Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

Rosenbach M, Ellwood M, Czajka J, Irvin C, Coupe W, Quinn B. 2001. Implementation of the State Children's Health Insurance Program: Momentum is increasing after a modest start—First annual report. Cambridge, MA: Mathematica Policy Research, 101 pp.

Cornell EV. 2001. Maternal and child health (MCH) update: States have expanded eligibility and increased access to health care for pregnant women and children. Washington, DC: National Governors' Association Center for Best Practices, Health Policy Studies Division, 20 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the methods states are using to increase access to health care for pregnant women and children by taking advantage of the flexibility under Title XXI of the Social Security Act to expand eligibility for Medicaid and SCHIP to uninsured low-income children. States are also finding ways to fund health care for low-income pregnant women. Tables describing Medicaid birth rates, eligibility levels, and steps taken by the states and territories to increase access to health care are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Contact Phone: (202) 624-7879 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Health insurance, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State Children', State MCH programs, Statistics, Women', s Health Insurance Program, s health

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1999 (ca.). Relationship between the Children's Health Insurance Program and the Maternal and Child Health Block Program: Report to Congress. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 31 pp.

Fox-Grage W, King M, Gehshan S, Starr J, Bradley C. 1999. CHIP and children with special health care needs. Washington, DC: National Conference of State Legislatures, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report provides background information about children with special health care needs (CSHN) and describes states' options for addressing those needs under the State Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). To assist state legislators who want to use the flexibility of Title XXI to improve services for CSHN, the report describes the following strategies: providing supplemental benefits; arranging for specialists to be included under the CHIP plan; expanding eligibility criteria to assist additional families; defining "medical necessity" more broadly; modifying cost-sharing requirements; and addressing quality assurance issues. Appendices include details about programs in Connecticut, Florida, and North Carolina; public health care programs for low income children; and lists of state and national contacts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-074-7.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Connecticut, Florida, Low income groups, Model programs, North Carolina, Public health services, Reports, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State CSHCN programs, State Children', State legislatures, s Health Insurance Program

Brindis C, Kirkpatrick R, Macdonald T, VanLandeghem K, Lee S. 1999. Adolescents and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP): Healthy options for meeting the needs of adolescents. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, Policy Information and Analysis Center for Middle Childhood and Adolescence and National Adolescent Health Information Center, 88 pp.

Annotation: This publication summarizes key findings and themes from interviews about the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) conducted in 1998 in 12 states: Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Massachusetts, Utah, and Wisconsin. Findings from the interviews are divided into nine sections, each dealing with major issues for adolescents under CHIP. These sections are benefit packages, outreach and enrollment, assuring access to care, confidentiality, adolescents with special needs, school-based/school-linked health centers, quality assurance, evaluation, and linkages to other health and social service programs. Appendices include names and titles of interview respondents, respondents priority issues for adolescence, summary of CHIP programs/plans for surveyed states, and resources on CHIP and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adolescents with special health care needs, Alabama, California, Children, Colorado, Confidentiality, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Interviews, Massachusetts, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Outreach, Reports, School linked programs, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State health insurance programs, Title V programs, Utah, Wisconsin

Johnson KA, McDonough JE. 1998. Expanding health coverage for children: Matching federal policies and state strategies. New York, NY: Milbank Memorial Fund, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes initiatives of 12 states in expanding health coverage for children by utilizing the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) under Title XXI of the Social Security Act. Reports are from Florida, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, and Washington. Implications of SCHIP are discussed including why states should participate and an overview of SCHIP. Tables include distribution of children and funding by state and state health insurance initiatives for children prior to SCHIP.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.milbank.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-887748-19-9.

Keywords: Children, Florida, Hawaii, Health insurance, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Social Security Act, Tennessee, Title XXI, Vermont, Washington

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1998. PIC briefing book: Title XXI, State Children's Health Insurance Program. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, ca. 300 pp.

