Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

Sama-Miller E, Akers L, Mraz-Esposito A, Zukiewicz M, Avellar S, Paulsell D, Del Grosso P. 2019. Home visiting evidence of effectiveness review: Executive summary and brief. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 21 pp. (OPRE report no. 2017-29)

Annotation: This document provides an overview of the Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness (HomVEE) review process and a summary of the review results. Contents include a summary of evidence of effectiveness by model and outcome domain, a summary of implementation guidelines for program models with evidence of effectiveness, and a discussion of gaps in the home visiting research literature. The appendix contains a list of the program models reviewed.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

Keywords: Home visiting, MCH research, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Effective Health Care Program. 2014. Comparative effectiveness of therapies for children with autism spectrum disorders. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2 pp. (Clinician research summary, Developmental delays: Autism spectrum disorder)

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a systematic review of research focusing on children who are at risk of being diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder (ASD) or who have already been diagnosed with ASD. The report provides background information on ASD (including statistics on prevalence in the United States and goals for treatment) and information on comparative efforts aimed at medical, behavioral, educational, and allied health interventions. Intended for clinicians, the report includes a summary of the evidence on the effectiveness or harm of various treatments, including drug therapies (rating them on a confidence scale ranging from insufficient to low, moderate, and high). The report also describes the gaps in knowledge; discusses future research needs; and suggests topics to discuss with patients. The companion web site provides links to related products including consumer information and continuing education activities.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub No. 14-EHC036-3.

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Literature reviews, Resources for professionals, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

National Institute on Drug Abuse. 2014. Principles of adolescent substance use disorder treatment: A research-based guide. Bethesda, MD: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 35 pp.

Annotation: This guide focuses on adolescent substance use -- including abuse of illicit and prescription drugs, alcohol, and tobacco -- and the special treatment needs for people ages 12-17. Topics include the principles of adolescent substance use disorder treatment, frequently asked questions, treatment settings, and evidence-based approaches to treating adolescent substance use disorders (behavioral and family-based approaches, addiction medications, and recovery support services). Treatment referral resources are included.

Contact: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, MSC 9561, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 14-7953.

Keywords: Adolescents, Evidence based medicine, Referrals, Research, Substance use disorders, Therapeutics, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Vanderbilt Evidence Based Practice Center. 2014. Smoking cessation interventions in pregnancy and postpartum care. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 88 pp., exec. summ. (12 pp.). (Evidence report/technology assessment; no. 214)

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub no. 14-E001-EF.

Keywords: Interventions, Literature reviews, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Panel on Antiretroviral Guidelines for Adults and Adolescents. 2014. Guidelines for the use of antiretroviral agents in HIV-1-infected adults and adolescents. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 1 v.

Annotation: This guideline focuses on the optimal use of antiretroviral (ARV) agents for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection in adults and adolescents in the United States. Contents include information on the scope of the guideline, methodology for collecting the evidence that the guideline is based on, and recommendations for treatment. Companion documents and client resources are also included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, National Guideline Clearinghouse, 5600 Fishers Lane * * * DEFUNCT * * *, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.guideline.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adults, Communicable diseases, Cost effectiveness, Drug therapy, Guidelines, HIV: Adolescents, Patient care, Pregnant women, Safety, Treatment effectiveness, Virus diseases

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2014. Low-dose aspirin for the prevention of morbidity and mortality from preeclampsia: Preventive medication. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of recommendations and evidence on the use of low-dose aspirin as preventive medication after 12 weeks of gestation in women who are at high risk for preeclampsia. Additional contents include the rationale, and clinical and other considerations.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Preeclampsia, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health. 2014. Case study: The effect of expanding cessation coverage–The Massachusetts Medicaid cessation benefit. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document describes a program in Massachusetts to provide cessation benefits through Medicaid and its impact on smoking prevalence, hospitalizations, and return on investment. Topics include the health burden and costs of tobacco use, recommended interventions, key features of Massachusetts' cessation program, opportunities to offer cessation benefits to all smokers, and the role of state public health officials in cessation efforts.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Cost effectiveness, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Smoking cessation, State initiatives, Tobacco use, Treatment effectiveness evaluation, Universal health care

