Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper discusses the use of E Codes to classify the external cause of injuries, and explains how using these codes contributes to developing better injury prevention programs. The paper includes a classified listing of E Codes grouped according to common causes of injury, as well as instructions on the use of the codes. This paper is based on the ninth revised edition of "International Classification of Diseases." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: External cause of injury codes, Injuries, Injury prevention, Intentional injuries, Population surveillance, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: The project goal was to decrease the infant mortality rate in the target area to the national average by the end of the 3-year project period. The impact objective was to decrease the incidence of low birthweight to 6.5 percent and continue that downward trend to meet the U.S. Surgeon General's goal of 5 percent by the year 2000, and to increase Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment screenings to 80 percent of eligible children. The process objectives were to develop a one-stop perinatal and pediatric health facility, to draw St. Tammany Parish women into early prenatal care through aggressive outreach, and to develop a program of education and community support for indigent families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121875.

Keywords: EPSDT, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Motor Vehicle Crashes, One Stop Shopping, Prenatal Care, Unintentional Injuries

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Child care, Child safety, Gun control, Injury prevention, Risk factors, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to examine naturalistic data from crashes that involved adolescent drivers. Topics include characteristics of drivers and passengers, roadway and environment, crashes, vehicle-to-vehicle crashes, and single-vehicle crashes; and driver and passenger behaviors. Contents include a detailed description of the study methodology and the coding sheet with variable definitions.

Contact: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 607 14th Street, N.W., Suite 201, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5944 Fax: (202) 638-5943 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaafoundation.org/home/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Data analysis, Environment, External cause of injury codes, Motor vehicle crashes, Research methodology, Risk factors, Risk taking, Safety, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This issue brief for health plans discusses the National Action Plan for Child Injury Prevention, highlights the prevalence and cost of injuries, shares examples of current health plan child injury prevention activities, and describes opportunities for future action. Topics include informing health care professionals about the toll of injuries, encouraging physicians to use Bright Futures and provide age-appropriate injury prevention guidance to families, support evidence-based prevention practices, and promote the use of and access to safety devices.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child health promotion, Child safety, Children, Costs, Foundations, Injuries, Injury prevention, Model programs, Prevalence, Program planning, Third party payers, Unintentional injuries

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Drugs, Families, Grandparents, Injury prevention, Safety, Statistics, Trends, Unintentional injuries, Young children

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Statistics, Trends, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This video for law enforcement professionals provides an introduction to the Cops-N-Cribs program. Topics include the basics of safe infant sleep practices and their relationship to sudden infant death prevention. The video also describes a crib distribution program to help parents and other caregivers provide a safe sleep environment for infants.

Contact: Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, 19010 1st Avenue South, Burien, WA 98148, Telephone: (206) 835-7300 Secondary Telephone: (206) 439-2895 Web Site: https://fortress.wa.gov/cjtc/www Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Criminal justice system, Infant death, Injury prevention, Safety programs, Sleep position, Training, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: These resources are designed to help home visitors start a conversation with families and educate them on major causes of injury in the home. Contents include assessment questions, educational topics, and references for home visitors to gain additional background knowledge on each injury topic.

Contact: American College of Preventive Medicine, 1307 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 466-2044 Fax: (202) 466-2662 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acpm.org Available from the website.

• Guidance
• Tool

Keywords: Communication, Data collection, Families, Forms, Home visiting, Infants, Injury prevention, Observation, Psychosocial factors, Risk assessment, Screening, Unintentional injuries, Young children

