Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure provides simple steps that families can take to make their environment healthier. Topics include label reading, noise, carbon monoxide alarms, child safety, job hazards, allergies, water pollution, lead, radon, overheating, ozone, handwashing, healthy eating, tobacco products, and sun exposure.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2233, Telephone: (919) 541-3345 Fax: (919) 541-4395 E-mail: webcenter@niehs Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Families, Lead poisoning, Radon, Safety, Sun exposure, Water pollution

Annotation: This policy statement presents recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics for the inspection, testing, and remediation of private wells to provide safe drinking water for children.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• Parent Resource

Keywords: Child health, Prevention, Safety, Water pollution, Water quality

Annotation: This paper summarizes epidemiology reports and other evidence of drinking fountain-related health issues to reveal the extent of the problem and explores changes needed to improve the quality and use of this hydration option. Topics include a brief history of water fountains, evidence of contamination at water fountains such as microbial and heavy metal contamination, the Safe Drinking Water Act and national drinking water standards, and guidelines for cleaning and maintaining drinking water fountains. The paper concludes with a discussion of efforts needed to expand the science and practice of ensuring that drinking fountains remain clean, safe, and accessible.

Contact: Pacific Institute, 654 13th Street, Preservation Park, Oakland, CA Telephone: (510) 251-1600 Fax: (510) 251-2203 Web Site: http://www.pacinst.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-893790-77-3.

• Link

Keywords: Community base services, Environmental exposure, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Safety, Standards, Water, Water pollution

Annotation: This paper discusses the importance of children drinking water. Topics include information about the importance of water consumption in preventing chronic disease; obstacles to ensuring that students have access to clean, safe drinking water in schools; drinking water challenges in communities; and opportunities for funders to increase children’s access to and consumption of free, safe drinking water. Improving access, prioritizing education, funding data collection and research, promoting multisectoral partnerships, and advocating for supportive policies are also discussed. In addition, the paper presents a policy framework to support healthy development in children by investing in accessible, safe drinking water.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Child safety, Community role, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Financing, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Low income groups, Minority groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public private partnerships, School role, Water

Annotation: This paper provides estimates of the effects of in utero exposure to contaminated drinking water on fetal health. The study examined birth records and drinking water testing results for the state of New Jersey from 1997 to 2007 to compare outcomes across siblings who were potentially exposed to differing levels of harmful contaminants from drinking water while in utero. Topics include an overview of research on air and water pollution on fetal development; study methodology and its difficulties; a discussion of maternal characteristics of mobility and education during the study; exposure to water contamination and its effects on low birth weight, prematurity, and other birth outcomes; and conclusions on further research.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Fetal development, Infant health, New Jersey, State surveys, Water pollution

Annotation: This paper reviews the economic research that brings together literatures on the effects of pollution exposure early in life on near-term health and on the influence of early childhood health on health and human capital later in life. The paper begins with a conceptual model that highlights the core relationships across the life cycle and then reviews the literature concerned with such estimates, focusing in particular on identifying strategies to mitigate concerns about endogenous exposure. Also discussed are potential policy implications and promising avenues for future research.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Air pollution, Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental pollution, Infant health, Infants, Public policy, Research, Water pollution, Young children

Annotation: This report presents data on children's environmental health. Topics include (1) environments and contaminants such as air, indoor, drinking water, chemicals in food, contaminated lands, and climate change; (2) biomonitoring, such as lead, mercury, pcbs, and others; and (3) health concerns such as respiratory diseases, childhood cancer, neurodevelopomental disorders, obesity, and adverse birth outcomes. The report also covers birth defects and contaminants in schools and child care facilities. An appendix also describes the alignment of these indicators with Healthy People 2020 objectives.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website.

• Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Air pollution, Chemicals, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Disease, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Lead, Pesticides, Water pollution, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes a study to address the question of whether exposure to elevated levels of drinking water disinfection by-products is associated with adverse pregnancy outcome such as pregnancy loss, preterm birth, and reduced fetal growth. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following chapters: (1) background to study, (2) study methodology, (3) methods for assignment of exposure, (4) pregnancy and pregnancy outcomes assessment, (5) statistical methods, (6) results, (7) interpretation, (8) analyses of live birth outcomes, and (9) blood biomarker study. An appendix, references, and a list of abbreviations are included.

