Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Project Model Health (PMH) was an innovative adolescent health promotion project targeting students in grades 7-9. PMH had behavioral objectives in the areas of nutrition, marijuana use, drinking and driving, tobacco use, and sexuality. The strategies used during 32-37 hours of classroom instruction were taken from recent research on effective adolescent health promotion and substance abuse prevention programming. The strategies included: use of college-age role models as instructors; focus on analyzing media messages; practice of peer refusal skills; feedback of peer norm information; emphasis on short-term effects of behavior; use of public commitments; and health advocacy behavior. The evaluation of PMH included extensive, qualitative process evaluation examining the actual implementation of the program as well as a quasi-experimental outcome evaluation. Assuming future follow-up fails to show significant outcome differences between instructor-led and teacher-led PMH, it was recommended to use carefully selected teachers rather than college-age instructors. Based on these promising results, further implementation and evaluation of the PMH approach and curriculum was recommended. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103316.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Health promotion, Impaired driving, Marijuana, Nutrition, Sexuality, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website outlines the Food and Drug Administration's Youth Tobacco Prevention Plan—a series of actions designed to help prevent youth from using tobacco products, especially e-cigarettes. The plan focuses on three key areas: (1) preventing youth access to tobacco products; (2) curbing marketing of tobacco products aimed at youth; and (3) educating teens about the dangers of using any tobacco product, including e-cigarettes, as well as educating retailers about their key role in protecting youth.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Prevention, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This website describes INDEPTH (Intervention for Nicotine Dependence: Education, Prevention, Tobacco and Health), an alternative to student suspension or citation that helps schools and communities address the teenage vaping/tobacco use problem in a supportive way. Rather than focus solely on punitive measures, the INDEPTH interactive program teaches students about nicotine dependence and helps them establish healthy alternatives to tobacco use. The site explains how the program works, provides evidence of it's effectiveness, and describes how to start an INDEPTH program.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link
• Pilot Evaluation Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, School linked programs , Smoking Cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website describes a tobacco cessation program designed specifically for teenagers. The program emphasizes the importance of total health and encourages teens to break their nicotine dependence through a series of interactive learning strategies based on Social Cognitive Theory of behavior change. The site describes how the program works, highlights its effectiveness, outlines the content of each session, and explains how individuals or organizations can start their own program. A self-guided online adaptation of the Not On Tobacco (N-O-T)® program is also described.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Smoking cessation, Substance use behavior, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel children, adolescents, and young adults about tobacco use. It includes information about smoking and vaping. It also presents ideas for providing tobacco-use-related screening, guidance, and treatment appropriate for patients of different ages, beginning at age 5.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 2 Lafayette Street, 20th Floor, CN-65, New York, NY 10007, Telephone: (212) 676-2188 E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cigarettes, Counseling, Oral health, Screening, Smoking, Tobacco use, Treatment, Young adults

Annotation: This website describes the Know the Risk campaign, highlighting the health risks associated with the use of electronic cigaretttes, the uptick in the use of e-cigarettes among young people, and action steps that can be taken to help reduce the number of young people who use e-cigarettes. Prevention tips for parents; a public service announcement on the risks associated with nicotine; and a Surgeon General’s advisory on e-cigarette use among youth are included on the site. Additional materials include a print add, PSA video, conversation cards.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• Link
• Surgeon General's Advisory

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Media campaigns, Nicotine, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral hygiene home care practices in the United States. It presents the results of a survey of adults conducted to learn about oral hygiene habits, lifestyle choices, and socioeconomic factors that may affect oral health. The brief discusses brushing and flossing frequency; influences of food- and beverage-related behaviors and tobacco use on oral hygiene practices at home; and the influence of dental insurance type on brushing and flossing behaviors. Statistical information is presented according to age group, gender, and race and ethnicity.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Age factors, Dental insurance, Ethnic factors, Gender, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides data for Rhode Island public middle and high school students (grades 6–12) on self-reported oral health concerns and receipt of dental care. Data is from the 2021 Rhode Island Youth Risk Behavior Survey. Survey questions are presented. Topics include students who teeth or mouth has been sore once or more during the past 12 months, students who were self-conscious or embarrassed because of their teeth or mouth during the past 12 months, and students who visited a dentist during the past 12 months. Results are stratified by sex, age group, race/ethnicity, and current tobacco use.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Data, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State information, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help oral health professionals in California integrate tobacco-cessation interventions into routine oral health care. It provides tools and evidence-based resources that oral health professionals can use or share with their patients who use tobacco. Information is offered on trends in tobacco products and use in California, oral health professionals’ role in tobacco cessation, tobacco dependence and the benefits of quitting, and FDA-approved medications for tobacco cessation. Brief interventions for use in dental settings are included.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 707 Parnassus Ave., San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 502-5800 Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Webinar Companion To The Toolkit

Keywords: California, Intervention, Oral health, Smoking cessation, State materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report highlights the high rate of e-cigarette use among gay, lesbian, and bisexual (LGB) youth; explains how the tobacco industry targets sexual and gender minorities; and calls for action to be taken to help eliminate disparities and reduce the rate of vaping among this group of young people. Recommendations include evaluating tobacco control policies, improving data collection, conducting additional research, addressing mental health concerns, and ensuring access to cessation services for the LGBT community.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health disparities, Mental health, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Trends, Youth

Annotation: This resource provides clinical preventive services recommendations related to tobacco smoking cessation in adults including pregnant women. Topics include behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions. Contents include the full recommendation statement; supporting documents including the final research plan, evidence review, and evidence summary; a clinical summary; and related information for consumers and health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This curriculum, designed for use with students in kindergarten through grade 2, grades 3-5, and grades 6–10, is intended to help students learn how to take care of their mouths and practice healthy habits that promote oral health. The curriculum, which consists of animated videos, discusses consuming healthy foods and drinks, the importance of healthy teeth, preventing tooth decay, toothbrushing, flossing, tobacco use, and lowering risk for oral disease. The curriculum is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: North Carolina Dental Society, c/o Faye Marley, Executive Director, 1600 Evans Rd., Cary, NC 27513, Telephone: (919) 677-1396 Fax: (919) 677-1397 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncdental.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Curricula, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Risk factors, School age children, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides recommendations, evidence, and related items for primary care clinicians to provide interventions, including education or brief counseling, to prevent initiation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents. It updates the 2013 recommendations and reviews the evidence on the effectiveness of primary care interventions on the rates of initiation or cessation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents and on health outcomes, such as respiratory health, oral health, and adult smoking. It also provides new recommendations for interventions and identifies research needs and gaps.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• 2020
• 2013

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, School age children, Tobacco use

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This Surgeon General’s report examines the effectiveness of various smoking cessation tools and resources; reviews the health effects of smoking and catalogues the improvements to health that can occur when smokers quit; highlights important new data on populations in which the prevalence of smoking is high and quit rates are low; and identifies gaps in the availability and utilization of programs, policies, and resources that can improve cessation rates and help smokers quit.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Passive smoking, Research, Risk taking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This publication provides sample language and ideas for evidence-based solutions and information on alternative measures that may be more effective than suspension and expulsion at addressing student tobacco use and nicotine addiction as part of a school’s Commercial Tobacco-Free Policy. It explains why nicotine is particularly harmful to adolescents; describes the predatory practices of the tobacco industry, and points to effective solutions to school policy violations focus on helping youth succeed. Tobacco use disparities and implicit bias in the administration of penalties are also addressed.

Contact: Public Health Law Center, Mitchell Hamline School of Law , University of Minnesota , 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Fax: (651) 290-7515 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, School based programs, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use