Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (35 total).

Pierce LR and Emergency Medical Services for Children National Resource Center, comps. n.d.. Emergency medical services for children thesaurus. Washington, DC: Emergency Medical Services for Children National Resource Center, 25 pp.

Annotation: This thesaurus has 244 terms, which are displayed alphabetically in hierarchies showing term relationships and scope notes and in subject groupings under the Emergency Medical Services for Children(EMSC) Library Catalog Headings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Thesauri

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. n.d.. MCH keywords from HRSA. [Rockville, MD: U.S.Health Resources and Services Administration],

Grynoch T. 2018. Data thesaurus. Bethesda, MD: National Network of Libraries of Medicine,

Annotation: The data thesaurus is a resource connecting and defining concepts, services, and tools relevant to librarians working in data-driven discovery. Each term includes a definition, relevant literature, and web resources, along with links to related term. The thesaurus contains 70 terms. The Data Thesaurus is the updated eScience Thesaurus which was created by Kevin Read in 2013 and previously resided on the eScience Portal for Librarians (Read et al., 2013). The thesaurus was rebranded and updated in 2018 by Tess Grynoch for the NNLM RD3 site.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Building 38, Room B1-E03, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (800)338-7657 Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Thesauri

Hedden H. 2016. The accidental taxonomist (2nd ed.). Medford, NY: Information Today, 464 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses the art and science of building information taxonomies. It discusses what taxonomies are, who creates and manages them, creating terms and relationships, software for taxonomy creation and management, taxonomies for human and automated indexing, taxonomy structures and displays, taxonomy planning and implementation, and taxonomy work and the profession. A survey of taxonomists, a glossary, recommended reading, and a list of websites are included.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: custserv@infotoday.com Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Document Number: ISBN 9781573875288.

Keywords: Indexes, Knowledge management, Thesauri

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, The INFO Project. 2014. A user's guide to Popline keywords. (10th ed.). Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, The INFO Project, irregular.

Annotation: This thesaurus contains the vocabulary used to index and search the POPulation information onLINE database, POPLINE, the world's largest database of population, family planning, and related health issues information, both published and unpublished, containing over 300, 000 citations with abstracts available both online and in CD-ROM format. The thesaurus comprises an alphabetic listing of POPLINE keywords, showing the hierarchies for each term and a permuted display of the terms.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Fax: (410) 659-6266 E-mail: info@jhuccp.edu Web Site: http://www.jhuccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Demographics, Family planning, Population, Thesauri

National Agricultural Library. 2013. Agricultural thesaurus and glossary (13th ed.). Beltsville, MD: National Agricultural Library,

Annotation: This thesaurus provides broad and detailed coverage of all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including human nutrition. The Web site lists terms alphabetically and by subject category, and includes a search feature for locating terms in the thesaurus. It is also available in a Spanish edition that contains regional terms of Latin American countries.

Contact: National Agricultural Library, Abraham Lincoln Building, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5755 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-6856 Fax: (301) 504-6927 E-mail: lmooney@nal.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Agriculture, Nutrition, Online databases, Online systems, Spanish language materials, Thesauri

European Union. 2013. EuroVoc: Multilingual thesaurus of the European Union. Luxembourg, Belgium: European Union,

Annotation: This site presents a multilingual/ multidisciplinary thesaurus covering the activities of the European Union, the European Parliament in particular. It contains terms in 22 EU languages (Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish), plus Croatian and Serbian. The site provides ways to view content of the thesaurus by searching, browsing, and downloading. It includes a form to suggest changes to the thesaurus.

Keywords: Government agencies, International organizations, Thesauri

American Folklore Society. 2011-. Ethnographic thesaurus. Columbus, OH: American Folklore Society,

Annotation: The AFS ethnographic thesaurus is a searchable online vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about folklore, ethnomusicology, ethnology, and related fields. It provides an alphabetical listing and an interactive tree view.

