Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website provides an introduction to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks that individuals may encounter in everyday life and in everyday places. Users can use the neighborhoods page to learn about the location of chemicals and their related health risks. Additional contents include curriculum units and other resources that teachers can use to stimulate classroom learning about environmental-health-related issues and careers. The resource is available in English and Spanish. A text version is also available.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chemicals, Curricula, Environmental health, Health occupations, Multimedia, Neighborhoods, Risk factors, Toxicology

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of environmental toxicants with regard to preconception and perinatal health, summarizes efforts to inform women and health care providers, outlines possible strategies for increasing awareness and surveillance efforts, and identifies resources for additional information for public health professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fetal development, Pregnant women, Reproduction, Toxicology

Annotation: This toolkit for health professionals focuses on the public health challenges of clandestine methamphetamine laboratories (meth labs). The content is presented in two parts. The first part contains a primer on meth and clandestine meth labs, information sheets on different segments of the population affected by meth, a community action guide, and a resource directory. The second part contains information on acute meth lab exposures and toxicity, evaluation of children exposed to meth labs, and environmental considerations in cleaning up meth labs. The toolkit is available as an electronic document or on CD-ROM.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org Available from the website; also available on CD-ROM.

• Link

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Guidelines, Illicit drugs, Laboratories, Legal issues, Methamphetamines, Oral health, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: This book examines the role of poison control services within the context of the larger public health system, the injury prevention and control field, and the fields of general medical care and medical and clinical toxicology. It also examines how poison control centers function relative to the functions performed by other health care agencies and government organizations at the federal, state, and local levels. The book, which includes an executive summary, is presented in three parts. Part 1 provides an overview of the Institute of Medicine's Committee on Poison Prevention and Control's proposal for a future poison prevention and control system. Part 2 reviews the historical development of the poison control network, the current status of poisoning as a public health problem, and the principal functional elements of the system. Part 3 summarizes arguments for a new poison prevention control system by focusing on the committee's conclusions and recommendations. Statistical information and other information is presented in tables and figures throughout the book. Two appendices include a list of contributors and committee and staff biographies. The book also includes a list of references and an index. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09194-2.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Health agencies, Health care systems, Injury prevention, Local government, Poison control centers, Poisoning, Public health, State government, Toxicology

Annotation: This book reviews the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) standards related to fluoridated drinking water, examines the health effects of ingested fluoride, and addresses the question of whether the maximum contaminant level of 4 milligrams (mg) of fluoride per liter of drinking water is appropriate. The report discusses various kinds of toxicity that have been attributed to fluoride ingestion, including dental fluorosis; bone fracture; reproductive, renal, gastrointestinal, and immunologic toxicities; genotoxicity; and carcinogenicity. The report also assesses the EPA drinking water standard for fluoride to determine whether it is protective of public health. The document is intended for use by EPA in deciding whether to maintain or revise its drinking water standard for fluoride.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-08668-4.

• Link

Keywords: Carcinogens, Fluorides, Fractures, Oral health, Standards, Toxicology, Water

Annotation: This report gives the findings of an investigation that had these goals: 1) identify the environmental chemicals that are of high concern as reproductive and developmental toxicants, 2) determine the extent to which these chemicals are regulated by the federal government, 3) assess the degree to which these regulatory actions are based on reproductive and developmental toxicity, and 4) evaluate whether the regulatory protection currently provided to the public against reproductive and developmental disease is sufficient. It also presents recommendations to further the prevention of illnesses in American children caused by the chemicals.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-92-3.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Fetal development, Regulations, Reproduction, Toxicology