Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 2 (2 total).

Wilson K, Charmchi P, Dworetzky B. 2016. State statutes & regulations on dietary treatment disorders identified through newborn screening. Boston, MA: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, 82 pp.

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: mcomeau@bu.edu Web Site: http://cahpp.org/project/the-catalyst-center Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

U.S. Congress, Senate, Democratic Policy Committee. S.1: The Unfunded Mandate Reform Act of 1995. DPC Legislative Bulletin. pp. 1-14. January 12, 1995,

Annotation: This report, published in the "DPC Legislative Bulletin," examines the major provisions of the Unfunded Mandate Reform Act, Senate Bill 1 of the 104th Congress. The act focuses on the reform of the federal government's policies regarding unfunded mandates affecting state, local, and tribal governments. The report discusses the major provisions of the act, includes definitions, reviews exclusions, considers the major titles of the act, and provides a legislative history. It also includes a cost estimate, notes potential House actions, indicates the administration's position, and notes possible amendments to the Act.

Contact: U.S. Congress, Senate, Democratic Policy Committee, Washington, DC 20510, Telephone: (202) 224-1414 Web Site: http://dpc.senate.gov/ Available at no charge. Document Number: Publication: LB-2-General Government.

Keywords: Federal government, Government financing, Government role, Intergovernmental relations, Local government, Proposed legislation, Reform, State government, Unfunded mandates

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.