Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an evaluation of the Utah Oral Health Program, Adolescent Oral Health Campaign for 2022–2023. Goals of the campaign were to increase adolescents' use of the oral health care system; increase the proportion of adolescents from families with low incomes who had a preventive dental visit; reduce the proportion of adolescents with active, untreated tooth decay; and reduce adolescents' use of smokeless tobacco products. The report provides an overview of the program and describes evaluation methods, presents key findings and outcomes, presents post-test questions measuring adolescents' intent and post-test qualitative questions, and discusses evaluation limitations.

Contact: Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, Multi-Agency State Office Building, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, Telephone: (801) 201-9462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.utah.gov/oral-health-program/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Smokeless tobacco, State programs, Utah

Annotation: [This issue of the Commonwealth Fund's "Transforming Care" focuses on regional partnerships that aim to bolster access to maternity care in rural communities. Included are descriptions of regional model programs aimed at expanding the maternity workforce in rural areas, ramping up maternity telemedicine programs; and creating perinatal collaboratives and provider networks.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Arkansas, Maternal health, Maternal health care, Missouri, Model programs, New Mexico, Rural health, Utah

Annotation: This annual statistical summary provides information on the health, education, safety, and economic security of children in Utah. The introduction includes general demographic information about the state and presents a long-range view of what factors contribute to a family's well-being. Analytical essays are included for each category of data reviewed and the statistics are presented in tables by county with state totals. This publication continues "Key Facts," which was published between 1990 and 1994.

Contact: Voices for Utah Children, 747 East South Temple, Suite 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84102, Telephone: (801) 364-1182 Secondary Telephone: (877) 445-2447 Fax: (801) 364-1186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.utahchildren.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Health status, Socioeconomic factors, Utah

Annotation: This report presents findings from a statewide oral health screening of 2,000 students in first through fourth grades in 47 elementary schools to measure the extent of untreated tooth decay, caries experience, prevalence of dental sealants, and need for oral health care. Additional topics include dental insurance coverage, time since last dental visit, unmet needs, and disparities in care. The report also contains a comparison of Utah’s oral health status with national goals, the study methodology, information about access to care by race and ethnicity, program resources, a list of participating schools, and the parent questionnaire.

Contact: Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, Multi-Agency State Office Building, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, Telephone: (801) 201-9462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.utah.gov/oral-health-program/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Comparative analysis, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disparities in health care, Health status, Oral health, Prevalence, School age children, State surveys, Utah

Annotation: This collaborative webinar between the Children's Safety Network and the HRSA Traumatic Brain Injury Technical Assistance Center (TBI TAC) provides an overview of the burden of TBI among young children ages, 0-4, the work of the HRSA Traumatic Brain Injury Program, and efforts to mitigate the impact of TBI on this population. It discusses the Utah Medical Home Portal, highlights from the state's training on TBI in 0-4 year olds, and research in the area.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children with special health care needs, Data, Infants, Injury prevention, Trauma, Utah, Young children

Annotation: These proceedings document a national policy summit held on June 13-14, 2012, in Richmond, Virginia, to convene leaders involved in identifying and supporting youth with traumatic brain injury (TBI) in the juvenile justice system. The purpose of the summit was to share information, resources, and effective screening and intervention strategies to improve TBI services within states and move toward achieving a consistent national approach to screening and intervention. Contents include a participant list; background information about brain injury; the summit agenda; state project overviews including current status and identification and screening procedures; information from small group discussions on evaluation and screening, education and outreach, and treatment and intervention; and information from peer group discussions on policy implications. Recommendations for policy and future study are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229-5019, Telephone: (800) 552-5019 Secondary Telephone: (800) 552-9950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vadrs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Head injuries, Minnesota, National initiatives, Nebraska, Program improvement, Public development, Screening, Service coordination, State programs, Texas, Utah, Virginia

