Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This resource provides links to information sources describing the need for increasing childhood immunization levels, together with strategies and reminder systems that providers can adopt to increase coverage in their own practice.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Immunization, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Vaccines

Annotation: This toolkit includes information about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine that oral health professionals can use or share with consumers. The toolkit includes a guide for oral health professionals on how to use the information with consumers, talking tips for various audiences, information on the role of oral health professionals in cancer control and prevention, a brochure on HPV and the vaccine, office posters on HPV and the vaccine, and a prescription pad for use in recommending the HPV vaccine. The toolkit is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Cancer Action Coalition of Virginia, P.O. Box 31658, Richmond, VA 23294, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cancercoalitionofvirginia.org/vhit/ Available from the website.

• Submit Form To Receive Downloadable Toolkit

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Vaccines

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the role oral health professionals can play in discussing human papillomavirus (HPV) and providing education about the link between HPV and cancers of the mouth and throat and the importance of the HPV vaccine. It also provides information about the prevalence of HPV; oral health professionals’ confidence about discussing HPV with patients and administering the vaccine; and, among adolescents who had a dental visit in the past year, the percentage that received the HPV vaccine.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health education, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report provides information on the role that oral health professionals can play in COVID-19 vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. It discusses the state policy landscape as it relates to oral health professionals administering COVID-19 vaccines, vaccine-delivery strategies developed by health center oral health programs, policy recommendations to increase the role of oral health professionals as vaccinators, and vaccine-specific policy recommendations.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Annotation: This policy brief evaluates the receipt of vaccines routinely recommended during pregnancy in rural and urban areas of the United States. Specifically, it analyzes the receipt of influenza and pertussis vaccines among pregnant women over a seven-year period from 2012-2018. Findings show that pregnant women in rural areas were significantly less likely than pregnant women in urban areas to receive a recommendation for influenza vaccination from their health care provider and were less likely to receive an influenza vaccine during pregnancy. Overall, the percentage of women who received a pertussis vaccine in rural areas during pregnancy was similar to the percentage of pregnant women who received one in urban areas. The policy brief also presents the implications for these findings.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Immunization programs, Immunizations, Influenza, Pregnant women, Rural health, Rural populations, Urban health, Urban populations, Vaccines

Annotation: The issue brief highlights strategies that have proven to be effective in immunizing children against diseases such as measles and resulted in significant reductions in certain vaccination rate disparities. It explains how evidence-based strategies from this pre-existing vaccination playbook can be implemented to vaccinate children widely and equitably during the COVID 19 pandemic and beyond.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Immunization, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This committee opinion for clinicians includes background information on the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine; statistics on HPV-associated cancers; recommendations on who should be vaccinated and when; guidelines on administering the vaccine; and information on safety, efficacy, and patient education. The 2020 committee opinion r(#809) replaces the earlier 2017 opinion (#704).

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cancer, Communication, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Women', s health services

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Prevention, Screening, Trends, Vaccines, Virus diseases, Women', Young adults, s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals about oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and human papillomavirus (HPV) prevention in children. It discusses what OPC is, its prevalence, and which population groups are most at risk. It also presents information on the relationship between OPC and HPV, OPC treatment options, the safety and efficacy of the HPV vaccine, and what oral health professionals can do it increase uptake of the vaccine.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for pediatricians about oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and human papillomavirus (HPV) prevention in children. It discusses what OPC is, its prevalence, and which population groups are most at risk. It also presents information on the relationship between OPC and HPV, OPC treatment options, the safety and efficacy of the HPV vaccine, and what oral health professionals can do it increase uptake of the vaccine.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals about how to answer parents’ questions about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine for children. It offers ideas about how best to recommend the vaccine to parents and how to prepare to answer parents’ questions. Sample questions that parents may ask about the importance, effectiveness, and safety of the vaccine and suggested responses are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This paper provides information about human papilloma virus (HPV) and oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and the possible link between the two. It discusses diagnosing HPV-related OPC, the best way to screen for OPC, the importance of receiving the HPV vaccine, and barriers to receiving the vaccine. A statement elucidating the Association of State and Territorial Heath Directors’ endorsement of the HPV vaccine to reduce the risk for HPV-related OPC is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Oral cancer, Oral health, Papilloma, Prevention, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus disease

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This guide describes educational and communication tools that can be adapted for human papillomavirus vaccination (HPV) campaigns in local health departments and used in HPV project planning. Contents include brochures, continuing education webinars, fact sheets, guidance documents, infographics, letters and opinions, public service announcements, toolkits, video and audio communications, and websites. The guide includes resources for health care professionals to learn about HPV, the benefits of HPV vaccination, tips for talking to parents and adolescents, and strategies to increase vaccination rates. Resources to increase parents' and adolescents' awareness and knowledge about the HPV vaccine and HPV-related cancers are also included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Adolescents, City health agencies, Communication, County health agencies, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Young adults

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cervical cancer, Health education, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Annotation: This toolkit describes best practices for vaccine storage and handling. Topics include the vaccine cold chain; storage and handling plans; staff and training; storage and temperature monitoring equipment, troubleshooting; inventory management; and vaccine deliveries, transport, preparation, and disposal. Additional resources such as a poster, worksheets, a checklist, a sample stock record and tally sheet, shipping labels, and manufacturer/distributor contact information are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Manuals, Planning, Records management, Risk management, Training, Vaccines

Annotation: This research brief highlights the extent to which local health departments (LHDs) provide and have the capacity to track, administer, and promote influenza (flu) vaccination for pregnant women, children with special health care needs, and adults with disabilities. Contents include data on the percentage of LHDs providing adult and child immunizations for the period 2005-2013 and findings from key informant interviews on seasonal flu vaccination rates, administering and promoting vaccinations, and partnerships. Reimbursement issues; the emergence of retail pharmacies in the immunization market; strategies used to promote flu vaccination; and opportunities, challenges, and recommendations are also discussed.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Health agencies, Influenza, Local government, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Public health infrastructure, Vaccines

Contact: Hep B United , Web Site: http://hepbunited.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asian Americans, Barriers, Collaboration, Hepatitis B, High risk groups, Pregnant women, Public private partnerships, Screening, Training, Vaccines

Annotation: This brief describes the potential relationship between the benefits of human papillomavirus (HPV) immunization and the costs of oropharyngeal cancer in the United States. Contents include information about oral HPV infection and HPV vaccination; an economic cost-benefit analysis; and conclusions.

Contact: Center for Oral Health, 309 East Second Street, Pomona, CA 91766-1854, Telephone: (909) 469-8300 Fax: (510) 380-6637 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerfororalhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Economics, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Oral health, Policy development, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccination effects, Vaccines