Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet provides tips to help parents of adolescents with special health care needs support their sons' and daughters' transition into adulthood.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents with special health care needs, Parenting, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This website includes information for families about changes that occur when a child with a disability or with special health care needs becomes a legal adult. Teaching your child how to navigate the health care system and encouraging them to become actively involved in their medical care are among the topics explored in video and e-publication formats.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Teen Health Site

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education, School to work transitions, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents recommendations to strengthen the primary care workforce for young adults with medical complexity (YAMC) by promoting and increasing the supply of well-prepared adult primary care physicians for YAMC transitioning to adult care. Included is an overview of the YAMC population and the current care landscape, including health workforce and financing consideration. The recommendations were developed by a national advisory committee established by the National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health/Got Transition and the George Washington University Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity.

Contact: George Washington University , Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity , 2175 K Street, NW, Suite 250, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: https://www.gwhwi.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Primary care, Professional education, Professional training, Program improvement, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This tip sheet for professionals providing transition services in pediatric and adult primary and specialty care settings summarizes innovative transition payment models. Contents include alternative payment methodologies and transition-related CPT codes and corresponding Medicare fees. Enhanced fee-for-service payments, pay-for-performance, capitation, bundled payments, shared savings, and administrative or infrastructure payments are among the topics covered.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• 2022

Keywords: Adolescents, Financing, Model programs, Pediatric care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This guide contains a step-by-step approach for state Medicaid and managed care organizations (MCOs) as well as commercial payers interested in starting a value-based payment (VBP) initiative around pediatric-to-adult transitional care. The document presents six steps in establishing a VBP initiative, as well as issues and strategies to consider, tips, and examples from managed care organizations.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Medicaid, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This transition payment tip sheet is produced by Got Transition and the American Academy of Pediatrics in order to support the delivery of recommended transition services in pediatric and adult care settings. The tip sheet begins with a listing of transition-related CPT codes and corresponding Medicare fees and relative value units (RVUs), effective as of 2022. The resource also includes a set of clinical vignettes with recommended CPT and ICD coding, as well as detailed coding descriptions for each transition-related code.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Financing, Model programs, Pediatric care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This systematic review provides the results of an analysis of the evidence base for care interventions, implementation strategies, and between-provider communication tools among children with special health care needs who are making the transition from pediatric to adult medical care services. Several databases were searched to identify studies published through September 2021; gray literature searches were also conducted in order to identify additional resources relevant to the topic. The publication is divided into 12 chapters and includes tables, figures, and appendixes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Literature reviews, Research reviews, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This website provides a platform for the aging and disability communities to post information and resources about the home and community-based services (HCBS) settings rule and steps each state is making to comply with the rule. Contents include resources, dates and deadlines, documents, news, and other information organized by state. Additional contents include official resources and information from the federal government about the HCBS rule including guidance and a settings requirements and compliance toolkit.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Compliance, Disabilities, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Information sources, Medicaid, Networking, Public private partnerships, Transition planning

Annotation: This toolkit offers pediatric and adult medical professionals sample content that can be used to facilitate transfer to adult care, as well as a sample resource for the transferring young adult that explains the telehealth visit. The two tip sheets are designed to be used as a general guide for the agenda of the joint telehealth visit, and both can be customized to the practice and young adult and family situation. Additional resources include a practice script example and a link to Got Transition's Six Core Elements of Health Care Transition.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents information about state Title V transition strategies and evidence-informed measures. Contents include an executive summary and recommendations, examples of innovative transition strategies, and information about a new transition measure from the National Survey of Children's Health that will be used to report state and national transition performance. [Supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Measures, Program development, Program planning, State programs, Transition planning, Transitions

Annotation: This report summarizes the health care transition (HCT) strategies that Title V agencies documented in their 2021 applications and 2019 annual reports. The document highlights examples of states' HCT innovations and offers recommendations for future health care transition strategies in state Title V action plans.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal agencies, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This resource describes the basic components of a structured transition process and includes customizable sample tools for each core element and an implementation package for each type of practice. They are tailored to the type of practice facilitating the health care transition in these areas: (1) transitioning youth to an adult health care clinician, for use by pediatric, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians; (2) transitioning to an adult approach to health care without changing clinicians, for use by family medicine and med-peds clinicians; and (3) integrating young adults into adult health care, for use by internal medicine, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians. A summary chart describes the three sets of tools and six elements. The materials are available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This document describes contract language options states can use to provide for the availability of pediatric-to-adult transitional care, in the areas of definitions, member services and education, provider networks, covered services, care coordination, and quality and evaluation. Appendices list actual 2018/2019 contract language on the same topics from selected states. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This webinar highlights the Bright Futures health supervision guidelines that correlate to national performance measure (NPM) 11-- the percent of children who have a medical home -- and NPM 12-- the percent of children who successfully transition to adult health care. Included are state implementation stories, collaborative efforts, statewide strategies, resources, and tools that address NPMs 11 and 12.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Guidelines, Health promotion, Measures, Medical home, Transition planning

Annotation: This toolkit for clinicians provides suggested questions and anticipatory guidance specific to adolescents' transition to adult health care, and is meant to be used alongside Bright Futures. It covers early adolescence (11-14 years) through early adulthood (22-25 years), and includes transition and preventive health care guidance. It is aimed at the entire health care team. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Self care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This book addresses aspects of transitioning from pediatric to adult health care for adolescents and young adults with chronic illness or disability. It includes a framework, tools, and case-based examples to inform developing and evaluating a health-care-transition (HCT)-planning program that can be implemented regardless of an individual’s disease or disability. Selected topics include defining successful transition, financing transition, special issues in transition, and models of HCT programs. One chapter provides an overview of the Dental Education in the Care of Persons with Disabilities Program at the University of Washington School of Dentistry.

Contact: Springer, 233 Spring Street, New York, NY 10013, Telephone: (212) 460-1572 Fax: (212) 620-8442 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springer.com Order from the website for a charge.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Oral health, Transition planning, Transitions

Annotation: This document provides guidance on developing state plans for implementing the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) in ways that support student health and wellness. Topics include engaging stakeholders in a way that ensures an effective ESSA state plan is developed and implemented; implementing a state accountability system and creating a school report card that supports the health and learning connection; integrating health and wellness into standards, assessments, and a well-rounded education; integrating student learning through staff wellness and professional development; supporting the transition from early childhood programs to elementary school; transferring funding to strengthen ESSA health and wellness programming; the Student Support and Academic Enrichment grant; and looking ahead. For each topic, the document outlines why it's important, what the law says, action steps, and resources. An overview of ESSA is included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Accountability, Adolescent health, Case studies, Child health, Federal initiatives, Financing, Grants, Learning, Needs Assessment, Organizational change, Policy development, School age children, School health programs, Schools, Service integration, Standards, Statewide planning, Students, Transitions

Annotation: This online course offers a brief review of clinical recommendations on transition and a tested quality improvement model. It also features physicians in pediatric, family medicine, and internal medicine practices in the District of Columbia who successfully implemented core elements of health care transition using quality improvement methodologies.

Contact: Health Services for Children with Special Needs, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-2737 Secondary Telephone: (866) 937-4549 Fax: (202) 466-8514 Web Site: http://www.hscsn-net.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Distance education, Multimedia, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transitions, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This report examines state Title V action plans for fiscal year 2016 and summarizes objectives and strategies for increasing the percentage of adolescents with and without special health care needs who receive services necessary to make transitions to adult health care. It also contains suggestions for states to consider as they refine and update their transition objectives and evidence-informed strategies as part of their state action plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Community action, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Title V programs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living