National Institutes of Health. 2013. Patient Reported Measurement Information System (PROMIS). Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This system provides clinicians and researchers access to validated adult- and child-reported (self-reported) measures of health and well–being. Contents include tools to measure what clients are able to do and how they feel by asking questions. Information about the system methodology (publications and presentations, data, review, and testing); software; and related resources is also included.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Clinics, Forms, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Quality assurance, Questionnaires, Research, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Bethell C, Gombojav N, Stumbo S, Brown C, Blumberg S, Carle A, Newacheck PW. 2013. Using the National Health Interview Survey and Medical Expenditure Panel Survey to assess the use and impact of complementary and alternative medicine among children in the United States: A meta-data methods key issues report. Portland, OR: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, 29 pp.

Annotation: This report describes key methodological aspects and issues to consider when using the 2007 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) data files and the linked file of the 2007 NHIS and the 2008 Medical Expenditure Panel Survey to evaluate use and impact of complementary and alternative medicine among children in the United States. Topics include weighting, sample size and limits of the linked data sets, validity evaluation, and variable construction using currently available population-based data files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Child health, Data, National surveys, Research methodology, Treatment effectiveness evaluation, Utilization review

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2012-. Registries of programs effective in reducing youth risk behaviors. Atlanta, GA: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health,

Annotation: This resource identifies registries of child- and adolescent-related programs recommended by federal agencies on the basis of expert opinion or a review of design and research evidence. The programs focus on different health topics, risk behaviors, and settings. Some, but not all, of the programs have shown evidence in reducing youth risk behaviors.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Cost effectiveness, Evidence based health care, Health behavior, Intervention, Model programs, Prevention programs, Registries, School age children, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Lewis RM, McKoy JN, Andrews JC, Jerome RN, Likis FE, Surawicz TS, Walker SH, Hartmann KE. 2012. Future research needs for strategies to reduce cesarean birth in low-risk women: Identification of future research needs from comparative effectiveness review no. 80. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Effective Health Care Program, 27 pp. (Future research needs paper; no. 22)

Annotation: This report presents results from a multistep process for identifying, multiplying, and prioritizing research questions to advance research in the area of strategies to reduce cesarean birth in women at low risk. Contents include an actionable list of research topics to fill specific knowledge gaps. Topics include standardization strategies for induction and arrest of labor, systems-level strategies, and staffing models.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 12(13)-EHC131-EF.

Link

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Comparative analysis, Health care systems, Models, Research, Standards, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

2011-. Reports to Congress. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, annual.

Annotation: This annual report identifies gaps in the evidence base on the effectiveness of clinical preventive services for adults and children and recommends priority areas that deserve further research. Topics include high priority evidence gaps for screening tests, behavioral interventions, and clinical preventive services targeting specific populations and age groups. Next steps and a conclusion are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adult health, Child health, Cost effectiveness, Evidence based health care, Prevention services, Research, Treatment effectiveness

Vanderbilt Evidence-Based Practice Center. 2011. Therapies for children with autism spectrum disorders. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, ca. 900 pp. (Comparative effectiveness review; no. 26)

Annotation: This report summarizes a systematic review of studies focusing on therapies for children with autism spectrum disorders (ASD), including behavioral, educational, medical, allied health, and complementary and alternative medicine interventions. The report describes the analytical framework and literature review methods and summarizes the evidence of effectiveness for each form of therapy. Specific outcome measures are presented in separate tables. The appendices include sample data abstraction forms; search strings used the results of the searches; lists of peer reviews and excluded studies; and a discussion of recent systematic reviews of therapies for children with ASDs.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 11-EHC029-EF.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Autism, Literature reviews, Research, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Meyers D, Peikes D, Lundquist DS, Genevro J. 2011. Improving evaluations of the medical home. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 4 pp. (Patient-Centered Medical Home Decisionmaker Brief)

Annotation: This brief highlights six key recommendations for evaluators and those considering commissioning evaluations of the patient-centered medical home model. Contents include the rationale and examples in practice for each recommendation. The brief accompanies a white paper on this topic, which is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 11-0091.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Evidence based health care, Medical home, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Quantitative evaluation, Research design, Research methodology, Treatment effectiveness

Peikes D, Dale S, Lundquist E, Genevro J, Meyers D. 2011. Building the evidence base for the medical home: What sample and sample size do studies need?. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 46 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides suggestions for generating evidence on the effects of the patient-centered medical home (PCMH) model. The paper focuses on quantitative evaluations designed to measure effectiveness. Topics include accounting for clustering inherent in effectiveness research, determining what effect sizes a given study can expect to detect, approximating the number of clients and practices required to detect policy-relevant yet achievable effects, and varying the outcomes and types of clients included in the analyses to improve a study's ability to detect true effects. An accompanying brief highlights key recommendations for evaluators and those considering commissioning evaluations of the PCMH model.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 11-0100-EF.

