Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This video series highlights motivational interviewing skills and techniques that health professionals can use to encourage patients to take care of their oral health. Videos discuss using open- and close-ended questions and the ask-tell-ask method with patients, engaging patients in agenda and goal setting, using questions and reflections while discussing patient values, and following up with patients.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Followup, Goals, Health literacy, Oral health, Values, Videos

Annotation: This document outlines the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs' (AMCHP's) guiding principles and values for family engagement and partnership, structured in two main sections. The first section describes key principles about family leaders, recognizing them as essential partners who bring unique expertise, visionary perspectives, and the ability to question the status quo while looking beyond their own family's experiences. The second section details AMCHP's responsibilities in fostering authentic partnerships, emphasizing the organization's commitment to respectful listening, mutual respect, open communication, comprehensive support (including training and accommodations), and the integration of family leaders in decision-making at program and policy levels.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Family centered health care, Family centered services, Collaboration, Social values, Family engagement

Annotation: This book presents information about the U.S. health disadvantage, that is, the fact that Americans live shorter lives and experience more illnesses and injuries than people in other high-income countries. The book explores possible explanations and provides recommendations for both government and nongovernment agencies to address the problem. Topics include shorter lives, poorer health, explaining the health disadvantage, framing the question, public health and medical care systems, individual behaviors, social factors, physical and social environmental factors, policies and social values, and a research agenda.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-26414-3.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Health, Health care systems, Income factors, Injuries, Injury prevention, International health, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, Research, Service delivery system, Social values

Annotation: This paper discusses the need for patient-centered and safe care (i.e., care that acknowledges that the values, cultures, choices, and preferences of a woman and her family are relevant within the context of promoting optimal health outcomes) for pregnant and laboring women. The paper discusses communication, shared decision-making, teamwork, and quality measurement.

Contact: American Academy of Family Physicians, P.O. Box 11210, Shawnee Mission, KS 66207-1210, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-2237 Fax: (913) 906-6075 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aafp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Communication, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Families, Health care, Health promotion, Moral values, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on providing emergency contraception. The fact sheet offers background on the topic and also includes highlights of how state policies on providing emergency-contraception-related services differ.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency contraception, Moral values, Pregnancy, Religion, State legislation

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on insurance coverage of contraceptives. The fact sheet offers background on the topic, particularly as these policies relate to whether employers or insurers can refuse to cover contraceptives on religious or moral grounds. The fact sheet also includes highlights of how states differ in terms of their contraceptive insurance coverage policies.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Ethics, Insurance, Moral values, Religion, State legislation

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on refusing to provide health services. The fact sheet offers background on policies allowing health professionals, institutions, and pharmacies or pharmacists to refuse to provide health services (particularly abortion, contraception, or sterilization services) owing to religious or moral objections. The fact sheet also includes highlights of how state policies on providing health services differ.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Contraception, Moral values, Religion, State legislation, Sterilization

Annotation: This paper describes a review of different frameworks for understanding the social determinants of health and how it was summarized and synthesized into a single conceptual framework for action. The paper also identifies elements of policy directions for action implied by the proposed conceptual framework and analysis of policy approaches.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alienation, Community action, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health status, Life course, Models, Policy analysis, Policy development, Political systems, Public policy, Social values, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Theories

Annotation: This manual is intended to help clergy and other religious professionals address the complex pastoral, moral, and ethical issues raised by assisted reproductive technologies. The manual provides an overview of the technologies and how they are used, examines traditional religious perspectives on reproduction and fertility, and outlines a model of pastoral care and counseling to help religious leaders effectively minister to individuals and communities. The manual also suggests ways that congregations and denominations can support, educate, and engage in the ethical issues surrounding assisted reproductive technologies.

Contact: Religious Institute, 21 Charles Street, Suite 140, Westport, CT 06880, Telephone: (203) 222-0055 Web Site: http://www.religiousinstitute.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-893270-58-9.

• PDF

Keywords: Clergy, Communities, Counseling, Education, Ethics, Fertility, Moral values, Pastoral care, Religious organizations, Reproduction, Reproductive technologies

Annotation: This paper synthesizes research addressing questions of how Latino parents' values, parenting practices, and potential experiences of discrimination, poverty, and barriers to accessing resources help shape Latino adolescent sexual behavior. The paper begins by describing the what is known about parenting practices as they relate to adolescent sexual behaviors. Next, the paper focuses on the strengths and challenges of immigrant parents in developing bicultural parenting practices.The paper then presents interventions that have demonstrated improvement in adolescent behavioral outcomes through enhancement of parenting practices. Finally, the paper presents the research, programmatic, and policy implications of the results. Also included are a list of tips for providers who work with Latino families and one appendix: a script for discussion of confidential medical care. The paper includes references and an executive summary, as well.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Cultural factors, Discrimination, Families, Hispanic Americans, Immigrants, Intervention, Moral values, Parenting, Parents, Poverty, Public policy, Research

Annotation: This report aims to articulate a full range of policies necessary to ensure reproductive freedom and health care, delineate the values associated with support for such policies, and discuss the benefits of a proposed agenda. The report also sets forth a proposed role for government in enabling individuals to make decisions about sexuality, reproduction, and family. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses the four cornerstones of a progressive reproductive health and rights agenda, progressive values and principles for reproductive health and rights, and the benefits of a comprehensive reproductive health and rights agenda. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family, Health care, Human rights, Moral values, Public policy, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality, Women', s rights

