators. The readiness assessment is organized by the data sources used to calculate the indicators: the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, the Basic Screening Survey, and Medicaid administrative claims and enrollment data.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Women's health, Oral health, Quality improvement, Surveillance

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2019. Medicaid's role for women. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 9 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This report discusses the role of Medicaid for women and presents information describing the current state of the Medicaid program as it affects women. Topics include who is eligible for coverage, a profile of women enrolled in Medicaid, reproductive health, chronic conditions and disabilities, aging and long-term care, and access to care. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Health care financing, Medicaid, Statistics, Women's health

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 1: Percent of women with a past year preventive visit. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 set of linked pages.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 1, percent of women with a past year preventive visit. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) strengthen data systems and expand the evidence base; (2) enable healthy living; (3) improve access to care; (4) ensure high quality health care for women; (5) ensure high quality maternity care; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Model programs, Prevention, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs, Women's health

Virginia Health Catalyst. 2019. Providing comprehensive care for your patients: An oral health integration toolkit for health care providers. Glen Allen, VA: Virginia Health Catalyst, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. The report explains what care integration is. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: info@vahealthcatalyst.org Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Committee on Gynecologic Practice. 2018. Well-woman visit. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 6 pp. (ACOG committee opinion; 755 (replaces no. 534))

Annotation: This opinion provides recommendations on the content of a well-woman visit that include preventive services and counseling. A table provides sources for recommended preventive services without patient cost-sharing under the Affordable Care Act.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Women's health

Chen A, Wilson D. 2017. How Medicaid expansion benefits maternal and child health. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brief explains how the Affordable Care Act (ACA), through Medicaid expansion and expanded Medicaid coverage criteria for children, has improved maternal and child health (MCH). Topics include the impact of expanded coverage for women of reproductive age, particularly for preconception and interconception health care, and eligibility criteria for children ages 6 to 19 on MCH.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Women's health

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2017. Preeclampsia: Screening. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force,

Annotation: This resource presents the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on screening for preeclampsia in pregnant women with blood pressure measurements throughout pregnancy. The recommendation statement; supporting documents, including the research plan, evidence review, evidence summary, clinical summary; and related information for health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Hospitals, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy induced hypertension, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Screening, Women's health

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health. 2017. W.K. Kellogg Foundation Report: May 2017–The National Preconception Health & Health Care Initiative. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: cmih@med.unc.edu Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men's health, National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women's health

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health. 2017. The National Preconception Health & Health Care Initiative: W.K. Kellogg Foundation Evaluation Report–April 2017. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of a national preconception outreach and education initiative for young men and women and clinicians. Contents include media metrics following the launch of national consumer website and social media platform to increase the visibility of preconception health messages and provide young adults with essential, evidence-based information to improve their health, reduce their risks, and improve birth outcomes. Topics include launch results and analytic snapshot and information about the related grantee and preconception peer educator ambassador programs. Additional contents summarize the impact of a partnership to integrate preconception health into routine clinical care using a learning collaborative, peer-reviewed publications, a website, traditional media, social media, expanded conversations, conferences and webinars, and a national newsletter.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: cmih@med.unc.edu Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Mass media, Measures, Men's health, National initiatives, Organizational change, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women's health

American College of Rheumatology, Lupus Foundation of America. 2017. Be Fierce. Take Control™. Atlanta, GA: American College of Rheumatology; Washington, DC: Lupus Foundation of America, multiple items.

Annotation: This public health campaign website was launched with the goal of educating and empowering young African American and Latino women (including those ages 15-18), who are most at-risk for developing lupus, to be aware of it signs and symptoms. The campaign uses the web, social media, digital advertising, and audience engagement to reach young women and educate them about the signs and symptoms of lupus. The campaign website also provides tools and resources such as the Lupus Foundation of America’s “Could it Be Lupus?” interactive questionnaire so those with possible symptoms can learn how to take that next step and talk to their health care provider.

Contact: Lupus Foundation of America, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 410, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 349-1155 Secondary Telephone: (800) 558-0121 Fax: (202) 349-1156 Web Site: http://www.lupus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, African Americans, Autoimmune diseases, Early intervention programs, Empowerment, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Lupus erythematosus, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Self care, Women's health

Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative. 2017. Interactive compendium of MCH measures. Baltimore, MD: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health,

Annotation: This compendium provides measures related to maternal, child, adolescent, and family health, including oral health, from different measure sets. The compendium is organized to enable users to browse through measures by measure set, data source category, or topic category. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau[

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: info@cahmi.org Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Data, Measures, Oral health, Women's health

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2017. The HRSA strategy to address intimate partner violence 2017-2020. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 53 pp.

Annotation: This document presents the Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA’s) Office of Women’s Health’s agency-wide collaborative initiative that puts into practice a strategy to address intimate partner violence (IPV). The document is organized into four priority areas describing how HRSA employees can address IPV: (1) train the health care and public health work force to address IPV, (2) develop partnerships, (3) increase access to high-quality IPV-informed health care, and (4) address gaps in knowledge about IPV. For each priority area, objectives, activities, and key outcomes are presented, and lead agencies and collaborators are identified.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/WomensHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Family violence, Federal initiatives, Professional training: Access to health care, Women’s health

Hitti JE, Melvin AJ, Taylor P, Rhodes W, eds. 2016. Screening and management of maternal HIV infection: Implications for mother and infant (rev. ed.). Seattle, WA: University of Washington, Northwest Regional Perinatal Program and Department of Pediatrics; Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, 40 pp.

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women's health

United Health Foundation, American Public Health Association. 2016. America's health rankings: A call to action for individuals and their communities–Health of women and children report. Minnetonka, MN: United Health Foundation, 179 pp.

Annotation: This report applies a model of health to rank states across 60 measures related to the health and well-being of women of reproductive age, infants, and children. The model reflects that determinants of health directly influence health outcomes and includes a health outcomes category and the following four categories of health determinants: behaviors, community and environment, policy, and clinical care. The report presents findings on the health of women and children between and within states, healthy communities for children, racial disparities in measures of mortality, and variations in smoking. State summaries are also provided.

Contact: United Health Foundation, 9900 Bren Road East, Minnetonka, MN 55343, Telephone: (952) 936-3068 E-mail: unitedhealthfoundationinfo@uhc.com Web Site: http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Environmental influences, Health behavior, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Infant health, Measures, Public policy, Racial factors, Trends, Women's health

McKee C. 2016. Medicaid managed care final regulations and reproductive care. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 7 pp. (Issue brief no. 5)

Annotation: This brief reviews implementation requirements governing access to reproductive health services in Medicaid managed care. Topics include network adequacy and access to services, travel time and distance standards, timely availability of services, direct access to providers, information requirements, and utilization controls. Recommendations for states are also included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care, Provider networks, Regulations, Reproductive health, Standards, Third party payers, Women's health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.