Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

• Program Web Site

Keywords: Child welfare, Children', Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma, s mental health

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This Trainee Toolkit is designed to provide current and former trainees, training programs, and MCH stakeholders with online and downloadable resources in one convenient location. It contains links to comprehensive, easy-to-use web pages; downloadable resources to orient the reader to the Training Program; and a list of frequently used acronyms relevant to trainees.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Resources for professionals, Training programs

Annotation: This training is designed to ensure that school-based dental sealant program staff have a thorough understanding of the history, operations, and underlying fundamentals of these programs. The training provides detailed guidelines for infection control in school-based programs; discusses tooth selection and assessment for dental sealants; reviews the dental-sealant-application process; and provides information about program operations. Post-tests are available with options for a completion certificate or for two continuing education credits for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in Ohio. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Dental sealants, Distance education, Ohio, Oral health, School based management, School health programs, School personnel, Training

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This paper provides background on how community health centers (CHCs) can collaborate with academic institutions, residency programs, and other training programs to offer service-learning opportunities and foster increased interest in CHC careers among the next generation of the oral health workforce. The paper discusses a range of collaborative program models and considerations for CHCs related to developing an academic and/or training partnership. Also discussed are the benefits of academic partnerships, characteristics of successful partnerships, and challenges. A planning checklist is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinics, Collaboration, Oral heath, Program planning, Programs, Service learning, Training programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources to help communities build a youth mentoring program. It describes the benefits of mentoring programs, the various types, and the factors to consider when setting up such a program. Individual sections focus on the following: Building youth mentoring programs; recruiting mentors for your programs; training adult mentors; recruiting youth to your mentoring program; building youth/menor relationships; youth goal setting: and soliciting feedback. The toolkit also includes checklists, examples of actionable steps, mentoring applications, and powerpoint slides summarizing key points.

Contact: University of Kansas, Work Group for Community Health and Development, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Dole Center, Room 4082, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-0533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://communityhealth.ku.edu

• Link

Keywords: Aolescents, Mentors, Model programs, Program development, Recruitment, Training, Training materials, Youth

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This brief provides information about certification programs for community health workers (CHWs) and describes what services CHWs can provide. The brief provides background and discusses how states can determine whether and how to pursue certification. An interactive map showing whether each state has a state-operated program, a privately operated program, a program under development, a program under consideration, or no program is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health, Community health workers, Health care disparities, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Training

Annotation: This compendium presents programs designed to improve access to high-quality oral health care in rural communities and shares best practices related to providing oral health services in these communities. It is divided into topic areas: workforce development and training, care integration, telehealth, clinical practice, and policy and national models. Each topic area highlights specific programs and provides information on the program purpose, a program summary, and information on the program’s efficacy and impact.

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealth.us Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2017 Edition

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Programs, Public policy, Rural population, Telemedicine, Training

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This video provides information about the Healthy Texas Smiles for Moms and Babies project. The project trains home visitors on how to help pregnant women understand the importance of taking care of their oral health. The project also trains home visitors on how to teach mothers to take care of their infant’s mouth after birth. The video shows home visitors in various settings interacting with pregnant women and their families and providing them with oral health education in their homes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• Link

Keywords: Home visits, Infant health, MCH training, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Texas, Videotapes

Annotation: This document is intended for MCH interdisciplinary training programs, national, state, and local health agencies, and other MCH organizations. It is designed to support new and practicing MCH professionals by: (1) defining MCH leadership; (2) describing how the MCH Leadership Competencies can be used by a variety of audiences; (3) providing a conceptual framework for the development of an MCH leader;(4) outlining the knowledge and skill areas required of MCH leaders; and (5) linking to tools for implementation. The website includes the competencies document and links to related resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH training, Professional education, Public health, Standards

Annotation: In this podcast leaders from two (Tulane University and University of Minnesota) of eight programs who participated in the 2017 diversity and health equity learning collaborative explore how to meaningfully engage trainees and how to institutionalize and sustain their efforts. A transcript, an overview and case studies are also available.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, MCH training programs, Video recordings, Work force

Annotation: These tools are designed to help primary care physicians reduce the incidence of dental caries in early childhood by conducting oral health risk assessments, providing anticipatory guidance, applying fluoride varnish, and referring children to a dental home by age 1. Contents include information about fluoride varnish products and vendors; program participation, certification, and billing; presentation slides and handouts; and educational materials about oral health in infants, young children, and pregnant women. A training course is also available.

Contact: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501 Dexter Avenue, P.O. Box 5624, Montgomery, AL 36103-5624, Telephone: (334) 242-5000 Web Site: http://medicaid.alabama.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Training Course

Keywords: Alabama, Anticipatory guidance, Continuing education, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Risk assessment, Screening, State programs, Training, Young children

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children