Annotation: This report is based on a review conducted by the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States of nine of the most widely available abstinence-only-until-marriage curricula designed for junior and senior high school students that emphasize the negative consequences of premarital sexual activity, portray sexual behavior as universally dangerous, and deny young people information about pregnancy and disease prevention. The report discusses the educational philosophy of these curricula and their scope and context. Topics covered include sexuality and abstinence, religion and morality, fear and shame, sexual pressure, sexual arousal, sexually transmitted diseases, HIV and AIDS, condoms and contraception, marriage and family structure, gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy options and abortion, teaching methods, curricula strong point, and the future of sexuality education. Brief reviews of the curricula are provided. A list of abstinence-education curricula that do not include messages of fear or shame is included. The report includes references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraception, Curricula, Families, HIV, Marriage, Moral values, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Sexual identity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses how parental influence can affect children's decisions about sex, love, and values. The fact sheet discusses what research says about parental influence, the media's role in influencing adolescents, adolescent boys, the role of fathers, and what parents can do.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Families, Fathers, Love, Mass media, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, Prevention, Research

Annotation: The papers collected in this volume reveal the contribution of African American voices to understanding the relationship between justice and care. The first part of the text provides a psychological perspective on moral formation among African Americans during childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Part two provides practical, pedagogical perspectives drawn from the past, present, and ongoing challenges of African American educational practices, focusing on what African American voices have to say about promoting care, justice, and moral formation within schools. Appendices include information on chapter-correlated films that illustrate these values and a summary of ways in which each chapter contributes to the understanding of each of the justice-and-care primary dual values. References, information on the contributors, and an index are included.

Contact: Teacher's College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (800) 575-6566 Secondary Telephone: (212) 678-3929 Fax: (212) 678-4149 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8077-4449-2.

Keywords: Blacks, Criminal justice system, Education, Life skills, Moral development, Moral values, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism, Social discrimination, Social integration, Social values

Annotation: This pamphlet helps parents of young children use everyday interactions to teach their children the basic skills they need to cooperate, get along with others, and be enthusiastic learners. The brochure provide tips for helping children develop skills in four key areas: language and literacy, thinking, self-control, and self-confidence. Tips are divided by age ranges (0-12 months, 12-24 months, and 24-36 months). Information about television viewing and imparting values and beliefs is also included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $30.00 for packet of 20; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-943657-87-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Infant development, Language, Learning, Learning activities, Literacy, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, School readiness, Self control, Self esteem, Social interaction, Television, Young children

Annotation: This report provides background on youth-led organizations and highlights five youth-led social justice efforts, describing the lessons they have learned and the tools they have developed. The organizations are: (1) Youth Organizations United (HIV education and reproductive health policy), (2) Lummi CEDAR Project (respecting traditional values, building intergenerational bridges, and supporting youth-led community organizing, (3) Kids As Self Advocates (educating about youth with disabilities), (4) About Face Youth Theater (empowering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth and their allies), and (5) National Conference for Community and Justice (fighting bias, bigotry, and racism).

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community organizations, Community programs, Education, HIV infection, Leadership, Moral values, Participation, Public policy, Racism, Reproductive health, Social change, Social values, Young adults

Annotation: This book addresses the current views and beliefs about adolescent pregnancy that influence social policy and political attitudes. The author presents the historical context of adolescent pregnancy and parenthood, and traces how attitudes about and approaches to dealing with these issues have changed. Quotes from the mothers involved illustrate the discussions of why adolescents get pregnant, how it affects the lives and future prospects of the adolescents and those of their babies, how sex education affects their behavior, and the impact of their socioeconomic status and upbringing on their goals and behavior.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-21702-0 .

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent employment, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Child welfare, Consent, Demography, Educational attainment, Family income, Marital status, Maternal age, Policy development, Pregnant adolescents, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social conditions, Social policy, Social values, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This teaching guide helps educators prepare adolescents in grades 7–12 to make decisions about topics that will affect their lives. It covers the skills and information adolescents need to make transitions from school to adulthood. The guide uses exercises and activities that rely on the experiences of the participants to reinforce the lesson. Chapters cover these topics: self perception and self image; personal, family, and community values; communication; relationships; sexuality; community participation; goal setting; decision making; gender roles; parenting; responding to violence; health care; reducing sexual risks, and employment. The guide includes an evaluation form and lists sources of videotapes. An earlier edition of this title was released in 1989 by the Center for Population Options, which was the publisher's name at that time. It is being revised in 2015. It is also available in Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org $44.95 plus 20 percent shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Communication skills, Decision making, Educational materials, Employment, Family planning, HIV, Health, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Non English language materials, Parenting, Planning, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Self concept, Sex role, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social values, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This videotape and the leader's discussion guide that accompany it suggests ways that parents, community organizations, civic groups, and educators can instill moral values and belief systems in the children and adolescents in their communities. The guide provides scripts that help emphasize various aspects of the video for presentations made for different groups as well as general suggestions for presentations. The assets themselves fall within broader groupings such as emotional support, standards for behavior, structuring the use of time, educational commitment, positive values, and social competencies.

Contact: Search Institute, The Banks Building, 615 First Avenue N.E., Suite 125, Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 376-8955 Secondary Telephone: (800) 888-7828 Contact Phone: (800) 888-7828 Fax: (612) 376-8956 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.search-institute.org/ $24.95 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Behavior, Children, Community role, Educational materials, Moral development, Parenting, Social values, Videotapes

Annotation: This teaching guide includes background information on the Community of Caring goals and objectives, provides a training manual which includes the rationale and methodology for teaching values, and outlines a plan for teaching of values in an elementary school. It includes an action plan, demonstrates how to teach values across the school curriculum, indicates how to develop a student forum, suggests ways to involve parents and the community, and advocates community service programs.

Contact: National Association of Secondary School Principals, 1904 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1537, Telephone: (703) 860-0200 Secondary Telephone: (800) 253-7746 Fax: (703) 476-5432 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.principals.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children, Curricula, School based programs, Social values