Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Annotation: This unpublished document contains a set of 4 teaching modules: (1) Ethnicity and Healthy Birth Outcomes; (2) Ethnicity and Genetic Disease; (3) Culture and AIDS Prevention in Adolescents; and (4) Using the Internet in Maternal and Child Health. Each of the modules contains lesson objectives; a suggested reading list followed by a section of summaries; and suggested assignments and class presentations geared towards the objectives discussed at the beginning of each module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Internet, MCH training, Maternal health

Annotation: This tool kit, geared toward program facilitators and volunteer educators, provides methods for bringing the Breaking the Silence program to communities. The purpose of the program is to break the silence about mental illness in schools. The toolkit provides a background on Breaking the Silence, the rationale for mental illness education, information about how to organize and fund a local program, how to enlist and train volunteers, and materials documenting the success of Breaking the Silence. The program is intended for use in upper elementary, middle, and high school classrooms.

Contact: National Alliance for the Mentally Ill Queens/Nassau, 1981 Marcus Avenue, C-117, Lake Success, NY 11042, Telephone: (516) 326-0797 Secondary Telephone: (718) 347-7284 Fax: (516) 437-5785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nami.org/MSTemplate.cfm?MicrositeID=241 Available from the website after registration.

• Description

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communities, Health education, Mental disorders, Mental health, Resource materials, Schools, Training

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: This report recounts the development of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's (UNC-CH's) dental public health education program from its inception in 1936 through 2016. The report provides an overview of public health education and describes the beginnings of dental public health education at UNC-CH and the launch of the university's Institute of Public Health Dentistry, laying the foundation for a resurgence of training in dental public health, and UNC-CH's short courses in dental public health. Also discussed are the North Carolina Dental Public Health Residency Program, degree programs in public health dentistry at UNC-CH, and oral health research conducted at the Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Contact: University of North Carolina Press, 116 South Boundary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808, Telephone: (919) 966-3561 Fax: (919) 966-3829 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://uncpress.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Higher education, History, North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Research, State materials, Training

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources to help communities build a youth mentoring program. It describes the benefits of mentoring programs, the various types, and the factors to consider when setting up such a program. Individual sections focus on the following: Building youth mentoring programs; recruiting mentors for your programs; training adult mentors; recruiting youth to your mentoring program; building youth/menor relationships; youth goal setting: and soliciting feedback. The toolkit also includes checklists, examples of actionable steps, mentoring applications, and powerpoint slides summarizing key points.

Contact: University of Kansas, Work Group for Community Health and Development, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Dole Center, Room 4082, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-0533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://communityhealth.ku.edu

• Link

Keywords: Aolescents, Mentors, Model programs, Program development, Recruitment, Training, Training materials, Youth

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This resource summarized the health equity framework developed by the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health Community Care Initiative (AIM CCI) and provides access to a racial equity series (RELS) comprised of seven web based learning modules. Each module contains topic information, activities, and a short, scored quiz designed to build upon the former module. Topics include acknowledgement and acceptance of racism, institutional transformation, and personal/systemic change. A fact sheet about the modules, answers to frequently asked questions, and a user's leadership manual can be downloaded from the website.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Health equity, Racial factors, Racism, Training materials

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; and oral health for older adults. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This guide describes a training for professionals in Wisconsin that combines oral health information with conversation techniques for discussing oral health with pregnant women and parents of infants and toddlers. The training consists of four modules: (1) oral health conversations, (2) oral health for infants and toddlers, (3) oral health for pregnant women, and (4) oral health goal setting with families. Each module includes reflection activities and videos that demonstrate how to guide an oral health discussion with pregnant women and parents. The guide also explains how to register for the training. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Communication skills, Families, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Professional training, State Initiatives, Training materials, Wisconsin

Annotation: This resource presents learning opportunities to assist MCH professionals in developing strategic steps to advance health equity in their health departments. It includes an introduction, 10 individual strategies, and a wrap up. Strategies include (1) expand understanding of diversity; (2) reflect on your organization; (3) explore within the community (4) partner with communities; (5) foster agency and collective action; (6) develop a holistic understanding; (7) identify and collect data; (8) work with stakeholders; )9) be accountable to outcomes; and (10) celebrate success. Examples from the field are included.

Contact: MCH Navigator, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchnavigator.org/

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity. MCH training, Health status disparities, Training materials

Annotation: This training series covers the principles of infection prevention and control that form the basis of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommendations for oral health settings. The series is divided into 10 modules. The series covers the following topics: introduction, hand hygiene, personal protective equipment, respiratory hygiene and cough etiquette, sharps safety, safe injection practices, sterilization and disinfection, environmental infection prevention and control, dental unit water quality, and program evaluation. Each module includes a slide set and speaker notes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Infection control, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Training materials

Annotation: These online, self-directed, training modules on the care of children with sleep disorders include an introduction/background, interactive case scenarios and resources & tools. Users first learn about each condition and the role of interdisciplinary team members in the comprehensive care of children with this condition. They then indicate how they would proceed with screening, diagnosis, treatment and/or referral. Expert insights and feedback are provided on the options chosen. The modules cover introduction to sleep health; pediatric insomnia; sleep disordered breathing; parasomnias; hypersomnolence disorder; and movement disorders. CME credit information is included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Pediatric Pulmonary Centers, Web Site: https://ppc.mchtraining.net/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Resources for professionals, Sleep disorders, Training materials

Annotation: This training is designed to help health workers teach pregnant women about the importance of oral health and the safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy and to provide pregnant women with resources to enable them to find affordable local oral health care. For each topic, suggestions about how to communicate effectively with pregnant women are included, along with case examples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Access to health care, Communication, Oral health, Pregnant women, Training materials

Annotation: This training contains five modules for health professionals and their staff about oral health and children. The modules cover tooth decay, caries risk assessment, anticipatory guidance, the benefits of fluoride and fluoridated water, and fluoride varnish and other strategies for integrating oral health care into primary care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecting Smiles, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2100 Bull Street, Charleston, SC 29201, Web Site: https://connectingsmilessc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Fluoride, Oral health, Professional education, Service Integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Training materials

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This interactive toolkit allows users to learn from participants in the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network to Reduce Infant Mortality (Infant Mortality CoIIN). Organized by topics from the initiative, this toolkit features change ideas, case studies, videos and key insights from teams who are working to reduce infant mortality throughout the country.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant mortality, Materials for professionals, Prevention programs, Training materials

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force