Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (30 total).

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Support. 2014. Bronx Teens Connections' Clinic Linkage Model: Connecting young people with clinical sexual and reproductive health services. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Support, 2 pp. (Public health practice stories from the field)

Annotation: This document describes the Bronx Teens Connection (BxTC) program of the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, a multicomponent initiative to reduce pregnancy rates among adolescent and young adult females ages 15-19. Contents include information on program activities, accomplishments, and lessons learned. Topics include establishing formal linkages between clinics and schools or youth-serving organizations, connecting youth to high-quality clinical sexual health services.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Clinics, Health services delivery, Local MCH programs, Model programs, Prevention programs, Reproductive health, School linked programs, Sexual health, Urban population

CityMatCH. 2013. Strategic work plan . Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document is part of a three-year strategic plan to strengthen public health leaders and organizations to promote equity and improve the health of urban women, families, and communities. The plan comprises three goals (equity, science, and leadership) and four objectives within each goal.

Link

Keywords: Professional societies, Strategic plans, Urban MCH programs

Hawkins J, Bonzon E, Rough A. 2012. The built environment. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Omaha, NE: CityMaTCH, 4 pp. (Women's health prevention brief; issue 3)

Annotation: This brief focuses on the importance of addressing the built environment to improve maternal health and birth outcomes. Contents include an overview of the built environment and research on the connections between the built environment and health, the biological and social impacts of an unsupportive built environment on maternal health and birth outcomes, and promising programs at the state and local levels.

Keywords: Data, Environmental health, Health care systems, Maternal health, Model programs, Pregnancy outcome, Preventive health services, State MCH programs, Urban MCH programs

National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2011. The impact of the economy on maternal, child, and adolescent health programs and services in urban local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief details findings from a focus group of urban local health department (LHD) staff that explored how the economic recession has impacted maternal, child, and adolescent health programs and services in urban LHDs. The brief also examines what strategies are being used to ensure that programs and services continue, what support is needed in the future, and what messages need to be heard by decision-makers at the state and national levels. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Assessment, Economic factors, Health agencies, Urban MCH programs

Urban Indian Health Institute. 2008. Urban American Indian/Alaska Native maternal, infant, and child health capacity needs assessment. Seattle, WA: Urban Indian Health Institute, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the results of an assessment of the maternal, infant, child and youth health needs in 34 urban American Indian and Alaska Native organizations nationwide. Topics also include site accessibility and quality and affordability of services in the aggregate, as well as an assessment of potential barriers to care. References; a list of national performance measures from HRSA MCH Services, Title V Block Grant Program; a copy of the survey questionnaire; and a chart listing Urban Indian Health Organization (UIHO) area counties and states locations are provided.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Needs assessment, Questionnaires, Surveys, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2008. Annual report, 2008. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the activities of CityMatCH for 2008 including commentary from the organization's leadership, descriptions of their major urban based MCH initiatives, and a financial report.

Keywords: National organizations, Urban MCH programs

Fitzgerald M, Sutton Z, eds. 2007. CityMatCH 2007: Promising practices compendium. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 216 pp.

Annotation: This compendium includes a summary of oral presentations made at the 2007 CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on August 26-28, 2007, in Denver, Colorado. An abstract is included for oral and poster presentations. Oral presentation topics include adolescent health, community involvement and partnerships, urban women's health, preconception health and health care, effective and promising teen pregnancy prevention programs, healthy weight in women of reproductive age - action learning collaborative, child development, mental health, and health disparities. Descriptions are provided for 43 posters presented at the conference. Two additional abstracts are included for fetal alcohol spectrum disorders. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Conferences, Leadership, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Community programs, MCH programs, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Urban health

Peck MG, Abreasch CJ, Simpson PS, eds. 2005. Profiles of perinatal HIV prevention: Urban communities share their efforts to prevention mother-to-child transmission of HIV. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 44 pp.

Annotation: This publication, which is designed for use by communities as a starting point to implement local systems to prevent perinatal HIV transmission, introduces the Urban Prevention Collaborative (UPC) and the Urban Learning Network, both of which work toward prevention of perinatal HIV transmission. Themes and recommendations from the UPC are presented, along with commentary from City MatCH. A table of prevention strategies is included, and descriptions of programs run by health departments in several states are presented. The publication includes one appendix: a CityMatCH mapping AIDS prevention strategies overview.

Keywords: Community programs, Disease transmission, HIV, Perinatal influences, Prevention, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2005. For all it's worth: Leading with values and vision—Promising practices: 15th Annual CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 101 pp.

