Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (67 total).

Vermont Department of Health. n.d.. Silver diamine fluoride facts. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on silver diamine fluoride (SDF) treatment. Topics include the purpose of SDF, side effects of SDF treatment, who can benefit from SDF treatment, U.S. Food and Drug Administration clearance of SDF treatment, Vermont Medicaid coverage of SDF treatment, and who should not receive SDF treatment. Also included is information on how SDF treatment can prevent children under age 6 in Vermont from requiring tooth decay treatment performed under general anesthesia. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State materials, Vermont

Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2024. Keep smiling Vermont: The oral health of Vermon't children 2022-2023. Burlington, Vt: Vermont Department of Health, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity and Vermont Office of Oral Health. 2024. The use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in pediatric care. [Dartmouth, NH?]:Dartmouth Health Center for Advancing Rural Health Equity, 8 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about the Pediatric Medical Home Pilot Project, the goal of which was to integrate silver diamine fluoride (SDF) application into primary pediatric care as a strategy to reduce the incidence of early childhood caries. The toolkit discusses how to integrate SDF application into pediatric care in Vermont. It presents a case for using SDF to treat early childhood caries, explains what SDF is, and provides guidelines for integrating SDF into practice. Information about the development of the toolkit is included.

Keywords: Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Oral health, Pediatrics, Prevention, Primay care, Silver diamine fluoride, State programs, Treatment, Vermont

Vermont Department of Health. 2022. Vermont oral health plan 2022. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, 38 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this oral health plan is improve the oral health of all Vermonters and, in particular, to move closer to oral health equity in the state. The plan defines health equity, discusses past and ongoing efforts to improve oral health in Vermont, and presents updates from the field. The following plan goals are discussed: increase access to oral health care, expand the dental workforce, expand school-based oral health programs, expand community water fluoridation, enhance oral health surveillance, promote quality-improvement initiatives, and increase the integration of oral health and primary care.

Keywords: Access to health care, Fluoride, Oral health, Oral health equity, Quality assurance, School health, Service integration, State materials, Strategic plans, Surveillance, Vermont

Anckner S, White K, Messersmith J, Campbell B, Houston T, Stredler Brown A, Meibos A, Dawson P, Purdy J. 2022. August 4 Round Table: Taking EHDI Telehealth to the Next Level. [Washington, DC]: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 h 29 m 49 s.

Annotation: This August 4, 2022 recording features a comprehensive panel discussion on telehealth applications within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, showcasing diverse perspectives from across North America. Bill Campbell presents on Remote Infant Auditory Brainstem Response Assessment in Ontario, highlighting improved service access despite technological challenges, while Todd Houston discusses findings from a Journal of EHDI monograph emphasizing telehealth benefits and the need for specialized training. Arlene Stredler Brown shares Colorado research on telehealth equity considerations, revealing provider and family feedback indicating a need for enhanced training in family-centered early intervention approaches. Alex Meibos provides technical insights on audiology telehealth platforms, noting that many hearing aid manufacturers offer online solutions adaptable for early intervention. Pamela Dawson contributes telehealth resource information specific to the Northeast region, and Julie Purdy rounds out the presentation with California survey data on implementing Oticon hearing aid online platforms and affordable home otoscopy options using smartphone applications, collectively demonstrating how telehealth is transforming accessibility and delivery of pediatric audiology services nationwide.

Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Audiology, Deafness, Hearing tests, Hearing screening, Infant health, Children', s health, Program evaluation, Canada, Ohio, Colorado, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, California

2022. State Harm Reduction Strategies: Improving Outcomes for Reproductive-Aged Women Who Use Substances. [Washington, DC]: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; [Washington, DC]: National Association of State and Alcohol Drug Abuse Directors ,

Annotation: This website presents a comprehensive overview of state harm reduction strategies aimed at improving outcomes for reproductive-aged women who use substances, developed as a collaborative project between AMCHP and NASADAD (National Association of State and Alcohol Drug Abuse Directors). The site outlines the critical context of substance use disorders (SUDs) in the United States, noting that women comprise 40% of individuals with SUDs and are most vulnerable during their reproductive years. It explains harm reduction approaches, which include practices like naloxone distribution, SBIRT (Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment), medication-assisted treatment, and syringe services programs. The website addresses COVID-19's impact on harm reduction services and provides an extensive glossary of relevant terms and acronyms. It also includes state-by-state profiles highlighting successful collaborations between state Maternal and Child Health programs and alcohol and drug abuse agencies, with particular attention to evidence-based practices and replicable strategies for future implementation.

Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Mental health, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance abuse prevention programs, Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Nevada, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont

Vermont Department of Health. 2019. Vermont PRAMS: Maternal oral health care, 2012-2015. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data for Vermont on oral health care before and during pregnancy for 2012–2015 and overall estimates for 34 PRAMS sites for 2015, which allow comparisons between Vermont and other PRAMS sites. The report shows that women in Vermont were more likely than women in other PRAMS sites to know it is important to care for their teeth and gums during pregnancy, more likely to talk to a health care worker about care of teeth and gums, and more likely to have insurance for oral health care during pregnancy.

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Dental insurance, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Vermont

Bussanich P. 2019. Integrating Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDs) at the Help Me Grow Forum 2019. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 61 pp.

Annotation: This presentation focuses on integrating Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to improve services for children and youth with special health care needs. It outlines the relationship between Title V MCH (Maternal and Child Health) programs and Help Me Grow initiatives, highlighting their shared focus on developmental screening and early intervention. The presenter, Paige Bussanich from the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP), explains how data integration can enhance cross-system collaboration and improve outcomes for children. The slides cover the structure of Title V programs, performance measurement frameworks, and current state efforts in data integration. The presentation also includes information about AMCHP's Title V Data Integration Toolkit and available technical assistance resources, with examples of successful state collaborations between Title V and Help Me Grow programs in Alabama, Vermont, and Wyoming. The final portion introduces data storytelling as a method to effectively communicate findings from integrated data systems.

Slide Deck Only

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, State CHSCN programs, Developmental screening, Vermont

Vermont Department of Health, Dental Health Services. 2017. Keep Smiling Vermont: The oral health of Vermont's children: 2016-2017. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Dental Health Services, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a summary of key survey findings on the oral health of children in Vermont as well as information on the following topics: (1) the Tooth Tutor School-Linked Dental Seal- ant Program, (2) key strategies to improve oral health, and (3) survey methods. Data tables and figures are included.

Keywords: Dental care, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data, Vermont

National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center. 2017. AYAH CoIIN State Profiles. San Francisco: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center,

Annotation: This resource shows how states that participate in the Adolescent and Young Adult Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (AYA CoIIN) are identifying and implementing evidence-based strategies to improve the quality and increase access to preventive health care visits for adolescents and young adults. Included are illustrated diagrams of strategies used by Iowa, Texas, Vermont, Mississippi, and New Mexico.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, State initiatives, Texas, Vermont, Young adults, prevention

2017. RAYS Youth Council Project summary. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; [San Francisco, CA]: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center [Waterbury, VT]: Vermont Department of Public Health; , 1 pp.

Annotation: This project summary describes Vermont RAYS (Raise Awareness for Youth Services), an initiative of Vermont's Youth Health Improvement Initiative (YHII). It details the project's work in increasing adolescent well-care visits and enhancing the youth-friendliness of medical facilities by addressing barriers to access and enhancing provider training, and its aims of improving youth healthcare services in Vermont by incorporating youth perspectives and feedback into the healthcare system.

Link

Keywords: Vermont, Adolescent health services

2017. RAYS participation agreement. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; [Waterbury, VT]: Vermont Department of Public Health; , 1 pp.

Annotation: This document is a participation agreement for participants of Vermont RAYS (Raise Awareness for Youth Services). It has spaces for the signatures of students and their parents, contains a brief description of Vermont RAYS and lists the responsibilities of joining it, such as attendance at meetings, respectful behavior, being open to the opinions of others, and maintaining confidentality. The form also discusses the possibilties of financial compensation for belonging to RAYS.

Link

Keywords: Vermont, Adolescent health services

2017. Sample clinic assessment summary. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This assessment tool from the Vermont Child Health Improvement Program is used to evaluate health clinics in their efforts to improve youth accessiblility. It is meant to aid members of the VT Youth Advisory Council Visit as they visit health clinics and assess their efforts to meet the needs of adolescents and young adults and make them comfortable and welcome. The summary document presents a comprehensive evaluation of a medical clinic's youth-friendliness, highlighting both positive aspects and areas for potential improvement to better serve adolescent and young adult patients.

