Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

American Optometric Association. n.d.. Ready for school: Understanding the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations and explains why it is important for young children to receive comprehensive vision and eye examinations conducted by a doctor before they start school. The fact sheet explains the essential elements of a comprehensive eye examination used to ensure that learning is maximized through good vision.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Eye diseases, Screening, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

National Center for Medical Home Implementation, National Center for Children's Vision and Eye Health. [2013]. The role of the medical home in vision and eye health: A fact sheet for medical professionals. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: National Center for Medical Home Implementation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professional provides information about the role the medical home plays in ensuring that children receive timely eye examinations; vision screenings; and, when necessary, eye examinations and treatment for vision conditions. The fact sheet discusses common eye problems in preschool-age children, the importance of educating families about vision milestones, guidelines for vision screening, and benefits of early vision screening and eye examinations in the medical home. Links to resources for more information are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Eye diseases, Families, Medical home, Resource materials, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2011-. Visual impairment in children ages 1 to 5 years: Screening. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Prevent Blindness America. 2010. Our vision for children's vision: A national call to action for the advancement of children's vision and eye health. [Chicago, IL]: Prevent Blindness America, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a platform for children's vision and eye health. The report discusses the importance of professional eye health care and emphasizes the role of vision screening in eye care. Also addressed are the importance of ensuring that children are prepared to enter school unhampered by undetected vision problems; eye safety at home, at school, and at play; and advances in pediatric vision research. The report also acknowledges the importance of public awareness and understanding of children's vision and eye health.

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Eye care, Eye diseases, Eye injuries, Prevention, Research, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests

American Optometric Association. [2009]. Infant vision: Birth to 24 months of age. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about vision in infants and young children (birth to age 24 months). The brochure offers information on why good vision is important during this period and discusses steps in infant and young child vision development, signs of eye and vision problems, what parents can do to help with vision development, and the first eye examination.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision tests, Young children

American Optometric Association. [2009]. Preschool vision: 2 to 5 years of age. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about vision in preschool-age children (ages 2-5). The brochure offers information on why good vision is important during this period and discusses signs of eye and vision problems, understanding the difference between a vision screening and a vision exam, and what parents can do to help with preschool vision development.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early childhood development, Preschool children, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

American Optometric Association. [2009]. School-aged vision: 6 to 18 years of age. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about vision needs for school-age children and adolescents (ages 6-18). The brochure offers information on why good vision is important during this period and discusses vision skills needed for school success, signs of eye and vision problems, when a vision exam is needed, and sports vision and eye protection.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Safety, School age children, Sports injuries, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision tests

American Optometric Association. 2009. Ready for school: Could your child have a vision problem?. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents of young children or school-age children provides guidance for how to determine whether a child may have a vision problem. The fact sheet offers a list of questions referring to young children and a list referring to school-age children that can help parents identify vision problems. The fact sheet also emphasizes the importance of regular eye examinations for children.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, School age children, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau for Children, Youth, and Families. 2004. Vision screening guidelines: For infants, toddlers, children, and youth (35th ed.). Topeka, KS: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau for Children, Youth, and Families, 48 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines illustrates Kansas' vision screening program that can be used for all age children and youth in child health programs including EPSDT screening, well child screening, Part H early intervention screening, and school screening.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau for Children, Youth, and Families, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 220, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 291-3368 Secondary Telephone: (800) 332-6262 Web Site: http://www.kdheks.gov/bfh/index.html

Keywords: Guidelines, Kansas, State initiatives, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests

Ferebee A. 2004. Childhood vision: Public challenges and opportunities. Washington, DC: The Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, 20 pp. (A policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief provides a framework for policymakers, educators, and parents to assess the adequacy of current strategies to identify children with vision problems. The brief outlines issues in vision testing for children, describes programs and policies currently in place, summarizes select state and federal initiatives, and discusses policy options for ensuring that children's vision problems are identified and treated in a timely manner. Some information is presented in figures and tables throughout the brief. Endnotes are included. Two appendices contain a glossary and a summary of initiatives.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Children, Initiatives, Programs, Public policy, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests

American Optometric Association. 2002. Pediatric eye and vision examination. [2nd ed.]. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 60 pp. (Optometric clinical practice guideline)

Annotation: This guideline describes appropriate examination procedures for evaluation of the eye health and vision status of infants and children to reduce the risk of vision loss and facilitate normal visual development. The guideline contains recommendations for timely diagnosis, intervention, and, when necessary, consultation or referral for treatment by another health professional. Topics include the epidemiology of eye and vision disorders in children, the pediatric eye and vision examination, examination of infants and toddlers, examination of preschool children, examination of school-age children, and management of children.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Diagnosis, Eye care, Eye diseases, Infant health, Intervention, Prevention, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Lin-Fu JS. 1971. Vision screening of children. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Maternal and Child Health Service; for sale by the U.S. Government Printing Office, 24 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses the importance of vision screening, prevalence and types of vision problems, basic principles of vision screening programs, tests for school children, screening of children of preschool age, and need for cooperative effort and public education.

Keywords: Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests

Savitz RA, Reed RB, Valadian I. 1964. Vision screening of the preschool child: Report of a study. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Children's Bureau; for sale by U.S. Government Printing Office, 70 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 414)

Annotation: This study discusses what visual screening tests are available for preschool children and how they might be used. The subjects, operating procedures, findings, and follow up of suboptimal findings are discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Preschool children, Vision tests

Crane MM, Foote FM, Scobee RG, Green EL. 1954. Screening school children for visual defects. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 92 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 345)

Annotation: This publication is the report of a study conducted in St. Louis, Missouri, 1948-49. The study was to determine the efficiency of certain procedures commonly used to recommend for use in schools to screen children for visual defects. Six hundred and nine sixth grade students and 606 first grade students in the public schools were the participants of the study. It is a publication of the U.S. Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: School age children, School health services, Screening, Vision disorders, Vision tests
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.