Contact: Awwa Research Foundation, 6666 West Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 80235-3098, Telephone: (303) 347-6100 Fax: (303) 730-0851 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.awwarf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disinfection, Environmental influences, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy loss, Pregnancy outcome, Teratology, Water pollution

Annotation: This report brings together quantitative information on trends in levels of environmental contaminants; concentrations of contaminants measured in the bodies of children and women; and childhood illnesses that may be influenced by exposure to environmental contaminants. Report sections discuss environmental contaminants of outdoor and indoor air, drinking water, pesticides, and land contaminants; body burdens of concentrations of lead, mercury, and cotinine; and childhood illnesses such as respiratory diseases, childhood cancer, and neurodevelopmental disorders. Section four of the report discusses emerging issues such as mercury in fish and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Special features, part five of the report, focuses on lead in California schools, pesticides in Minnesota schools, and birth defects in California. Each section contains references. Also included is a section on future directions of measurements used in this report as well as a glossary of terms. The appendices include data tables, data and methods used, and environmental health objectives in Healthy People 2010 and in the Environmental Protection Agency's strategic plan.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, Room 2512 Ariel Rios North, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Mail Code 1107-T, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 564-2188 Fax: (202) 564-2733 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website. Document Number: EPA 240-R-03-001.

• PDF

Keywords: Air pollution, Chemicals, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Disease, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Lead, Pesticides, Water pollution, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about lead and drinking water. It answers the following questions: (1) What is lead and why is there concern about its presence in drinking water? (2) What are the health effects of lead in drinking water? (3) Which populations are most succeptible to the health effects of lead? (4) How is lead regulated in drinking water? (5) What can health professionals do to reduce the public health threat from lead in drinking water? The fact sheet also provides a list of sources for additional information and guidance, as well as a reference list.

Contact: Physicians for Social Responsibility, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1012, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 667-4260 Fax: (202) 667-4201 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.psr.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Environmental health, Infant health, Lead poisoning, Public health, Water pollution

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about maternal and child health (MCH) and drinking water. It answers the following questions: (1) Why are pregnant women and children more susceptible to contaminants in drinking water? (2) Which drinking water contaminants are of most concern for MCH? (3) What can health care providers do to reduce the threat of waterborne contaminants to their susceptible patients? The fact sheet also provides a list of sources for additional information and guidance, as well as a reference list.

Contact: Physicians for Social Responsibility, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1012, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 667-4260 Fax: (202) 667-4201 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.psr.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Environmental health, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Water pollution

Annotation: This resource guide was developed as part of the Child Health Champion Campaign (CHCPP), a program sponsored by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to empower local citizens and communities to take steps toward protecting their children from environmental health threats. The guide includes 241 resources that may be of interest to communities participating in the campaign. Resources are organized according to the following categories: air, contaminants, environmental education and community organization, food, health end points, indoor environment, water, and other resources. For each resource, contact information, a brief abstract, and additional information are provided. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Document Number: EPA 100-B-98-004.

Keywords: Air pollution, Child health, Communities, Education, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Food, Resource materials, Water pollution

Annotation: This book presents standards which are the framework for incremental improvement in community health status in the United States through preventive health service programming. The intended hallmark of these model standards is flexibility. The preamble spells out in detail the background, concepts, scope, definitions, and uses of the standards. The standards cover air quality, chronic disease control, communicable disease control, dental health, emergency medical services, family planning, food protection, genetic disease control, health education, home health services, housing services, injury control, institutional services, maternal and child health, noise control, nutritional services, occupational health, primary care, public health laboratory, radiological health, safe drinking water, sanitation, school health, solid waste management, surveillance and epidemiology, vector and animal control, and waste water management.

Keywords: Air pollution, Animals, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communicable diseases, Emergency medical services, Epidemiology, Family planning, Federal government, Food safety, Genetic disorders, Health education, Home care services, Housing, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition services, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public health, Public health services, Radiation, Sanitation, School health, Standards, Water pollution