Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (267 total).

Joy Taylor K, Nelson T, Allen EH, Hinojosa S. 2024. Guide to equity for the uninsured . Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 8 pp.

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of inequities in access to health care and insurance coverage in the U.S. and highlights policy and accountability levers that advocates and other change-makers can use to advance equity. Among the topics addressed are providers and service delivery, financing, barriers to obtaining health insurance, barriers to accessing health care, disparities in coverage, accountability and oversight, and policies and actions that could lesson barriers. Links to additional sources of information are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health insurance, Initiatives, Policy, Uninsured persons

Buettgens M , Ramchandani U . 2023. The health coverage of noncitizens in the United States, 2024 . Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation , 17 pp.

Annotation: This brief analyzes health care coverage and eligibility of noncitizens (lawfully present and undocumented immigrants, including pregnant women and children) compared with the entire population of the United States. It compares uninsurance rates based on demographics such as age, race and ethnicity, gender, education, and employment status and also looks at the eligibility of uninsured noncitizens ffor Marketplace premium tax credits, Medicaid, and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) in both Medicaid expansion and nonexpansion states.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

Link

Keywords: Access to health care , Barriers, Health insurance, Immigrants, Migrants, Undocumented immigrants, uninsured persons

Arkansas Center for Health Improvement. 2022. Utilization of dental care among Arkansas children and adults. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 49 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Tranby EP, Jacob J, Kelly A, Frantsve-Hawley J. 2021. A coming surge in oral health treatment needs. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 8 pp. (State of oral health equity in America 2021: Research report #1)

Annotation: This report provides information on a likely surge in oral health treatment needs among adults owing to events that have occurred as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, including loss of dental insurance coverage, increased oral health problems resulting from loss of insurance, and delays in receiving oral health care owing to concerns about costs of care or exposure to the virus. Topics include impact on the larger health system, intensifying disparities, the spillover effect of chronic health conditions on oral health, and barriers to accessing preventive oral health care.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Uninsured persons, Virus diseases

Conway D. 2020. US Census Bureau Health insurance coverage among young adults aged 19 to 34: 2018 and 2019. Washington, DC: U.S. Census Bureau, 11 pp. (American Community Survey Briefs)

Annotation: Ages 19-34.

Contact: U.S. Census Bureau, 4600 Silver Hill Road, Washington, DC 20233, Telephone: (301) 763-4748 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.census.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Health insurance, Uninsured persons

Whitener K, Alker j. 2020. Covering all children . Washington, DC: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on the remaining uninsured children in the U.S. and makes recommendations for policy changes to reach them as well as to simplify and improve children’s coverage overall. The menu of potential strategies includes (1) creating a national continuum of children's coverage; (2) strengthening Medicaid and the CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Program); (3) reducing gaps in children's coverage; and (4) improving affordability in the marketplace. Interim steps to improve coverage at both the federal and state level are also described.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Child health, Expanded eligibility, Health insurance, Policy development, Uninsured persons

Wright Burak E, Clark M, and Roygardner L . 2019. Nation's youngest children lose health coverage at an alarming rate . Washington, DC: , 16 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes trends in children's health insurance coverage in the U.S., highlighting the increase in the rate of uninsured children under age 6 between 2016-2018. Included are select characteristics of uninsured children, according to race and ethnicity, state of residence, and state-level coverage losses. Comparisons between Medicaid expansion and non-expansion states are also provided.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Health insurance, Medicaid, Statistics, Trends, Uninsured persons, Young children

Lee J, Schroeder S. 2016. Oral health care service in North Dakota community health centers. Grand Forks, ND: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines oral health services provided to residents by federally funded community health centers (CHCs) and their satellite sites in North Dakota. Contents include information and data on state and CHC population demographics such as income status, health insurance status, and race/ethnicity; sources of CHC revenue; and CHC dental vs. medical costs per visit and per patient.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Costs, Dental care, Geographic factors, Health care delivery, Low income groups, North Dakota, Oral health, Rural population, State programs, Uninsured persons, Work force

Kenney GM, Alker J, Anderson N, McMorrow S, Long SK, Wissoker D, Clemans-Cope L, Dubay L, Karpman M, Brooks T. 2014. A first look at children's health insurance coverage under the ACA in 2014. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 10 pp. (Health reform monitoring survey)

Annotation: This brief examines findings from the Health Reform Monitoring Survey children's supplement. Topics include changes in health insurance coverage for children and the income distribution of uninsured children and how their access to care and preventive care receipt compares to that of insured children.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Access to health care, Children, Health insurance, Preventive health services, Uninsured persons

Enroll America. 2013. Tips for talking with your patients about their new health coverage options. Washington, DC: Enroll America, 2 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for providers for their uninsured patients about enrolling, identifying next steps, and outlining easy ways to spread the word to patients that new health coverage options are available.

Contact: Enroll America, 1001 G Street, NW, 8th Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 737-6340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.enrollamerica.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Uninsured persons

Enroll America. 2013. Outreach planning 101. Washington, DC: Enroll America, 4 pp. (Outreach guide)

Annotation: This outreach guide provides ideas on how to get started on an outreach plan, tips to keep in mind to plot out strategies and materials, ways to inform people about the new health coverage options, and an outreach worksheet to track success.

