Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (27 total).

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources. 2019. West Virginia Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project [FY 2016 progress report]. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, 53 pp.

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the West Virginia Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2015. The report includes information about the Marshall University community and school oral health team’s contribution to West Virginia’s perinatal population oral health survey during the period 2014–2015. It discusses methodology and provides an evaluation and preliminary findings of the 2014 survey. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Education, Office of Early Learning. [2015]. West Virginia school readiness profile 2014. [Charleston, WV]: West Virginia Department of Education, 134 pp.

Annotation: This report details the types of programmatic and child outcome data available to county collaborative early childhood teams to assist them in establishing school-readiness goals. Contents include kindergarten-entry health data, including oral health data. Potential uses for the data are discussed.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Education, Office of Early Learning, Building 6, Room 603, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, WV 25305-0330, Telephone: (304) 558-9994 Fax: (304) 558-1834 Web Site: http://wvde.state.wv.us/oel Available from the website.

Keywords: State initiatives, Child health, Collaboration, Data, Early childhood education, Oral health, School readiness, West Virginia, Young children

West Virginia Department of Education, Office of Special Programs. 2015. Building community and school partnerships for student success: A resource guide for West Virginia. [Charleston, WV]: West Virginia Department of Education, Office of Special Programs, 19 pp.

Annotation: This document provides an overview of community schools including a definition of community schools and why they are important, what is needed to facilitate community school development, and a framework for the community school concept and related resources. Contents include information about the cost benefits and advantages of community schools, models of community schools, data and needs, outcomes, evaluation, the community school advisory committee and coordinator, determining sponsorship for school and community collaboration, memorandum of agreement, negotiating services, quality, and tips for success.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Education, Office of Special Education, Building 7, Room 717, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, WV 25305-0330, Telephone: (304) 558-2696 Secondary Telephone: (800) 642-8541 Fax: (304) 558-3741 Web Site: https://wvde.state.wv.us/osp Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Model programs, Planning, Public private partnerships, Schools, West Virginia

McManus MA, Fox HB. 2014. Lack of comparability between CHIP and ACA qualified health plans. Washington, DC: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health , 34 pp. (Fact sheet; no. 11)

Annotation: This fact sheet compares benefits and cost-sharing requirements in separate non-Medicaid Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) and child-only qualified health plans available to families with low and moderate incomes in five geographically representative states -- Colorado, Georgia, Oregon, Texas, and West Virginia -- that enroll all or almost all of CHIP-eligible children in separate programs. Contents include a brief summary of each state's current CHIP eligibility levels for its separate CHIP programs, type of CHIP benefit package, and type of health insurance exchanges. Additional topics include coverage for 28 mandatory and optional service categories defined under the CHIP statute.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: info@thenationalalliance.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Colorado, Comparative analysis, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Georgia, Health care reform, Individualized health plans, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, Texas, West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program. 2014. West Virginia Cavity Free by Three: Fluoride varnish manual for health care providers. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 32 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help primary care health professionals and others reduce the rate of dental caries in infants and young children ages 6 to 36 months in West Virginia. Contents include

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 350 Capitol Street, Room 427, Charleston, WV 25301, Telephone: (304) 558-5388 Web Site: https://dhhr.wv.gov/oralhealth/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, State programs, Training, West Virginia, Young children, and parent-education materials. , coding and billing, information about the implementation strategy (training and certification protocol) for caries risk assessment, fluoride-varnish application, and facilitation of the age 1 dental visit, training resources

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program. 2013. West Virginia fluoride mouthrinse project instruction manual. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 28 pp.

Annotation: This manual for school personnel and volunteers describes procedures and requirements for administering and implementing a school-based fluoride mouthrinse (FMR) project in West Virginia. Contents include information about roles and responsibilities, operation, administration guidelines, recommendations for FMR coordinators and teachers, and implementation and site visits. The manual also contains forms and related materials on topics such as procedural options, student involvement, and adaptations for students with special health care needs.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Education, Healthy Schools Program, Building 6, Room 309, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-8830 Fax: 304-558-3787 Web Site: http://wvde.state.wv.us/osshp/main Available from the website.