Annotation: This issue brief provides recommendations for planning, developing, implementing, and evaluating comprehensive critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) programs. The brief highlights efforts in Indiana, Michigan, New Jersey, and Utah to establish collaboration between programs, particularly newborn screening and birth defects programs, to effectively implement CCHD screening and follow-up. Topics include key elements of the state approaches, data considerations, and program challenges and successes. The role of the Title V MCH Services Block Grant is discussed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Congenital abnormalities, Congenital heart defects, Indiana, Michigan, Neonatal screening, New Jersey, State programs, Title V programs, Utah

Annotation: This report provides a baseline comparison of coverage and costs to consumers in separate Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) plans and benchmark plans in select states; describes how coverage and costs might change in 2014; and describes how access to care by CHIP children compares to other children nationwide. Examples are provided from five states: Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, New York, and Utah.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-40.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children', Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, New York, Utah, Case studies, Families, Health care financing, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a 2006-2011 project in Utah to engage Spanish-speaking families with children with special health care needs in family advocacy and support groups to provide families with the knowledge and skills to obtain appropriate health care for their children. Report contents include a description of the program, goals and objectives, methodology, results and outcomes, a list of publications and products developed during the project, a summary of the dissemination and utilization of results, and a brief section on program sustainability. The program annotation and abstract conclude the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Final reports, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, State programs, Utah

Annotation: This report presents the findings from a diagnostic assessment of the enrollment and retention systems of eight states that participate in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundations Maximizing Enrollment for Kids Program, a national program aimed to help states increase enrollment and retention of eligible children in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program and to promote promising practices among states. The eight states are Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New York, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The paper is organized by the four main areas of states' work and presents strengths, challenges, and opportunities in each area: (1) process improvement and paperwork reduction; (2) data analysis and integration; (3) leadership and agency capacity, coordination, and culture; and (4) consumer, community partner, and stakeholder engagement.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Illinois, Louisiana, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Medicaid, New York, Retention, State programs, Uninsured persons, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This analysis examines patterns of oral-heath-care seeking in emergency departments (EDs). The authors look at ED claims data in seven states—Arizona, Florida, Iowa, Maryland, Utah, Vermont, and Wisconsin—to understand between- and within-state differences in ED use. Topics include state differences in the types of oral conditions that lead individuals to seek care in EDs, differences in rural vs. urban areas, and differences in patterns of oral-health-care seeking in EDs associated with state Medicaid policy.

Contact: NORC Walsh Center for Rural Health Analysis, 4350 East West Highway, Suite 800, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 634-9300 Secondary Telephone: 301-951-5070 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.norc.org/Research/Departments/Pages/public-health-research/walsh-center-rural-health-analysis.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Wisconsin, Access to health care, Arizona, Children, Data, Emergency room data, Florida, Health services delivery, Hospital emergency services, Iowa, Maryland, Oral health, State surveys, Utah, Vermont

Annotation: This report investigates how Action for Healthy Kids teams are working to help diverse communities communicate with one another and appreciate cultural differences for the ultimate purpose of helping schools help students in the areas of nutrition and physical fitness. The report profiles the progress of Action for Healthy Kids teams in Utah, New York and New Jersey, South Carolina, and Idaho.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Blacks, Child health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Families, Hispanic Americans, Idaho:, Low income groups, New Jersey, New York, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Poverty, Prevention, Rural population, Schools, South Carolina, Utah

Annotation: This report examines five states' experiences related to the delivery of services that support young children's social and emotional development. These five states (California, Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, and Utah) participated in the second Assuring Better Child Health and Development Consortium, which provided the states with an opportunity to develop and test strategies for improving the delivery of developmental services to young children at risk for or with social or emotional developmental delays, especially those in need of preventive or early intervention services. The report examines the states' experiences from three perspectives: (1) by the numbers (i.e., measuring system performance), (2) by objective, and (3) by a summary of lessons learned. An executive summary and a conclusion are included. The report includes two appendices: profiles of state projects and a summary of selected evaluation results by state. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures. Endnotes are included, as well.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Emotional development, Health services delivery, High risk children, Illinois, Iowa, Mental health, Minnesota, Prevention, Social skills, State programs, Utah, Young children

