Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. [2009]. Bodyworks: A toolkit for healthy teens and strong families. [Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health,

Annotation: This Web site offers information about Bodyworks, a program designed to help parents and caregivers of adolescents improve family eating and physical activity habits. The program focuses on parents as role models and provides them with hands-on tools to make small, specific changes to prevent obesity and help maintain a healthy weight. In addition to the toolkit itself, the Web site provides information about finding programs, trainings, and trainers, A Bodyworks newsletter is also available.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Families, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Prevention, Programs, Training, Weight loss, Weight management

Altarum Institute. 2009. Bodyworks evaluation final report. [Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 50 pp.

Annotation: This evaluation final report provides information about Bodyworks, a program designed to help parents and caregivers of girls ages 8-17 improve family eating and physical activity habits. The program focuses on parents as role models and provides them with hands-on tools to make small, specific changes to prevent obesity and help maintain a healthy weight. The evaluation provides background information and discusses the purpose of the program and discusses the evaluation purpose and design, the process evaluation, outcomes for parents and caregivers and for girls.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent health, Child behavior, Child health, Families, Female children, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Prevention, Program evaluation, Programs, Weight loss, Weight management

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and CityMatCH. [2008]. AMCHP/CityMatch women's preventive health framework. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 10 pp.

Annotation: This paper outlines a number of factors that influence women's health and that state and local MCH programs can consider when implementing a women's preventive health framework to improve health for women of reproductive age. The paper lays out a framework for improving preconception and interconception health; introduces relevant conceptional frameworks; and outlines guiding principles, assumptions, and possible activities associated with this work. Finally, the paper offers evidence to support the decision to focus on achieving a healthy weight before pregnancy to improve women's health and promote safe motherhood. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Body weight, Health promotion, Local programs, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, State programs, Weight loss, Women's health

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals. 2008. What you need to know: Counseling postpartum patients about diet and exercise. (Upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: arhp@arhp.org Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women's health

Lee J, Shartzer A. 2005. Health plans emerging as pragmatic partners in fight against obesity. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Research and Educational Foundation, 50 pp.

Annotation: The report describes obesity initiatives in health plans across the country and features essays on the obesity problem contributed by thinkers among a cross-section of stakeholders. The report provides information on prevalence and trends as well as the health and economic impact of obesity. It also addresses current issues in the prevention and treatment of obesity. The report, which includes an executive summary, also discusses findings and includes sidebar discussions on Medicare and Medicaid, obesity-related prescription drug treatments, employers and health plans weighing benefits and risks of weight-loss surgery, and expert panel recommendations. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. References are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Initiatives, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Obesity, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Surgery, Treatment, Trends, Weight loss

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. 2004. Helping your overweight child. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet provides information and health strategies for parents whose children are overweight. Families are encouraged to adopt healthy eating habits, reduce fat intake, and increase physical activity rather than placing the child on a restrictive diet or using food as a reward or punishment. Parents are advised to consult a health professional to determine whether the child's weight is within a healthy range or whether the child will "grow into" a healthy weight. Basic nutrition information and tips for changing attitudes about food are provided. Additional reading and resources are suggested. The publication was field tested for appropriate reading level and design.

Contact: Weight-Control Information Network, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, One Win Way, Bethesda, MD 20892-3665, Telephone: (877) 946-4627 Fax: (202) 828-1028 E-mail: WIN@info.niddk.nih.gov Web Site: http://win.niddk.nih.gov/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH 04-4096.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Diet, Exercise, Obesity, Weight loss

Cawley J, Markowitz S, Tauras, J. 2003. Lighting up and slimming down: The effects of body weight and cigarette prices on adolescent smoking initiation. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 29 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 9561)

Annotation: This paper examines the influence of body weight, body image, and cigarette prices in determining adolescent smoking initiation. The paper includes an introduction, a section discussing relevant literature, a methods section, a data section, an estimation and results section, an endogeneity section, and a summary. Statistical information is presented in tables grouped together at the end of the paper. The paper also includes a references list.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Body image, Body weight, Smoking, Weight loss

1983. Dangerous dieting: The wrong way to lose weight. Pleasantville, NY: Human Relations Media, 1 videotape (45 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape examines many of the fraudulent and often dangerous weight loss schemes on the market today. It discusses many of the popular fad diets and diet aids and provides some easy to follow guidelines to help evaluate present and future diets and diet programs.

Contact: Human Relations Media, 41 Kensico Drive, Mount Kisco, NY 10549, Telephone: (914) 666-9151 Fax: (914) 666-9506 E-mail: Letters@hrmvideo.com Web Site: http://www.hrmvideo.com/home.cfm $175.00.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Fraud, Nutrition, Videotapes, Weight loss, Weight management

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.