Annotation: This report describes and discusses child deaths that occurred in Philadelphia in 2009 and 2010 and that were reviewed by the Philadelphia Child Death Review Team. The report provides background and an overview of child deaths reviewed during the period and discusses infant deaths, natural deaths, unintentional injury deaths, and intentional injury deaths.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 1401 JFK Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Telephone: (215) 686-45200 Fax: (215) 686-5212 Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Cause of death, Child neglect, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Infant death, Intentional injuries, Poisoning, SIDS, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This action plan describes goals and actions in six domains that inform concrete actions within the field of injury prevention to reduce child and adolescent injury in the United States. The six domains include data and surveillance, research, communication, education and training, health systems and health care, and policy. Injury prevention efforts are discussed for motor vehicle crashes, suffocation, drowning, as well as fires, burns, and falls. The plan concludes with a summary of goals and actions. An archive of the September 10, 2013 webinar broadcast of part I is available.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Burns, Children, Drowning, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Safety, Suffocation, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This brochure for parents and other caregivers conveys the message that it is safest for infants to sleep alone. Colorful illustrations depict safe sleep environments.

Contact: Maternity Care Coalition, 2000 Hamilton Street, Suite 205, Philadelphia, PA 19130, Telephone: (215) 972-0700 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://maternitycarecoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This public service announcement video provides tips on safe sleep for infants to prevent infant deaths. The video shows an infant lying in a safe sleep environment and is narrated by a health professional explaining how to ensure that an infant's sleep environment is safe. Topics include sleep surface, temperature, clothing, smoking, sleeping alone, bedding and soft toys, and crib safety.

Contact: Columbus Public Health, 240 Parsons Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 645-7417 Web Site: http://publichealth.columbus.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Local initiatives, Media campaigns, Multimedia, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This resource provides information to help health professionals, parents, and other caregivers create a safe infant sleep environment to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome. Contents include a public service announcement, a brochure in English and Spanish, a video, and links to additional information.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Infant death, Multimedia, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS: Sleep position, Safety, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This video provides information for parents and other caregivers on creating a safe sleep environment for infants to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death including audden infant death syndrome. Topics include co-sleeping vs. bed sharing, the use of pacifiers, smoking during pregnancy and secondhand smoke exposure, and safe cribs.

Contact: Missouri Children's Trust Fund , PO Box 1641, Jefferson City, MO 65102, Telephone: (573) 751-5147 Fax: (573) 751-0254 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctf4kids.org/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Infant equipment, Multimedia, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources to help prevent injury and death among infants in West Virginia. Topics include ways to keep infants safe while sleeping, and how to cope with frustrations resulting from frequent, constant, or inconsolable infant crying. Contents include public service announcements, videos, a one-hour training webinar, a community partners resource guide, a slide presentation, posters and brochures, a pledge form, and an information form for barbershops and laundromats. Print brochures and posters, DVDs, and erasable white boards may also be ordered from the website for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

Contact: TEAM for West Virginia Children, P.O. Box 1653, 625 Fourth Avenue, Huntington, WV 25717, Telephone: (304) 523-9587 Fax: (304) 523-9595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teamwv.org Available at no charge from the website; print materials are also available at no charge for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Continuing education, Coping, Crying, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Public service announcements, Sleep position, State initiatives, Training materials, Unintentional injuries, West Virginia

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources to help parents and other caregivers understand the importance of safe sleep practices in protecting infants from sudden infant death syndrome, suffocation, and accidents during sleep. Topics include creating a safe sleep zone, the benefits of room sharing vs. bed sharing, breastfeeding, and adult beds not being safe for sleeping babies. Contents include a video, a fact sheet, and a brochure. Additional resources such as position statements and a bibliography are also available from the website. The video and brochure are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Multimedia, National initiatives, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS: Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This website contains information and resources for health professionals, parents, and other caregivers to raise awareness of a safe infant sleep environment to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome. Contents include a statement of evidence; a brochure; a video; and promotional items including a poster, a handout, and a door hanger. Additional resources are available from the website.

Contact: Public Health Agency of Canada, 130 Colonnade Road, A.L. 6501H, Ottowa, Ontario, CANADA K1A 0K9, E-mail: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/contac-eng.php#general Web Site: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Multimedia, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Unintentional injuries