Keywords: Fluorides, Health care delivery, Manuals, Oral health, Prevention programs, School age children, School health programs, State programs, West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, Division of Research, Evaluation and Planning. 2011. State of West Virginia maternal, child and family health: Needs assessment summary. [Charleston, WV]: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the process used to conduct West Virginia's 2010 maternal, child, and family health needs assessment, required every five years from states receiving federal MCH Block grants (Title V), and the performance measures chosen to encompass priority needs. The report summaries the state's priorities to improve the health outcomes of pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, and children with special health care needs and describes eight state outcome measures selected to target the health needs of West Virginia's MCH population.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children with special health care needs, Families, Infants, Measures, Needs assessment, Pregnant women, State MCH programs, Title V programs, West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health. 2011. Maternal and Child Health Services Title V Block Grant: State narrative for West Virginia—Application for 2012, annual report for 2010. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, 158 pp.

Annotation: This report consists of West Virginia's Maternal and Child Health Services Title V block grant application for 2012 and annual report for 2010. The report includes a presentation of general requirements; a state overview; a discussion of priorities, performance, and program activities; a budget narrative; reporting forms; and performance and outcome measure detail sheets.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

Keywords: Annual reports, Applications, Block grants, Child health, Families, MCH programs, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Title V programs, West Virginia, Women's health

TEAM for West Virginia Children. 2010-. Our Babies: Safe and Sound. Hungtingon, WV: TEAM for West Virginia Children, multiple items.

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources to help prevent injury and death among infants in West Virginia. Topics include ways to keep infants safe while sleeping, and how to cope with frustrations resulting from frequent, constant, or inconsolable infant crying. Contents include public service announcements, videos, a one-hour training webinar, a community partners resource guide, a slide presentation, posters and brochures, a pledge form, and an information form for barbershops and laundromats. Print brochures and posters, DVDs, and erasable white boards may also be ordered from the website for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

Contact: TEAM for West Virginia Children, P.O. Box 1653, 625 Fourth Avenue, Huntington, WV 25717, Telephone: (304) 523-9587 Fax: (304) 523-9595 E-mail: team@teamwv.org Web Site: http://www.teamwv.org Available at no charge from the website; print materials are also available at no charge for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

Keywords: Campaigns, Continuing education, Coping, Crying, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Public service announcements, Sleep position, State initiatives, Training materials, Unintentional injuries, West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health. 2010. West Virginia oral health plan, 2010–2015. [Charleston, WV]: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, 40 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the burden of oral disease among children and adults (including pregnant women), both nationally and within West Virginia. Topics include capacity (financing and work force), community water fluoridation, smoking, the need for surveillance, and community forums and development of the state oral health plan. The mission, objectives, and strategies of the state oral health program are also outlined.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, State surveys, Strategic plans, West Virginia

West Virginia Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health. 2010. West Virginia five year needs assessment. [Charleston, WV]: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, 223 pp.

Annotation: This 5-year needs assessment for West Virginia discusses the needs-assessment process, partnership building and collaboration efforts, strengths and needs of maternal and child health population groups and desired outcomes, maternal and child health program capacity, selection of state priority needs, and state and federal outcome measures.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Families, Infant health, Infant mortality, MCH programs, Needs assessment, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Reproductive health, State programs, Title V programs, West Virginia, Women's health

Sharps G, Meckstroth-West R, Muto BJ, Gooch-Erbacher B, Cunningham K, Shulman E. 2009. Oral health in West Virginia's Head Start and Early Head Start children. [Charleston, WV]: West Virginia Partners for Oral Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This continuing education course discusses the role of health professionals in West Virginia in delivering oral-health-care education to parents and other caregivers of children enrolled in Head Start. It also explores the delivery of preventive care by dentists and dental hygienists to meet the oral health needs of young children enrolled in Head Start. Topics include the Head Start program and its commitment to the promotion of oral health, the pathophysiologic and risk factors of dental caries, the dental home concept, and anticipatory guidance for parents and other caregivers.

Contact: West Virginia Community Voices, 2207 East Washington Street, Charleston, WV 25311, Telephone: (304) 344-1872 E-mail: tolliver2@verizon.net Web Site: http://www.wvvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Continuing education, Early Head Start, Head Start, Health professions, Oral health, Preventive health services, West Virginia, Young children

Gooch-Erbacher B. 2008. [West Virginia] final report: Follow-up activities to EHS/HS state/territorial oral health forums . [Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health], 2 pp.

Annotation: This final report focuses on follow-up activities to the Early Head Start and Head Start oral health forum held in October 2004 in West Virginia. The report discusses activities accomplished, immediate outcomes, and additional follow-up activities planned. A list of West Virginia Partners for Oral Health and a budget explanation are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Conferences, Early Head Start, Final reports, Head Start, Oral health, State initiatives, West Virginia

Alker J. 2008. West Virginia's Medicaid redesign: What is the impact on children?. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief report discusses the impact on children of West Virginia's 2006 Medicaid redesign that restricts access to certain health care services if Medicaid beneficiaries do not sign and comply with a personal responsibility agreement. The report presents key findings on the impact of this change, included who is most affected, how many children have had benefits restricted, the role of Medicaid in providing health care to West Virginia children, why families are not signing the agreement, and whether compliance with the agreement is being enforced.

