Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report documents the need for dual-generation strategies for families with low income and education levels to assure strong educational outcomes and upward economic mobility. The report describes the following three components of a comprehensive dual-generation strategy: high-quality early childhood education (pre-kindergarten through third grade); sectoral job training leading to a certificate, credential, or degree for high-wage/high-demand jobs; and wrap-around family and peer support services. Additional topics include results of an analysis of 13 economic, education, and health indicators, which highlight disparities in the well-being experienced by children with four different levels of mother's education. Opportunities for federal, state, and local governments are included.

Contact: Foundation for Child Development, 295 Madison Avenue, 40th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 867-5777 Fax: (212) 867-5844 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fcd-us.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Early childhood education, Educational attainment, Family support services, Government role, Intergenerational programs, Low income groups, Mothers, Statistical data, Vocational education, Work force

Annotation: This book is geared toward helping students, instructors, and professionals in rehabilitation programs define, plan, facilitate, and support transition for young people with disabilities into adulthood and independent living. The book is divided into three major sections: (1) defining and planning transition, (2) facilitating and supporting transition, and (3) designing and implementing individualized transition plans. Topics also include secondary school restructuring, college and other postsecondary alternatives, assistive technology to enhance transition and work, and recent legislative acts in the field. Each chapter contains a list of learning objectives, a conclusion, and study questions. Figures and tables throughout the book provide statistical data, sample forms and checklists, and additional information to illustrate needs and capabilities. Appendices are provided with selected chapters. References and an index conclude the book

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-476-5.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Assessment, Assistive devices, Brain injuries, Careers, Children with special health care needs, Cognition disorders, College bound students, College students, Emotional instability, Families, High school students, Parent participation, Postsecondary education, School to work transitions, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Vocational education

Annotation: This notebook is a resource on transition from adolescence to young adulthood for young adults with special health care needs and disabilities.The notebook is geared toward families, students, school personnel, community agency workers, health professionals, and other groups working with adolescents and young adults in Washington State. The notebook is organized into the following sections: (1) transition overview, (2) the student, (3) school, (4) post-secondary education, (5) work, volunteering, community participation, (6) division of vocational rehabilitation, (7) community resources, (8) recreation, (9) legal matters, (10) Division of Developmental Disabilities, (11) Supplemental Security Income, (12) health, and (13) transition stories. The notebook contains one appendix that includes information on multicultural and translated resources, acronyms and definition, health insurance terms and definitions, sample forms, information on educational resources, and a transition guide for Washington State.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, Children with Special Health Care Needs Program, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3571 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• PDF Format
• Overview

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Community participation, Developmental disabilities, Education, Health, Legislation, Recreation, School to work transition, Schools, Students, Supplemental security income, Transition to independent living, Vocational rehabilitation, Volunteers, Washington, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This report presents the 1997 Congressional testimony of the Associate Director for Education and Employment Issues for the U.S. Government Accounting Office on the effectiveness of Federal programs for at-risk and delinquent youth. Issues addressed include: 1) who administers federal programs serving at-risk and delinquent youth; 2) how much money is spent on these programs; and 3) what is known about their effectiveness. The appendices detail spending amounts and specific services provided by federal agencies and their programs for fiscal year 1996. The report includes references.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/T-HEHS-98-38.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Assessment, Federal assistance, Federal legislation, Health care financing, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Juvenile delinquency, Juvenile delinquents, Outcome evaluation, Policy analysis, Program coordination, Program evaluation, Service coordination, Substance abuse prevention, Violence prevention, Vocational education

Annotation: This report assesses the progress the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program has made in 1) serving an increasingly larger portion of the Aid to Families with Dependent Children caseload, especially those who are at risk of long welfare stays, and 2) ensuring that program participants get work and leave Aid to Families with Dependent Children. It combines the preliminary results from several studies currently being conducted with findings from previously published GAO reports and other current research.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-28.

• PDF

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Vocational education, Welfare reform

Annotation: This report focuses on the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program, which was created in 1988 to strengthen work requirements in the Aid to Families with Dependent Children program. The report provides an overview to the JOBS program, considers examples of employment-focused programs, notes that most programs do not focus strongly on employment, and cites factors that prevent program administrators from placing participants in positions. Appendices include federal rules governing work activities for recipients, a sample of questionnaire, a description of the methodology used to gather information, and comments from the Administration for Children and Families.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-113.