Annotation: This report, which is the first in a series being prepared by the Center for Mental Health in Schools at UCLA, focuses on summarizing the work of eight state-level programs funded by the Department of Education's grant program, Integration of Schools and Mental Health Systems. Summaries include projects funded in 2005 (Arkansas, Ohio, Maryland), 2006 (Illlinois, Utah), and 2007 (Michigan, South Carolina, Delaware). [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Delaware, Federal programs, Grants, Illinois, Maryland, Mental health, Michigan, Ohio, Schools, South Carolina, State programs, Utah

Annotation: This issue brief discusses ways to improve access to mental health services for children enrolled in the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Specifically, the brief examines strategies and challenges faced by three state SCHIP programs operating in 2006: North Carolina, Rhode Island, and Utah. These states were chosen because they represent different kinds of SCHIP programs and different kinds of delivery systems. For each program, the brief presents an overview and strategies for integrating systems of care. The brief includes a conclusion and endnotes.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Health care systems, Mental health services, North Carolina, Rhode Island, State Children', State programs, Utah, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief from the Child Health Insurance Initiative (CHIRI) summarizes case studies of five states with separate SCHIP (State Children's Health Insurance Programs) programs to determine whether children with special health care needs (CSHCN) experienced problems in accessing health care in SCHIP programs with limits and/or exclusions in coverage design. The five states are Georgia, Kansas, Pennsylvania, Utah, and Virginia. Contents include a summary of the findings, conclusions, study methodology, policy implications, and sources and related studies of interest. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 06-0051.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Case studies, Children with special health care needs, Georgia, Kansas, Pennsylvania, State Children', State programs, Utah, Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report summarizes a statewide forum, held on September 29, 2006, to address oral health issues for children with special health care needs in Utah and to plan ways to address these issues. Report contents include a description of the purpose of the forum, the planning process, pre-forum surveys, a list of invitees and participants, a summary of discussions, a budget outline, potential barriers and needed resources, and conclusions. A copy of the forum agenda is provided, along with a planning matrix. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Oral health, State initiatives, Strategic plans, Utah

Annotation: This report describes a meeting of nine states with active maternal mortality review (MMR) committees. Topics include challenges, lessons learned, and promising practices from MMR experiences in the following areas: structure and process, data and definitions, dissemination and implementation of findings, and development and sustainability.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Florida, Information dissemination, Massachusetts, Maternal mortality, Michigan, New Jersey, Model programs, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Program development, State programs, Utah, Virginia

Annotation: This brief examines premium assistance programs implemented under section 1115 waivers in five states (Illinois, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Utah) to determine how they are financed; their eligibility, benefits, and cost-sharing requirements; their methods for determining cost-effectiveness, and cost savings. (Premium assistance programs use federal and state Medicaid and/or State Children's Health Insurance Program funds to subsidize the purchase of private health insurance and may also use employer or enrollee contributions to help pay premium costs.) The brief, which includes an executive summary, provides background, discusses findings, and provides a discussion. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief includes a list of sources.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Financing, Health insurance, Illinois, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, State Children', Utah, Waivers, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a project in the State of Utah from June 2001 through May 2005 to help the state organize its services so that families of young children with special health care needs (CSHCN) could use them easily. The project focused on promoting four recommended service integration strategies: (1) an interagency application and eligibility process, (2) a shared data system, (3) blended funding, and (4) a single coordinator with whom the families communicate. Report contents include descriptions of the experience to date illustrated by objectives; community readiness and additional supports needed to aid local methods for assisting families to enter the system; a description of collaboration at federal, state, community, and family levels; a list of meetings, presentations, and conferences attended during the project period; and a review of significant findings. Additional sections outline the future sustainability of the project, provide a listing of publications and other materials produced for the project, provide charts on data collection required for the project, and include a summary outline of the data collected. [Funded by the maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Utah State University, Early Intervention Research Institute, 1400 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322-1400, Telephone: (435) 797-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 8877-1699 Fax: (435) 797-2019 Web Site: http://www.eiri.usu.edu

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Final reports, Health services delivery, Program descriptions, Service coordination, Service integration, State programs, Utah