Contact: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: childhealth@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children, Families, Low income groups, Medicaid, West Virginia

Southern Institute on Children and Families. 2007. Uninsured children in the South. (3rd. ed.). Columbia, SC: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 84 pp.

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: info@thesoutherninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia

Fish M. 2007. Infancy to middle childhood in rural Appalachia: [Final report]. Huntington, WV: Department of Family and Community Health, Marshall University School of Medicine, 14 pp.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Infancy to Middle Childhood in Rural Appalachia project during the period January 1, 2003, through December 31, 2006. The purpose of this project was to continue investigation, into middle childhood, of an under-studied but high-risk group: low-socioeconomic-status rural Appalachian children. This research built on two earlier projects that studied the socioemotional and cognitive development of low-income rural Appalachian children in infancy and during the period of preschool through kindergarten. The report is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) review of the literature, (3) study design and methods, (4) presentation of findings, (5) dissemination of findings, and (6) list of products. References are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Final reports, High-risk children, Low income groups, MCH research, Rural populations, West Virginia

Fitch C. 2007. Factors associated with iron status among WIC infants and toddlers in rural West Virginia. Washington, DC: Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, (Contractor and cooperator report no. 35)

Annotation: This report describes a study that examined the iron status of infants and young children ages 6-24 months with a prevalence of anemia of at least 10 percent and who were participating in WIC in West Virginia counties. The report, which includes an abstract and an executive summary, introduces the issue, discusses the background and methods, and provides results, a discussion, and conclusions. References are included. Statistical information is provided in tables throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Iron deficiency anemia, Low income groups, Research, Rural populations, WIC, West Virginia, Young children

Dawood MY. 2005. Risk Reduction for Family Well-Being: West Virginia Healthy Start/HAPI (Helping Appalachian Parents and Infants) Project—Impact report. Morgantown, WV: West Virginia Healthy Start/HAPI Project, 106 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project to reduce disparities in infant mortality rates in four counties in north central West Virginia. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities; and descriptions of the project implementation, project management and governance, and accomplishments; and the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of the local government. A copy of the local evaluation report is included in addition to data service tables. Additional contents include a project resource manual of of articles and handouts on mental health and depression, family stress and domestic violence, smoking and other medical risks, as well as other administrative forms, procedures, and instructions. Two additional volumes include materials developed or used during the project, divided into two stages: preconception to 12 months, and 13 to 24 months. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, MCH services, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, State programs, West Virginia

Orloff TM, Tymann B. 1995. Rural health: An evolving system of accessible services. Washington, DC: National Governors' Association, 293 pp.

Annotation: This document discusses factors influencing the delivery of health care to rural populations. The authors record and synthesize trends at the state and local levels with regard to changes in the health care environment that improve the abilities of rural health services and programs. The methodology used is described. Overviews are given for support for building systems of care, strategies and trends affecting the health professional workforce, rural health networks, managed care, improved access to specialized services, data systems and financial support, and rural health as a component of state health care delivery systems. Appendices include case studies of Minnesota and West Virginia and contain profiles of state initiatives.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Contact Phone: (301) 498-3738 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: webmaster@nga.org Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55877-250-2.

Keywords: Access to health care, Case studies, Health care delivery, Health professionals, Health programs, Health services, Health services, Managed care, Minnesota, Program descriptions, Rural population, State initiatives, West Virginia

Westbrook C. 1991. Second annual Surgeon General's follow-up conference for children with special needs: West Virginia's response: Making it work for children with special needs: The family, the community, the state, the nation: Proceedings. Morgantown, WV: West Virginia University Health Sciences Center, W. G. Klingberg Center for Child Development, 17 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes the presentations made at this conference that focused on how parents and professionals can work together to care for children with special needs and their families in West Virginia. Topics included children with special needs and education; redirecting children's behavior; the challenge to meet the health care needs of every child in the community; and empowering parents to deal with state government. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: W. G. Klingberg Center for Child Development, West Virginia University Health Sciences Center, P.O. Box 9100, Morgantown, WV 26506-9100, Telephone: (800)-842-3627 ext. 293-7331 Contact Phone: (304) 293-7331 Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Service coordination, West Virginia

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.