Link

Keywords: Vermont, Adolescent health services, Clinics

University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; Vermont Department of Public Health. 2017. Vermont AYAH CoIIN flyer. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; [Waterbury, VT]: Vermont Department of Public Health, 1 pp.

Annotation: This Vermont AYAH CoIIN flyer advertises the purpose of the Adolescent and Young Adult Health Collaborative Improvement & Innovation Network. It explains the importance of annual well visits for adolescents, and the goal of AYAH COIIN to perform quality improvement initiatives with medical practices concerning adolescent well visits. It describes the project's focus on improving both the accessibility and quality of preventive health services for adolescents and young adults, with the long-term goal of increasing well-visit rates. It also discusses Vermont's intention to create a Youth Health Advisory Council to further support these efforts, fostering youth engagement in the process.

Link

Keywords: Vermont, Adolescent health, Preventive health services

Maseroni M. 2017. Vermont RAYS application. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, VT RAYS (Raise Awareness for Youth Services) , 2 pp.

Annotation: Vermont provides this application for youth who would like to become a member of the Vermont RAYS (Raise Awareness for Youth Services), a youth health advisory council. It provides a brief statement concerning the goals of RAYS, a space for the signature of the youth, and for a parent or guardian if the adolescent is under the age of 18, and a link to the Youth Health Improvement Initiative (YHII).

Link

Keywords: Vermont, Adolescent health,

University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; Vermont Department of Public Health. 2017. Youth friendly clinic guide and assessment tool. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; [Waterbury, VT]: Vermont Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document is a tool for those who are conducting assessments on health clinics for their youth friendliness. The answers to some questionscan be easily ascertained by the assessor, while others require an interview with the medical clinic staff. After each question is a space for comments and recommendations, there is also space for the overall assessment and recommendation of the clinic by the assessor.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Quality assurance, Assessment, Clinics, Vermont

University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program. 2017. We are here for you flyer. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, 1 pp.

Annotation: This poster sponsored by the Vermont Child Health Improvement Program highlights types of health care available to adolescents and young adults. The flyer was created by Vermont's CoIIN (Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network) for schools, practices and other community areas to promote the well care visit.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Clinics, Posters, Adolescents, Confidentiality, Vermont

Vermont Department of Health, Division of Maternal & Child Health. 2016. Brief: Oral health. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Division of Maternal & Child Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents information and data on the percentage of children and adolescents (ages 1–17) who had a preventive dental visit in the past year and on the percentage of women who had a preventive dental visit during pregnancy in Vermont. Data on oral health care use among children and adolescents are presented by age and by insurance type. Data on the receipt of oral health care during pregnancy are presented for women who did and did not receive Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) assistance and by health insurance type, age, and educational attainment. Strategies to improve oral health care in Vermont and data limitations and sources are also discussed.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, State MCH programs, State surveys, Vermont

University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; Vermont Department of Public Health; . 2016. Vermont Dept. of Health adolescent and youth friendly resource guide. [Burlington, VT]: University of Vermont, Vermont Child Health Improvement Program; [Waterbury VT]: Vermont Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide from Vermont provides resources and materials to facilitate providing high quality care to adolescents and young adults in clinical practices. It lists recommended characteristics for clinics providing health care for young adults, as well as comments and recommendations to attain those characteristics.

Link

Keywords: Vermont, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Confidentiality, Homosexuality, Pregnancy, Vaccines

Moses K, Klebonis J. 2015. Designing Medicaid health homes for individuals with opioid dependency: Considerations for states. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief highlights key features of approved health home models in Maryland, Rhode Island, and Vermont that are tailored to individuals with opioid dependency. It identifies important considerations in developing opioid dependence-focused health homes, including: (1) leveraging opioid treatment program requirements; (2) promoting collaboration across multiple state agencies; (3) supporting providers in transforming into health homes; and (4) ecnouraging information sharing.

Keywords: Maryland, Medical homes, Rhode Island, State initiatives, Substance abuse treatment services, Vermont