Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure for consumers focuses on nutrition and oral health. Topics include healthy foods, foods and drinks to avoid, juice recommendations, xylitol, and prevention of tooth decay. The brochure is available in Amharic, Arabic, Burmese, Dari (Afghan Persian), English, Haitian Creole, Karen, Kinyarwanda, Levantine (Arabic), Pashto, Spanish, and Sudanese (Arabic).

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Sweetening agents, Vitamins

Annotation: This book presents physical activity guidelines and tools emphasizing health promotion, disease prevention, and early recognition of physical activity issues and concerns of infants, children, and adolescents. The introduction discusses the Surgeon General's report on physical activity and health, and how partnerships between health professionals, families, and communities can promote physical activity. Section two includes how physical activity can be a part of each developmental stage, including infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence. The third section discusses these issues and concerns: asthma; children and adolescents with special health care needs; developmental coordination disorder; diabetes; eating disorders; ergogenic aids; girls and female adolescents in physical activity; heat-related illness; injury; nutrition; and obesity. Section four provides tools for defining physical activity; improving physical activity behaviors; characteristics of excellent programs and coaching; resources; Healthy People 2010 objectives; and growth charts. The guide concludes with indexes for development, tools, and topics. An evaluation form is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website. Document Number: BF0900-004.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Bright Futures, Children with special health care needs, Food supplements, Guidelines, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Physical development, Steroids, Vitamins

Annotation: This book presents information from the Nurses' Health Study on a woman's probability of developing specific diseases and suggests how that probability may change with certain alterations in diet, weight control, physical activity, and other lifestyle changes. Part one discusses the Nurses' Health Study and what observations have been made by researchers and what they mean to the study of women's health issues. Part two provides information and suggestions on lowering the risk of diseases. Topics covered include coronary heart disease, different types of cancers, stroke, diabetes, osteoporosis, asthma, arthritis, age-related eye disease, and Alzheimer's disease. The third part provides information on changing behaviors including physical activity, weight control, smoking, nutrients, foods, alcohol, vitamins and minerals, postmenopausal hormones, birth control, and pain relievers. The appendices give information on types of epidemiological studies; being an informed consumer of health information; and a section on tables on weight and nutrition. The book concludes with a glossary, selected readings, and an index.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-684-85519-4.

Keywords: Alcohols, Alzheimers disease, Analgesic drugs, Antiinflammatory drugs, Arthritis, Asthma, Breast cancer, Cancer, Colon cancer, Coronary care, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Eye diseases, Family planning, Food, Hormone replacement therapy, Life cycle, Lung cancer, Menopause, Minerals, Nutrition, Osteoporosis, Ovarian cancer, Physical activity, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Reproductive health, Research programs, Skin cancers, Smoking, Strokes, Vitamins, Weight management, Women', Women', s health, s health promotion

Annotation: This book presents information on a wide range of alternative or complementary methods for providing health care. It provides an introductory chapter on alternative medicine which covers approaches such as acupuncture and acupressure, biofeedback, homeopathy, massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, and visualization therapy, among others. It includes chapters on the following topics: natural nutrition; vitamins; minerals and trace elements; botanical medicines; coping with stress; stress-related disorders; drug abuse and addiction; mental health disorders; common male and female health problems; pregnancy, childbirth, and infant care; dental care; eye, ear, nose, and throat problems; cancer; heart disorders; and aging. Each chapter presents alternative treatments for specific conditions, includes sidebars which summarize certain strategies, and provides bibliographical references. A glossary, a general bibliography, and an index are included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8303-9.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Childbirth, Dental care, Drug abuse, Encyclopedias, Exercise, Health services, Heart diseases, Holistic health, Infant care, Men, Mental disorders, Minerals, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Stress, Stress management, Vitamins, Women

Annotation: This book discusses nutrition for children in the Pacific Islands. It is written in a clear, easy-to-understand manner and contains black and white photographs and illustrations. It covers topics such as food and the body; protein for bodybuilding and repair; carbohydrates, fats, and oils for energy and warmth; vitamins and minerals for protection from disease; breastfeeding and bottle feeding; and much more. The book includes four appendices that include the meanings of some of the words used in the book, nutritive values of some Pacific Island foods, recommended dietary allowances, and photo food charts labeled with the words for the items pictured in several local languages. Languages of the charts include English, Ponapean, Kosraean, Trukese, Marshallese, Yapese-Ulithian, and Palauan. The book concludes with an index.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Carbohydrates, Child health, Child nutrition, Fats, Food, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Minerals, Nutrition, Pacific Islands, Protein, Vitamins

Annotation: This volume is a compilation of reprinted articles from 1963-1967 as selected by the Committee on Nutrition. Article topics include: food safety; supplemental vitamins; references for professionals and parents; infant feeding; newborn screening; and infant formula.

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Nutrition, Parent education, Research reviews, Resources for professionals, Vitamins

Annotation: This volume is a compilation of reprinted articles from 1956-1962 as selected by the Committee on Nutrition. Article topics include: ethics in advertising; infant feeding and nutrition; vitamin supplements and growth and appetite in children; residues and additives in food; and a section on human body composition.

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Nutrition, Research reviews, Resources for professionals, Vitamins

Annotation: This report focuses on maternal nutrition and child health. Topics covered include maternal and infant mortality, specific nutritional factors in maternal and infant health (energy value and proximate composition, composition of milk, calcifying processes, vitamin D, vitamin A, vitamin C, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid, iron, vitamin K, vitamin E, iodine), and prematernal, prenatal, and postnatal care. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report concludes with a bibliography.

Keywords: Child health, Folic acid, Food composition, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Maternal nutrition, Minerals, Nutritional requirements, Postnatal care, Prenatal care, Vitamins

Annotation: In this report, the Joint Committee on Child Nutrition, created by the International Children' Emergency Fund of the United Nations, deals with the following issues: (1) the basic principles of nutrition in planning the purchase and distribution of foodstuffs in the development of feeding programs for pregnant women and nursing mothers, infants, preschool- and school-age children, and adolescents; (2) the use of dried whole milk, dried skim milk, and cheese in the fund's operations, and the relative cost of equivalent nutrients in those various forms of milk and milk products, (3) the value, in the fund's operations, of the provision of vitamin-containing foods compared with that of multi-vitamin and mineral preparations alone, (4) recommendations about meals for preschool- and school-age children, and (5) the relative value of a hot cooked meal vs. a cold meal. Th report includes the following main sections: (1) the general condition of children in war-stricken countries of Europe and China, (2) principles of child nutrition, (3) recommendations, and (4) concluding statement. One appendix contains recommendations on calories and specific nutrients. The report concludes with a list of committee members.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Breastfeeding, Calories, Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Costs, Infant nutrition, Infant nutrition programs, International health, Maternal nutrition, Menu planning, Nutrients, Nutrition, Nutritional requirements, Pregnancy, Vitamin deficiencies, Vitamin supplements, Vitamins, War