Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website outlines the Food and Drug Administration's Youth Tobacco Prevention Plan—a series of actions designed to help prevent youth from using tobacco products, especially e-cigarettes. The plan focuses on three key areas: (1) preventing youth access to tobacco products; (2) curbing marketing of tobacco products aimed at youth; and (3) educating teens about the dangers of using any tobacco product, including e-cigarettes, as well as educating retailers about their key role in protecting youth.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Prevention, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This website describes INDEPTH (Intervention for Nicotine Dependence: Education, Prevention, Tobacco and Health), an alternative to student suspension or citation that helps schools and communities address the teenage vaping/tobacco use problem in a supportive way. Rather than focus solely on punitive measures, the INDEPTH interactive program teaches students about nicotine dependence and helps them establish healthy alternatives to tobacco use. The site explains how the program works, provides evidence of it's effectiveness, and describes how to start an INDEPTH program.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link
• Pilot Evaluation Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, School linked programs , Smoking Cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website describes a tobacco cessation program designed specifically for teenagers. The program emphasizes the importance of total health and encourages teens to break their nicotine dependence through a series of interactive learning strategies based on Social Cognitive Theory of behavior change. The site describes how the program works, highlights its effectiveness, outlines the content of each session, and explains how individuals or organizations can start their own program. A self-guided online adaptation of the Not On Tobacco (N-O-T)® program is also described.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Smoking cessation, Substance use behavior, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This report examines disparities in tobacco use and tobacco-related health outcomes across population groups in the United States, finding persistent inequities by race and ethnicity, income level, education level, sexual orientation and gender identity, occupation, geography, and behavioral health status. Using a multidisciplinary perspective, it reviews scientific evidence about drivers of tobacco-related health disparities, including social and environmental influences, the tobacco industry's targeted marketing practices, and the physiological and genetic factors that may influence use of flavored tobacco products. The report outlines promising interventions to reduce disparities, such as comprehensive smokefree laws, restrictions on flavored tobacco products including menthol cigarettes, barrier-free cessation services, and reducing nicotine levels in tobacco products to minimally addictive levels, while emphasizing that achieving health equity requires both tobacco-specific interventions and broader efforts to address underlying social and structural inequities.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Health inequity, Health status disparities, Passive smoking, Prevention, Research, Risk factors, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

Annotation: This website describes the Know the Risk campaign, highlighting the health risks associated with the use of electronic cigaretttes, the uptick in the use of e-cigarettes among young people, and action steps that can be taken to help reduce the number of young people who use e-cigarettes. Prevention tips for parents; a public service announcement on the risks associated with nicotine; and a Surgeon General’s advisory on e-cigarette use among youth are included on the site. Additional materials include a print add, PSA video, conversation cards.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• Link
• Surgeon General's Advisory

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Media campaigns, Nicotine, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help oral health professionals in California integrate tobacco-cessation interventions into routine oral health care. It provides tools and evidence-based resources that oral health professionals can use or share with their patients who use tobacco. Information is offered on trends in tobacco products and use in California, oral health professionals’ role in tobacco cessation, tobacco dependence and the benefits of quitting, and FDA-approved medications for tobacco cessation. Brief interventions for use in dental settings are included.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 707 Parnassus Ave., San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 502-5800 Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Webinar Companion To The Toolkit

Keywords: California, Intervention, Oral health, Smoking cessation, State materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource for clinicians is intended to support youth cessation of all commercial tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, vaping devices, cigarettes, cigars, dissolvable tobacco, heated tobacco products, hookah, pipes, nicotine pouches, smokeless tobacco, roll-your-own, bidis, and snus. The resource explains why youth tobacco use is a critical health concern; describes the role pediatric clinicians play as a trusted resource for youth and families; outlines challenges and considerations; and calls on clinicians to address youth cessation using effective screening, counseling, and treatment strategies.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This report highlights the high rate of e-cigarette use among gay, lesbian, and bisexual (LGB) youth; explains how the tobacco industry targets sexual and gender minorities; and calls for action to be taken to help eliminate disparities and reduce the rate of vaping among this group of young people. Recommendations include evaluating tobacco control policies, improving data collection, conducting additional research, addressing mental health concerns, and ensuring access to cessation services for the LGBT community.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health disparities, Mental health, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Trends, Youth

Annotation: This resource provides clinical preventive services recommendations related to tobacco smoking cessation in adults including pregnant women. Topics include behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions. Contents include the full recommendation statement; supporting documents including the final research plan, evidence review, and evidence summary; a clinical summary; and related information for consumers and health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource provides consolidated information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) for the public about tobacco. It includes information about tobacco, federal and state laws and policies, health statistics, and evidence-based methods for quitting. A social media dashboard provides updates from DHHS tobacco-related social media accounts.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Multimedia, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for oral health professionals on helping their clients quit smoking. Contents include a fact sheet on how to support clients, a handout on reasons to quit, a continuing education training, answers to frequently asked questions such as how quitlines work and how effective they are, an intervention card that lists steps for conducting brief interventions with clients, and supplemental materials.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Continuing education, Intervention, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Resource for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This Surgeon General’s report examines the effectiveness of various smoking cessation tools and resources; reviews the health effects of smoking and catalogues the improvements to health that can occur when smokers quit; highlights important new data on populations in which the prevalence of smoking is high and quit rates are low; and identifies gaps in the availability and utilization of programs, policies, and resources that can improve cessation rates and help smokers quit.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Passive smoking, Research, Risk taking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This opinion provided recommendations to help pregnant women eliminate or reduce the use of tobacco and nicotine products that can be harmful to their unborn child. It describes the various methods of nicotine intake and discusses effective screening methods and evidence-based interventions that obstetricians-gynecologists can apply in their practice.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Nicotine, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco

Annotation: This publication provides sample language and ideas for evidence-based solutions and information on alternative measures that may be more effective than suspension and expulsion at addressing student tobacco use and nicotine addiction as part of a school’s Commercial Tobacco-Free Policy. It explains why nicotine is particularly harmful to adolescents; describes the predatory practices of the tobacco industry, and points to effective solutions to school policy violations focus on helping youth succeed. Tobacco use disparities and implicit bias in the administration of penalties are also addressed.

Contact: Public Health Law Center, Mitchell Hamline School of Law , University of Minnesota , 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Fax: (651) 290-7515 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, School based programs, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This document for oral health professionals focuses on screening and counseling for tobacco use and exposure during dental visits. The document explains why addressing tobacco use and exposure is important and provides guidelines for how to screen and provide counseling in 1–3 minutes using the “5As” protocol: ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange. Tobacco and oral health facts are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Health screening, Oral health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This monograph provides information about systematic reviews of the association between tobacco use and oral diseases and potential benefits of tobacco-use cessation on oral health outcomes. For each systematic review, the methodology, results, and a discussion are presented. The monograph also includes policy recommendations related to integrating brief tobacco interventions into oral health programs in primary care.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Public policy, Research, Service integration, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This summary describes a symposium that highlighted the career of Alice M. Horowitz and her contributions to the emergence and growth of oral health as a focus in the health literacy field and to charting a course for continued action. The summary includes symposium objectives and descriptions of presentations and breakout sessions.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Collaboration, Contraception, Health care delivery, Learning, Medicaid, Meetings, Models, National initiatives, Peer groups, Policy development, Pregnancy prevention, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program planning, Reimbursement, State programs, Statewide planning, Teamwork, Tobacco cessation