Annotation: This publication is a compilation of materials from 15th Annual City MatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on September 10-13, 2005, in Ft. Worth, Texas. Materials cover adolescent pregnancy, racial and ethnic disparities, preconception health, obesity, child development and prevention, child health, prenatal care, and other related topics. The materials are divided into the following categories: (1) oral presentations, (2) promising practice posters, (3) daTA Institute Team's posters, and (4) additional promising practices.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Community programs, Conference proceedings, Ethnic factors, Leadership, Model programs, Obesity, Prenatal care, Prevention, Racial factors, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2005. Toward urban women's health: Leadership. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 12 pp. (Urban women's health brief, issue brief no. 3)

Annotation: This paper discusses components of leadership as they relate to maternal and child health (MCH) professionals, shares perspectives on leadership from MCH leaders, examines the importance of political will and explores how effective leadership can have impact, considers the effects of social health policies on women's health, and articulates a vision of women's health that embraces and expands upon the traditional maternal role. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Leadership, MCH training, Professional training, Urban MCH programs, Women', s health

CityMatCH. 2005. For all it's worth: Leading with values and vision. CityLights. 14(2):1-8. 2005. ,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership conference, For All It's Worth: Leading with Values and Vision, which took place on September 10, 2005, in Forth Worth, TX. The newsletter discusses conference presentations, workshops, and other conference-related topics and activities and includes articles on (1) connecting strategies with maternal and child health vision: the science vs. the practice in perinatal and preconception health and (2) DaTA Institute teams' completion of a yearlong training program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health, Families, Infant health, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH services, Perinatal health, Preconception health, Texas, Training, Urban populations, Women', s health

CityMatCH. [2004]. Expedition 2004: Exploring the Boundaries of Urban MCH—Promising practices from the field: CityMatCH annual urban maternal and child health leadership conference. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 139 pp.

Annotation: This document includes abstracts accepted for the CityMatCH conference, Expedition 2004: Exploring the Boundaries of Urban MCH. The abstracts accepted for the conference reflect innovative activities, strategies, or lessons learned that have strengthened the conference participant's capacity to serve children and families. Abstracts for which oral presentations are given are grouped into the following categories: (1) advocacy: strategies for local leaders to advance MCH policy and programs, (2) addressing the epidemic of overweight children: practice and policy, (3) assuring access for women and children, (4) creating healthier communities for our children, (5) focusing on preconception health: improving morbidity and mortality, (6) inside or outside our circle:do mental health concerns affect our outcomes?, (7) integrating urban women's health in local health departments, and (8) mentoring fathers, strengthening families. The document also includes a poster section, which includes abstracts that best address the specific review criteria, and a publication only section, which includes abstracts that are published but not presented.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Child health, Children, Communities, Community programs, Conferences, Families, Fathers, Leadership, MCH programs, Mental health, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Preconception care, Public policy, Urban areas, Women', s health

Fitzgerald M, McIntosh K, eds. 2001. Lessons learned 2001: Profiles of leading urban health department initiatives in maternal and child health. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 183 pp.

Annotation: This report compiles and describes selected urban public health practices collected at the 12th Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held in Nashville, Tennessee, in August 2001. The program profiles offer innovative approaches and replicable practices to aid in developing programs to solve the public health problems facing women, children, and families in America's cities. Each profile contains the program name and contact information, a description of the program and its objectives, barriers encountered, strategies to overcome those barriers, funding source, the role of the health department, program accomplishments, and lessons learned. Profiles are indexed by target populations and approaches and essential MCH program functions. The appendices include listings of CityMatCH members and publications. A sample data collection form is provided. The document is also available online as a searchable database. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Case studies, Program descriptions, Program development, Public health programs, Urban MCH programs

Fitzgerald M, ed. 2000. Lessons learned 2000: Profiles of leading urban health department initiatives in maternal and child health—From the CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference, Westminster, Colorado, September 2000. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, 193 pp.

