Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Welfare to work: Current AFDC program not sufficiently focused on employment. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report assesses the progress the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program has made in 1) serving an increasingly larger portion of the Aid to Families with Dependent Children caseload, especially those who are at risk of long welfare stays, and 2) ensuring that program participants get work and leave Aid to Families with Dependent Children. It combines the preliminary results from several studies currently being conducted with findings from previously published GAO reports and other current research.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-28.

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Vocational education, Welfare reform

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Welfare to work: Most AFDC training programs not emphasizing job placement. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 96 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program, which was created in 1988 to strengthen work requirements in the Aid to Families with Dependent Children program. The report provides an overview to the JOBS program, considers examples of employment-focused programs, notes that most programs do not focus strongly on employment, and cites factors that prevent program administrators from placing participants in positions. Appendices include federal rules governing work activities for recipients, a sample of questionnaire, a description of the methodology used to gather information, and comments from the Administration for Children and Families.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-113.

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment programs, Federal programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Program evaluation, Vocational education

Ireys H. 1994. Young adult users of services for children with special health care needs:Service utilization, psychological status, and developmental tasks [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University, 49 pp.

Annotation: State Programs for Children with Special Health Care Needs have begun to recognize and address the pervasive difficulties that face chronically ill and handicapped older adolescents and young adults as they are discharged from these programs. Difficulties include problems in finding medical and related services responsive to their needs, inadequate financial coverage of needed services, psychological distress, and disincentives for vocational training or employment. At the present time, State programs lack the information needed for planning or developing services that would assist this population in their transition to adulthood. The general goal of this study was to help repair this deficit of knowledge through a survey of 1, 000 adolescents and young adults who use these programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB95-208625.

Keywords: Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Adolescents, Adolescents with Special Health care Needs, Children with Special Health care Needs, Data Collection, Health Care Financing, MCH Research, Research, Vocational Training, Youth in Transition

Levin-Epstein J. 1993. Teen parents and JOBS: 1992 statistical snapshot. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the findings from an survey of 39 states about the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. Specifically, the survey attempted to determine what statistics were being kept on the adolescent parent participants, and the effects of the program. The appendices include a copy of the survey instrument, and more detailed reports from three states, Tennessee, Massachusetts, and Florida.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org $5.00 plus $3.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Demographics, Employment programs, Family Support Act, Federal legislation, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), State programs, Statistics, Surveys, Vocational education

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1993. Welfare to work: States move unevenly to serve teen parents in JOBS. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 60 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a random sampling of adolescent parents in 16 states who were receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children and were also participating in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. It includes information on the states' efforts to enroll adolescent mothers in the JOBS program and to help them complete their secondary education so they can obtain employment, the approaches the states have used to serve adolescent parents in the JOBS program, and barriers that have kept the adolescent parents from completing their education. The report describes the scope and methodology, provides selected characteristics of the study group and the JOBS services reviewed, and includes a sample of the questionnaire. The results are given in brief, and in detail; and policy recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-93-74.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Education, Federal programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Program evaluation, State programs, Statistics, Surveys, Vocational education, Welfare programs, Welfare services

Ooms T. 1990. Encouraging fathers to be responsible: Paternity establishment, child support and JOBS strategies. Washington, DC: American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, Research and Education Foundation, Family Impact Seminar, 27 pp. (Family impact seminars)

Annotation: This report examines the failure of a large majority of absent fathers to pay child support. It identifies six possible points of intervention to encourage unwed fathers to be responsible including: preparation for fatherhood, prenatal care, birth registration, paternity adjudication process, child support awards and collection, and enhancing income through Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) type programs. Interventions that encourage responsibility for fatherhood are examined. An extensive bibliography on the subject is included.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Child support, Employment programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Parenting, Paternity testing, Paternity testing, Policy analysis, Single fathers, Single parents, Vocational education

Ooms T, Owen T. 1990. Encouraging unwed fathers to be responsible: Paternity establishment, child support and JOBS strategies—Background briefing report and meeting highlights. Washington, DC: American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Research and Education Foundation, Family Impact Seminar, 27 pp. (Family impact seminars)

Annotation: This report is aimed at policy makers and focuses on the problem of unwed fathers' lack of responsibility towards their children. The first part of the report presents the highlights of the seminar co-sponsored by the Consortium of Family Organizations on November 16, 1990. The remaining sections of the report describe the problem of unwed fathers, establishing paternity, child support, and employment opportunities available through programs such as Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS).

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent parents, Child support, Fathers, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Paternity testing, Policy analysis, Single parents, Vocational education

Ooms T, Herendeen L. 1988. Young unwed fathers and welfare reform. Washington, DC: American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, Research and Education Foundation, Family Impact Seminar, 12 pp. (Family impact seminars)

Annotation: This report examines the implications of the Family Support Act of 1988 for young unwed fathers. Key features of the law which would have a significant impact on the problem of welfare dependency are summarized including strengthening child support enforcement through automatic wage-withholding from the absent parent, requiring states to use uniform guidelines for setting child support awards, and establishing the new Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. The report also describes a demonstration program aimed at increasing the capacity of unemployed or underemployed absent parents so that they can meet their court-ordered child support payments.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Employment programs, Family Support Act, Federal legislation, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Single fathers, Vocational education

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Secretary's Committee on Mental Retardation . 1964. Response to the recommendations of the President's Panel on Mental Retardation, November 1962 - November, 1963.. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Secretary's Committee on Mental Retardation, 69 pp.

Annotation: The report of the President's Panel on Mental Retardation was presented to President Kennedy in October, 1962. The report contains recommended action to combat mental retardation in the fields of research, prevention, services, education, vocational rehabilitation, training, residential care, the law, and public awareness. The Department of Health, Education, and Welfare is responsible for the implementation of almost all of these recommendations. This report lists the Department's response made from November 1962 to November 1962 to the recommendations of the panel. The Department's response falls into three main categories: The special message of President Kennedy to Congress, legislation enacted in response to the Panel's recommendations, and other responses. These categories are used as the format for listing the Department's responses in this report.

Keywords: Education, Federal legislation, Mental health services, Mental retardation, Prevention, Reports, Research, Residential care, Training, US Department of Health Education and Welfare, Vocational rehabilitation

International Labour Organisation. 1963. Hunger and social policy. Geneva, Switzerland: International Labour Organisation, 66 pp. (Freedom From Hunger Campaign; basic study no. 14)

Annotation: This report focuses on international hunger and social policy. The following topics are addressed: (1) the nature and scope of the problem of hunger, (2) ways and means, (3) economic development and social change, (4) social progress, (5) problems of rural areas, (6) levels of income and nutrition, (7) agrarian reform, (8) International Labour Organisation's rural development program, (10) employment problems, (11) international action on the employment front, (12) the importance of manpower assessment, (13) wages, (14) vocational training and productivity, (15) International Institute for Labour Studies, (16) international action on the training front, (17) housing, (18) small industries and cooperation, (19) living and working conditions, and (20) the Andean Indian Programme. A conclusion is also included.

Keywords: Employment, Hunger, International health, Nutrition, Poverty, Productivity, Programs, Rural population, Social policy, Training, Vocational education