Terzian M, Hamilton K, Ericson S. 2011. What works to prevent or reduce internalizing problems of socio-emotional difficulties in adolescents: Lessons from experimental evaluations of social interventions. Washington, DC: Child Trends, 11 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes lessons learned from rigorously evaluated programs designed to prevent or treat internalizing problems in adolescents. Topics include what internalizing problems were found and what impacts were found, including interventions that were found to work, those that had mixed findings, and those not proven to work. Implications of the findings and needed research are also discussed. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Mental health programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Treatment effectiveness

Johnson CB, Witgert KE. 2010. Enhanced pregnancy packages: Worth another look. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 11 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief examines the role that enhanced pregnancy benefits plays in achieving good health outcomes for mothers and infants and provides an update on the states using specific enhanced pregnancy benefits to assist pregnant women on Medicaid. It includes a discussion of surveys documenting enhanced pregnancy benefits in Medicaid programs; the current status of enhanced pregnancy benefits; and the evidence for the effectiveness of enhanced benefits such as prenatal risk assessment, home visits, dental care, health education, psychosocial counseling, smoking cessation programs, substance abuse treatment, targeted case management, and nutritional counseling. Descriptions of funding opportunities outside of Medicaid Programs and examples of state enhanced pregnancy benefit programs demonstrating positive health results for women and infants are provided.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Financing, Infant health services, Maternal health services, Medicaid, Model programs, Policy, Pregnant women, Social programs, State MCH programs, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Barzel R, Holt K, with the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors' Fluorides Committee. 2010. Fluoride varnish: An effective tool for preventing dental caries. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This review provides information about the effectiveness and safety of fluoride varnishes in preventing dental caries in children and adolescents and examines factors potentially modifying their effect. The review presents a summary of findings, background, objectives, methods, results, and a discussion. Implications for practice are presented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Dental caries, Fluorides, Health services delivery, Oral health, Product safety, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Treatment effectiveness

Society for Research in Child Development. 2009. Report of Healthy Development: A Summit on Young Children's Mental Health–Partnering with communication scientists, collaborating across disciplines and leveraging impact to promote children's mental health. Washington, DC: Society for Research in Child Development, 52 pp.

Annotation: This report represents discussions among participants in a summit held on April 1, 2009, in Denver, Colorado, to review and prioritize available scientific information on children's mental health. The content is organized into the following categories: executive summary, overview, proceedings, overarching themes, identifying other stakeholders, and the way forward. Topics include communication science, the basics of early childhood mental health, early childhood mental health policy, the importance of mental health and normal child development, everyday challenges for parents, prevention opportunities in child mental health, and effective treatment for childhood mental health problems. The summit history and agenda, biosketches and feedback from participants, and related resources are included as appendices.

Contact: Society for Research in Child Development, , 2950 South State Street, Suite 401, Ann Arbor, MI 48104, Telephone: (734) 926-0600 Fax: (734) 926-0601 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.srcd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child mental health, Communication, Early childhood development, Health policy, Parenting, Primary prevention, Research reviews, Treatment effectiveness

Food and Drug Administration. 2009. Class II special controls guidance document: Dental amalgam, mercury, and amalgam alloy–Guidance for industry and FDA staff. Washington, DC: Food and Drug Administration,

Annotation: This guidance documents safety and effectiveness assurances for dental amalgam, mercury, or amalgam alloy that manufacturers must address before they can market the device. Contents include background, scope, describing the device in a 510(k) premarket notification, risks to health, composition and performance data, biocompatibility, and labeling for dental professionals.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental care, Marketing, Oral health, Product safety, Regulations, Risk management, Treatment effectiveness