Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Annotation: This website provides resources for the well-woman visit, including recommendations, an evidence review, a well-woman chart, and other resources. It is aimed at obstetricians-gynecologists, other health care providers, and patients.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Disease prevention, Preventive health services Health screening, Women', s health

Annotation: This annual report applies a model of health to rank states across multiple measures related to the health and well-being of women of reproductive age, infants, and children. The 2023 report highlights several trends in mortality among women of reproductive age and children, including rising rates of maternal mortality, drug deaths among women and injury deaths among women and children. The 2023 report also highlights several changes that occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic, including a a drop in the percentage of 3- and 4-year-olds enrolled in early childhood education and decrease in the prevalence of electronic vapor product use among high- school students.

Contact: United Health Foundation, 9900 Bren Road East, Minnetonka, MN 55343, Telephone: (952) 936-3068 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Full Report
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Environmental influences, Health behavior, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Infant health, Measures, Public policy, Racial factors, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This report focuses on key areas that are impacting the health and well being of women in the state of California, including poverty, employment status, technology, the media, changing demographics, leadership, women in the military, and mental and physical health. The research and statistics highlight trends and insights on why gender gaps continue to exist within the state. Data on racial and ethnic health disparities is included, along with figures that compare statistical data in the state of California with national averages. Data on obesity, infant mortality, substance abuse, breastfeeding, and other health-related variables are interspersed throughout the report, which is intended to inspire college students at Mount St. Mary's College to affect change.

Contact: Mount St. Mary's College, Doheny Campus, 10 Chester Place, Los Angeles, CA 90007, Telephone: (213) 477-2500 Web Site: http://www.msmc.la.edu/ Available from the website.

• 2022 Edition
• Website

Keywords: California, Gender, Geographic factors, Health status disparities, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide provides guidance on implementing oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health population. The guide provides background information on the indicators and presents indicator summaries. Also included are general guidelines for data collection, preparation, and reporting and technical specifications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data collection, Oral health, Quality improvement, Surveillance, Women', s health

Annotation: This review evaluates the effectiveness, use, and implementation of telehealth for women’s preventive services for reproductive healthcare and interpersonal violence (IPV). It examines patient preferences and engagement in telehealth and explores how this form of health care delivery affects health outcomes, particularly for those who are geographically isolated or in underserved settings or populations. The use of telehealth services during the COVID-19 pandemic is highlighted.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Health care delivery, Health screening, Prevention services, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper affirms the National WIC Association’s support of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children’s (WIC’s) commitment to promote oral health to program participants. Topics include oral health in young children, oral health in women, and racial and ethnic disparities in oral health. For each topic, ways that WIC staff can help are presented. Promoting oral health in the WIC program is also discussed.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Federal programs, Health promotion, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Racial factors, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This resource guide includes tools and other resources that can be used to improve the oral health status of women of childbearing age, pregnant women, infants, and young children in Illinois. It provides an introduction and background and discusses health information for women of reproductive age and pregnant women; the role of health professionals in improving the oral health of pregnant women, infants, and young children; reasons for not prescribing opioids for women of reproductive age; and progress toward improving oral health in Illinois. State guidelines for policy and practice are included. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Related Publications

Keywords: Guidelines, Illinois, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, State materials, Women’s health, Young children

Annotation: This systematic review assesses the benefits and potential harms of pharmacologic interventions for pregnant, postpartum, and reproductive-age women with a new or preexisting diagnosis of a mental health disorder. Based on data extracted from 164 studies that met the eligibility criteria, the review explores whether the benefits for the mother outweigh the potential risks that pharmacologic interventions pose to the fetus, including the risk of congenital anomalies. The document was prepared by the RTI International--University of Northat Carolina at Chapel Hill Evidence-based Practice Center for the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Congenital abnormalities, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Outcome evaluation, Perinatal care, Pharmacology, Risk factors, Women', s health

Annotation: This annual report addresses maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States and presents five big ideas on how to tackle the problem. The recommendations are based on white papers prepared by subject matter experts that provide background information and data on maternal mortality in the U.S.; analyze the current maternity care system; explore racism and racial inequity in maternal and health outcomes; and assess the role of Medicaid in understanding and potentially helping to solve the problem. The five big ideas are as follows: (1) Make a national commitment to improvement; (2) Build and support community care models; (3) Redesign insurance around women’s needs; (4) Tackle the racism that undermines women-centered maternity care; and 5) Invest in research, data, and analysis.

Contact: Aspen Institute, One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036-1133, Telephone: (202) 736-5800 Fax: (202) 467-0790 Web Site: http://www.aspeninstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Health insurance, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Public health, Racial factors, Racism, Women', s health

Annotation: These guidelines contain evidence-based recommendations on preventive services to be provided by clinicians during routine well-woman visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• PDF

Keywords: Preventive health services , Women', s health

Annotation: This committee opinion for clinicians includes background information on the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine; statistics on HPV-associated cancers; recommendations on who should be vaccinated and when; guidelines on administering the vaccine; and information on safety, efficacy, and patient education. The 2020 committee opinion r(#809) replaces the earlier 2017 opinion (#704).

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cancer, Communication, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Women', s health services

Annotation: This toolkit for Title V program staff and other stakeholders provides information to help address national performance measure 13.1 (preventive dental visits for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visits for children and adolescents ages 1–17). The strategic approaches described in the toolkit are informed by evidence and include resources from national and state organizations. The approaches are divided into categories, with relevant resources listed for each. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Model programs, Prevention, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health to women’s and children’s overall health and discusses the benefits of making comprehensive oral health coverage a guaranteed part of pregnancy-related Medicaid coverage. Other topics include the importance of oral health coverage to mothers’ and children’s well-being, the contribution of oral health disparities to disparities in maternal health outcomes, and variations in pregnancy-related oral health coverage by state.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Women', s health

Annotation: This readiness assessment is designed for state oral health programs to explore capacity for collection of, access to, and analysis of the data used to calculate maternal and child health oral health quality indicators. It is organized by the data sources used to calculate the indicators: the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, the Basic Screening Survey, and Medicaid administrative claims and enrollment data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Oral health, Quality improvement, Surveillance, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit is a guide to help health care and social service organization leaders and providers improve care coordination for women with opioid use disorders (OUD) in HRSA-supported programs. It addresses (1) shifting the culture around addiction and treatment; (2) engaging women with OUD in care; and (3) creating and maintaining partnerships that support care coordination for women with OUD.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care delivery, Service coordination, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: [This educational resource is designed to assist clinicians in providing preventive health services for well women. Included are standards of care and screening recommendations to assess general physical and mental health and to detect infectious disease, cancer, or health issues that may arise during pregnancy and postpartum. The rationale for different types of screenings, specific recommendations on ages and frequency of screening, clinical guidance for practitioners, and references are provided for each of the preventive care services.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health screening, Preventive health services, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue brief addresses barriers to adequate health care in rural communities for women of reproductive age with mental health and substance use disorders. The brief discusses social determinants that play a significant role in health outcomes (e.g., rising unemployment, unreliable transportation, inadequate housing, and low rates of health insurance coverage) and addresses the complex needs of women in rural settings who have limited access to medical treatment. Included are examples of state and federal programs designed to increase access to care and improve care coordination for vulnerable women of reproductive age, including pregnant women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Intervention, Mental disorders, Model programs, Reproductive health, Rural health, Rural population, Substance use disorders, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children