Annotation: This directory profiles 72 urban MCH programs of city and county health departments across the nation whose jurisdictions include one or more cities of 100, 000 population (or the largest city in the states not otherwise represented); the programs represent one of the health department's most successful MCH efforts during the year 2000. The profiles are presented in alphabetical order, by city and by state where the local health department is located. Each profile includes contact information, essential MCH functions and initiatives, funding sources, and budget. It also includes a description of objectives, activities, barriers faced and overcome, health department roles, accomplishments, and lessons learned. The profiles are additionally indexed by target populations and approaches and essential MCH program functions. The MCH program functions index was added in 2000. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: City health agencies, Initiatives, Local MCH programs, Program descriptions, Urban MCH programs

Fitzgerald M, Rostermundt J, eds. 1999. Lessons learned 1998: Profiles of leading urban health department initiatives in maternal and child health—From the CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference San Antonio, Texas, September 1998. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, 198 pp.

Annotation: This directory profiles 82 urban MCH programs of city and county health departments across the nation whose jurisdictions include one or more cities of 100, 000 population; the programs represent one of the health department's most successful MCH efforts during the 1999 year. The profiles are presented in alphabetical order, by city and by state where the local health department is located. Each profile includes contact information, essential MCH functions and initiatives, funding sources, and budget. It also includes a description of objectives, activities, barriers faced and overcome, health department roles, accomplishments, and lessons learned. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: City health agencies, Initiatives, Local MCH programs, Program descriptions, Urban MCH programs

Fitzgerald M, ed. 1999. Lessons learned 1999: Profiles of leading urban health department initiatives in maternal and child health—From the CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, 183 pp.

Annotation: This directory profiles 72 urban MCH programs of city and county health departments across the nation whose jurisdictions include one or more cities of 100, 000 population; the programs represent one of the health department's most successful MCH efforts during the 1999 year. The profiles are presented in alphabetical order, by city and by state where the local health department is located. Each profile includes contact information, essential MCH functions and initiatives, funding sources, and budget. It also includes a description of objectives, activities, barriers faced and overcome, health department roles, accomplishments, and lessons learned. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: City health agencies, Initiatives, Local MCH programs, Program descriptions, Urban MCH programs

Black M. 1999. Growth and Development: Longitudinal Followup: [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: University of Maryland Medical School, 34 pp.

Annotation: This project was designed to evaluate the long-term effects of home intervention on the health, growth, and development of low-income, inner-city children diagnosed with nonorganic failure to thrive (NOFTT). The longitudinal study built on an ongoing randomized clinical trial of home intervention. The study followed the intervention children and their matched controls through their preschool years until they reached first grade. Approximately 90 percent of the children were from African-American families and most of the families were headed by single mothers who had not completed high school. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Blacks, Failure to Thrive, Home Health Services, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Low Income Population, MCH Research, Preschool children, Research, School-age children, Urban Population

Peck MG, Fitzgerald M, eds. 1998. Lessons learned 1997: Profiles of urban health department initiatives in maternal and child health—From the CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference: Atlanta, Georgia, September 1997. Omaha, NE: University of Nebraska Medical Center, CityMatCH, 198 pp.

Annotation: This directory profiles 92 urban MCH programs of city and county health departments across the nation. The intent of this compendium of current practices is to put ideas forth for consideration. The profiles are presented in alphabetical order, by state and by city where the local health department is located. Each profile includes a description of objectives, activities, barriers faced and overcome, health department roles, funding, accomplishments, and lessons learned. Contact information is listed at the beginning of each profile to allow direct follow up with the health department. The profiles have been indexed by essential MCH program functions, by standard categories of MCH approaches, and by targeted MCH populations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: City health agencies, Conferences, Local MCH programs, Program descriptions, Urban MCH programs

Peck MG, Koenig DG, eds. [1997]. Lessons learned 1996: Profiles of urban health department MCH efforts. Omaha, NE: University of Nebraska Medical Center, CityMatCH, 167 pp.

Annotation: This directory profiles 72 urban MCH programs of city and county health departments across the nation whose jurisdictions include one or more cities of 100,000 population and which represent one of the health department's most successful MCH efforts during the 1996 year. The profiles are presented in alphabetical order, by state and by city where the local health department is located. Each profile includes a description of objectives, activities, barriers faced and overcome, health department roles, accomplishments, and lessons learned. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: City health agencies, Local MCH programs, Program descriptions, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 1997-. CITYLIGHTS. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, irregular.

Annotation: This newsletter focuses on topics of interest to members of CityMatCH -- the national organization of city and county health departments' maternal and child health (MCH) programs and leaders representing urban communities in the United States. The serial includes articles that focus on improving the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families and on strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in communities where these populations are served. Individual editions often highlight specific issues in maternal and child health. Conference updates, statistics, and resource information are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: Community health services, Electronic newsletters, Leadership, MCH programs, Program improvement, Public health, Urban populations