Annotation: This loose-leaf binder is a collection of articles and reports on Title XXI, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) prepared for a January, 1998 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group. The background materials focus on SCHIP. Sections concentrate on an overview of the legislation, federal guidance on implementation, perspectives on implementation, state activities, outreach and enrollment, children with special health care needs, monitoring and assurance, access, systems of care, and crowd out. A bibliography on the topic contains citations and abstracts of materials from the Reference Collection of the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health as well as resources from the Internet and electronic publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Children, Children with special health care needs, Federal health insurance programs, Federal legislation, MCH programs, Social Security Act, Title XXI

U.S. Congress, Congressional Budget Office. 1998. Expanding health insurance coverage for children under Title XXI of the Social Security Act. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Congress, Congressional Budget Office, 19 pp.

Annotation: This Congressional Budget Office (CBO) memorandum offers preliminary information about how the states are responding to Title XXI of the Social Security Act and how many children may gain health insurance coverage. It also reviews current estimates of the number of uninsured children, characteristics of those children that have important implications for subsidy programs, and the goals of policy makers in seeking to expand coverage.

Keywords: Children, Federal legislation, Health insurance, Social Security Act, Title XXI, Uninsured persons

Ullman F, Bruen B, Holahan J. 1998. The State Children's Health Insurance Program: A look at the numbers. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 22 pp. (Occasional paper; no. 4)

Annotation: This analysis of the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) gauges the capacity of states to provide health insurance for low-income children, given the initial allocation of federal funds. The authors demonstrate some of the problems with the design of SCHIP. The distribution of federal funds among states is examined and compared. The contents include a program overview, guidelines for new state programs and Medicaid expansion, avoiding substitution and crowd-out, distribution of SCHIP funds, dollars available and child populations, states' capacity to provide new coverage, and estimating potential coverage.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, Contact Phone: (202) 833-7200 E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Federal legislation, Health insurance, Low income groups, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State Children', State MCH programs, s Health Insurance Program

National Governors' Association Center for Best Practices, Health Policy Studies Division. 1998. How states can increase enrollment in the State Children's Health Insurance Program. Washington, DC: National Governors' Association Center for Best Practices, Health Policy Studies Division, 17 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief examines the outreach and enrollment opportunities as well as the challenges facing governors and state health policymakers as they implement the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). The requirements of the SCHIP legislation for outreach activities are outlined, funding and assistance for designing outreach activities at the state and national levels are identified, state administrative efforts to streamline enrollment are described, and outreach campaigns for health assistance and promotion are profiled. The issue brief also identifies the unique outreach and enrollment challenges related to children with special health care needs and immigrant children. An appendix highlights the best outreach and enrollment practices of three states. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Enrollment, Federal legislation, Health insurance, Immigrants, Outreach, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State Children', State MCH programs, s Health Insurance Program

Hearne J. 1997. Coordinating children's coverage expansions with employer-sponsored coverage. Washington, DC: Institute for Health Policy Solutions, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the relationship between the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage expansions and employer financed coverage, and presents policy alternatives for coordinating these coverage venues. It provides brief background information on Title XXI and issues related to employer coverage. It discusses policy makers' concern about crowd out of private employer financed coverage and references related research findings and pertinent data. It also presents approaches to address crowd out concerns. The report then discusses approaches to subsidize employee contributions for families with uninsured children and access to employer financed coverage. The final sections discuss administrative issues and analyzes trade offs in choosing between Medicaid expansions and CHIP. The three appendices summarize related provisions of Title XXI, present a hypothetical state policy package to coordinate public and employer coverage, and present distribution data on employer contributions.

Contact: Institute for Health Policy Solutions, 1444 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-1941 Fax: (202) 789-1879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihps.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to health care, Employee benefits, Medicaid, Social Security Act, State Children', Title XXI, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 199?-. ASTHO access brief. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, irregular.

Annotation: These access briefs are part of a series that analyzes and synthesizes prevailing issues in three areas: children's health insurance implementation, maternal and child health, and for-profit conversions. Number 2, which deals with children's health insurance, discusses resources on innovative school-related programs. Number 4 is an outreach and enrollment overview. Number 5 discusses outstationed eligibility workers and innovative programs. Number 6 discusses minimizing welfare stigma and facilitating enrollment. Number 7 discusses ensuring access and developing the capacity of primary care systems. Number 8 discusses quality and performance measurement. On for-profit conversions, the August 1998 issue provides examples of activities of public health–related foundations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Enrollment, Outreach, Social Security Act, Title XXI, Social workers, State Children', s Health Insurance Program
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.