• PDF

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment programs, Federal programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Program evaluation, Vocational education

Annotation: This report presents the findings from an survey of 39 states about the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. Specifically, the survey attempted to determine what statistics were being kept on the adolescent parent participants, and the effects of the program. The appendices include a copy of the survey instrument, and more detailed reports from three states, Tennessee, Massachusetts, and Florida.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org $5.00 plus $3.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Demographics, Employment programs, Family Support Act, Federal legislation, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), State programs, Statistics, Surveys, Vocational education

Annotation: This handbook provides adolescents and young adults who have chronic conditions or disabilities information on how they can make the transition to independent living; it shares the personal narratives of those who have special health needs. Topics covered include learning self assurance, dealing with feelings about health and medicine, making plans based upon an honest assessment of the special health condition, using communication skills, advocating for civil rights, responding to the need for love and affection, and pursuing opportunities in education and employment. Appendices list federal, state, and local resources that can provide assistance to adolescents, young adults, and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Civil rights, Education, Emotional development, Employment, Federal programs, Life skills, Local programs, Personal narratives, Psychosexual development, Resource materials, Self esteem, Special health care needs, State programs, Transition to independent living, Vocational rehabilitation, Young adults

Annotation: This report synthesizes the results of the first phase of a major, multipart evaluation of the Teenage Parent Demonstration initiative, giving details of the characteristics of the clients and the requirements of the program. Case managers helped the adolescents with problems, such as transportation and child care, while they continued their education or found work. Statistics are given on the participants' demography and on the program's costs and results at 30 months.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com $8.00 plus $2.50 shipping and handling. Also available from ERIC. Document Number: PR 93-28.

• Link

Keywords: Demonstration programs, Adolescent employment, Adolescent parents, Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Demography, Program evaluation, Statistics, Vocational education

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a random sampling of adolescent parents in 16 states who were receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children and were also participating in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. It includes information on the states' efforts to enroll adolescent mothers in the JOBS program and to help them complete their secondary education so they can obtain employment, the approaches the states have used to serve adolescent parents in the JOBS program, and barriers that have kept the adolescent parents from completing their education. The report describes the scope and methodology, provides selected characteristics of the study group and the JOBS services reviewed, and includes a sample of the questionnaire. The results are given in brief, and in detail; and policy recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-93-74.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Education, Federal programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Program evaluation, State programs, Statistics, Surveys, Vocational education, Welfare programs, Welfare services

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help parents of children with special health needs deal with their children's experiences in the hospital, at home, and at school. It was developed by a group of parents and staff of Project School Care, a program at Children's Hospital, Boston. Project School Care was established to foster educational opportunities for children with special health needs, particularly those assisted by medical technology. The booklet discusses the hospital experience, common questions after hospitalization, home care, home nursing, respite care, financing health care, equipment, education, vocational training and planning for adulthood, recreation and travel, and record keeping. Appendices include a list of resource organizations, suggested readings, and a glossary. The booklet was supported by grants from the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Charles A. Lindbergh Fund. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Education, Home care, Nursing, Parenting, Respite care, School health services, Vocational rehabilitation

Annotation: This report is part of a series of monthly seminars entitled Family-Centered Social Policy: The Emerging Agenda, conducted by the Family Impact Seminar. The publication provides meeting highlights and a background briefing report. This seminar discussed the profile of Latino families, Latino child and family poverty, Latino subgroup differences, and their participation in the Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA), the Massachusetts Employment and Training Opportunities Program, welfare, and the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) programs. A list of organizational resources is included.

• PDF

Keywords: Employment programs, Federal programs, Hispanic Americans, Poverty, State programs, Vocational education, Welfare reform

Annotation: This report examines the failure of a large majority of absent fathers to pay child support. It identifies six possible points of intervention to encourage unwed fathers to be responsible including: preparation for fatherhood, prenatal care, birth registration, paternity adjudication process, child support awards and collection, and enhancing income through Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) type programs. Interventions that encourage responsibility for fatherhood are examined. An extensive bibliography on the subject is included.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Child support, Employment programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Parenting, Paternity testing, Paternity testing, Policy analysis, Single fathers, Single parents, Vocational education

Annotation: This report is aimed at policy makers and focuses on the problem of unwed fathers' lack of responsibility towards their children. The first part of the report presents the highlights of the seminar co-sponsored by the Consortium of Family Organizations on November 16, 1990. The remaining sections of the report describe the problem of unwed fathers, establishing paternity, child support, and employment opportunities available through programs such as Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS).

