Annotation: This document includes abstracts accepted for the CityMatCH conference, Expedition 2004: Exploring the Boundaries of Urban MCH. The abstracts accepted for the conference reflect innovative activities, strategies, or lessons learned that have strengthened the conference participant's capacity to serve children and families. Abstracts for which oral presentations are given are grouped into the following categories: (1) advocacy: strategies for local leaders to advance MCH policy and programs, (2) addressing the epidemic of overweight children: practice and policy, (3) assuring access for women and children, (4) creating healthier communities for our children, (5) focusing on preconception health: improving morbidity and mortality, (6) inside or outside our circle:do mental health concerns affect our outcomes?, (7) integrating urban women's health in local health departments, and (8) mentoring fathers, strengthening families. The document also includes a poster section, which includes abstracts that best address the specific review criteria, and a publication only section, which includes abstracts that are published but not presented.
Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.
Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Child health, Children, Communities, Community programs, Conferences, Families, Fathers, Leadership, MCH programs, Mental health, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Preconception care, Public policy, Urban areas, Women', s health