Contact: Enroll America, 1001 G Street, NW, 8th Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 737-6340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.enrollamerica.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Uninsured persons

Paradise J, Garfield R. 2013. What is Medicaid’s impact on access to care, health outcomes, and quality of care?: Setting the record straight on the evidence. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 12 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief looks at what research shows overall about the difference that Medicaid makes in terms of access to care, health outcomes, and quality of care. Topics include the purpose of health insurance, who Medicaid beneficiaries are, the benefits of being enrolled in Medicaid vs. being uninsured, access to preventive and primary care, access to specialist care, emergency department use, quality of care, health center care, and hospital care.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency room data, Enrollment, Health insurance, Hospitals, Low income groups, Medicaid, Preventive health services, Primary care, Uninsured persons

Wallace SP, Torres JM, Nobari TZ, Pourat N. 2013. Undocumented and uninsured: Barriers to affordable care for immigrant populations. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund; Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 16 pp.

Annotation: This paper reviews the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act's exclusion of approximately 11 million undocumented immigrants residing in this U.S. Topics include additional financial pressures on safety-net hospitals, experiences nationally and in California with the needs of undocumented immigrants and their families, strategies for improving coverage and access for undocumented immigrants, and policy lessons from home and abroad.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Case studies, Health insurance, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, Trends, Undocumented immigrants, Uninsured persons

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Health Law Program. 2013. Health reform and insurance coverage for pregnant women. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Health Law Program,

Annotation: This webcast provides information about public and private health insurance options for pregnant women under the Affordable Care Act and before the Affordable Care Act goes into effect. Medicaid, health insurance marketplaces, and Title V programs are discussed. Advocates in Maryland and Georgia describe efforts in these two states related to coverage options for pregnant women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Eligibility, Enrollment, Georgia, Health insurance, Health reform, Legislation, Maryland, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Uninsured persons

Paradise J, Rosenbaum S, Shin P, Sharac J, Alvarez J, Ku L. 2013. Providing outreach and enrollment assistance: Lessons learned from community health centers in Massachusetts. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 5 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief outlines Massachusetts community health centers' efforts to provide outreach and enrollment assistance under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act to low-income, uninsured Americans.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health centers, Enrollment, Health insurance, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State initiatives, Uninsured persons

Chazin S, Guerra V. 2013. Impact of the Affordable Care Act on charity care programs. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 7 pp. (Policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief examines options that charity care programs (CCPs) are considering as they take into account the ramifications of the Affordable Care Act on the needs of the uninsured for access to preventive, primary, and specialty care. The brief provides background on the role of CCPs, discusses state Medicaid expansion decisions and the implications for CCPs, and reviews the need to consider shifting demographics and expected declines in the number of uninsured. Case studies are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Case studies, Eligibility, Health insurance, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Preventive health services, Primary care, Programs, State programs, Uninsured persons

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2013. Key facts about the uninsured population. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 9 pp.

Annotation: This brief answers questions about the uninsured, including why people are uninsured, trends in the uninsured, who the uninsured are, access and financial implications of not having coverage, and the likely impact of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on Medicaid and the uninsured. Extensive statistical data is included.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health insurance, Health reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Statistical data, Trends, Uninsured persons

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. Ready, set, go: ACA basics and outreach and education opportunities. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 video (53 min., 25 sec.).

Annotation: This webcast from November 2013 focuses on the health insurance coverage expansions in January 2014 under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. It includes a brief overview of the two major pathways to health care coverage for maternal and child populations and looks at strategies and resources for Maternal and Child Health Bureau grantees to help educate families and others about the new insurance options open to them for enrollment beginning on October 1, 2013. Information on the different types of consumer assistance available and a questions and answers segment is included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Health insurance, MCH services, MCH training, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Uninsured persons

Fox HB, McManus MA, Michelman AG. 2013. Many low income older adolescents likely to remain uninsured in 2014. Washington, DC: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health , 6 pp. (Fact sheet; no. 10)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the public and private health insurance protection available for low income older adolescents after the implementation of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Medicaid expansion in January 2014. It provides information on state Medicaid eligibility policies under optional coverage arrangements and discusses issues these older adolescents may fact in securing private coverage through employment and in the exchange.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Eligibility, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Trends, Uninsured persons, Young adults

Bachrach D, Dutton M. 2013. Connecting consumers to coverage: Foundations learn from the past and look to the future. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents findings on public health insurance eligibility and enrollment improvement efforts, past foundation investments, and current and historic efforts to streamline eligibility and enrollment processes. Topics include characteristics of an effective eligibility and enrollment process, the mandates and investments under federal health reform intended to improve the consumer experience of applying for or renewing publicly subsidized health insurance coverage, how foundations have supported improvements in the eligibility and enrollment processes for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program in the past and lessons learned from these efforts, and potential foundation investment priorities to ensure full use of the coverage continuum.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community participation, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foundations, Health care reform, Health insurance, Outreach, Uninsured persons