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent parents, Child support, Fathers, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Paternity testing, Policy analysis, Single parents, Vocational education

Annotation: This report examines the implications of the Family Support Act of 1988 for young unwed fathers. Key features of the law which would have a significant impact on the problem of welfare dependency are summarized including strengthening child support enforcement through automatic wage-withholding from the absent parent, requiring states to use uniform guidelines for setting child support awards, and establishing the new Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. The report also describes a demonstration program aimed at increasing the capacity of unemployed or underemployed absent parents so that they can meet their court-ordered child support payments.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Employment programs, Family Support Act, Federal legislation, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Single fathers, Vocational education

Annotation: This document describes the proceedings from two conferences sponsored by a federally funded project, the National Network for Professional Development in Vocational Special Education. The major objectives of the National Network Project are: 1) to train and update teacher educators and state education agency personnel regarding current and emerging trends in vocational special education, particularly as it relates to improving the transition from school to the workplace for handicapped youth; 2) to develop and disseminate innovative personnel development models and resource materials in vocational special education; and 3) to facilitate collaboration among teacher educators, and state and local education personnel in the planning and delivery of personnel development programs.

Contact: University of Illinois at Urbana at Champaign, College of Education, 1310 South Sixth Street, Champaign, IL 61820, Telephone: 217-333-0960 Fax: 217-333-5487 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ed.uiuc.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Employment, Special education, Special health care needs, Transitions, Vocational education, Young adults

Annotation: This document describes the proceedings from two conferences sponsored by a federally funded project, the National Network for Professional Development in Vocational Special Education. The major objectives of the National Network Project are: 1) to train and update teacher educators and state education agency personnel regarding current and emerging trends in vocational special education, particularly as it relates to improving the transition from school to the workplace for handicapped youth; 2) to develop and disseminate innovative personnel development models and resource materials in vocational special education; and 3) to facilitate collaboration among teacher educators, and state and local education personnel in the planning and delivery of personnel development programs.

Contact: University of Illinois at Urbana at Champaign, College of Education, 1310 South Sixth Street, Champaign, IL 61820, Telephone: 217-333-0960 Fax: 217-333-5487 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ed.uiuc.edu/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Employment, Special education, Special health care needs, Transitions, Vocational education, Young adults

Annotation: This study consists of seven sections. These sections address development of delivery systems for parenting skills or the evaluation of these systems, development of parenting skills curricula, parenting skills in vocational training, parenting skills in support of ongoing programs for children, improvements of parenting skills for parents, parenting training for parents of high risk children, and studies of parent and child relationships.

• Link

Keywords: Child rearing, Children, Curriculum development, High risk children, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Vocational education

Annotation: The report of the President's Panel on Mental Retardation was presented to President Kennedy in October, 1962. The report contains recommended action to combat mental retardation in the fields of research, prevention, services, education, vocational rehabilitation, training, residential care, the law, and public awareness. The Department of Health, Education, and Welfare is responsible for the implementation of almost all of these recommendations. This report lists the Department's response made from November 1962 to November 1962 to the recommendations of the panel. The Department's response falls into three main categories: The special message of President Kennedy to Congress, legislation enacted in response to the Panel's recommendations, and other responses. These categories are used as the format for listing the Department's responses in this report.

Keywords: Education, Federal legislation, Mental health services, Mental retardation, Prevention, Reports, Research, Residential care, Training, US Department of Health Education and Welfare, Vocational rehabilitation

Annotation: This report focuses on international hunger and social policy. The following topics are addressed: (1) the nature and scope of the problem of hunger, (2) ways and means, (3) economic development and social change, (4) social progress, (5) problems of rural areas, (6) levels of income and nutrition, (7) agrarian reform, (8) International Labour Organisation's rural development program, (10) employment problems, (11) international action on the employment front, (12) the importance of manpower assessment, (13) wages, (14) vocational training and productivity, (15) International Institute for Labour Studies, (16) international action on the training front, (17) housing, (18) small industries and cooperation, (19) living and working conditions, and (20) the Andean Indian Programme. A conclusion is also included.

Keywords: Employment, Hunger, International health, Nutrition, Poverty, Productivity, Programs, Rural population, Social policy, Training, Vocational education