Contact: American Folklore Society, Ohio State University, Mershon Center, 1501 Neil Avenue, Columbus, OH 43201, Web Site: http://www.afsnet.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Ethnic groups, Folklore, Thesauri

National Information Standards Organization. 2010. Guidelines for the construction, format and management of monolingual thesauri. Bethesda, MD: NISO Press, 172 pp. (ANSI/NISO; Z39.19-2005 (reaffirmed 2010))

Annotation: These guidelines provide detailed instructions for the construction of a thesaurus to provide access to the intellectual content of publications.

Contact: NISO Press Fulfillment, One North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 20201, Telephone: 301-654-2512 Secondary Telephone: 866-957-1593 Fax: 410-685-5278 E-mail: nisohq@niso.org Web Site: http://www.niso.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-880124-65-3.

Keywords: Guidelines, Standards, Thesauri

National Information Standards Organization, Content and Collection Management Topic Committee. 2010. Guidelines for the construction, format, and management of monolingual controlled vocabularies. Bethesda, MD: NISO Press, 172 pp.

Annotation: This document presents guidelines and conventions for the contents, display, construction, testing, maintenance, and management of monolingual controlled vocabularies. It focuses on controlled vocabularies that are used for the representation of content objects in knowledge organization systems including lists, synonym rings, taxonomies, and thesauri.

Contact: NISO Press Fulfillment, One North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 20201, Telephone: 301-654-2512 Secondary Telephone: 866-957-1593 Fax: 410-685-5278 E-mail: nisohq@niso.org Web Site: http://www.niso.org Document Number: ISBN 978-1-880124-65-9.

Keywords: Guidelines, Standards, Thesauri

Walker A Jr, ed. 2007. Thesaurus of psychological index terms. (11th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, irregular.

Annotation: This thesaurus presents a controlled vocabulary for structuring the subject matter of psychology and for indexing and retrieval. It has three sections: the relationship section shows the hierarchical relationships of each term; the rotated alphabetical terms section lists each term in alphabetical order by each significant word in the term; and the clusters sections groups terms that are related to each other conceptually rather than hierarchically.

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: mis@apa.org Web Site: http://www.apa.org Print copy available from the publisher. Document Number: ISBN 1-55798-402-6.

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Psychology, Thesauri

Lambe P. 2007. Organising knowledge: Taxonomies, knowledge and organisational effectiveness. Oxford, England:Chandos Publishing, 277 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses the art and science of building information taxonomies. It discusses term definition, forms taxonomies can take, use of taxonomy for organizational effectiveness, knowledge management, what taxonomies should do, designing and implementing taxonomies, and the future of taxonomy work.

Keywords: Indexes, Knowledge management, Thesauri

U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. 2006-. Federal Register thesaurus of indexing terms. Washington, DC: U.S. National Archives and Records Administration,

Annotation: This thesaurus is a basic indexing vocabulary for Federal regulations which are published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. The indexing terms are intended to express and organize the often technical regulatory concepts in research terms familiar to the lay person. It has two sections; an alphabetical list of all indexing terms and a grouping of terms under broad categories.

Contact: U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20408, Telephone: (202) 523-5227 E-mail: inquire@nara.gov Web Site: http://www.archives.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal government, Reference materials, Regulations, Thesauri

Sales G. 2006-. Taxonomy of human services. Los Angeles, CA: I211 LA County,

Annotation: This taxonomy provides a method and terminology to index and access information about community resources based on the services they provide and the target populations they serve. The Web site provides multiple ways to search, print, and download all or portions of the taxonomy; a list of recent changes to the taxonomy; and resources to aid in using the taxonomy including publications, training materials, a FAQ (frequently asked questions) page, and a listserv/online discussion group.

Contact: 211 LA County, P.O. Box 726, San Gabriel, CA 91778, Telephone: (800) 339-6993 Secondary Telephone: (800) 660-4026 Fax: (626) 442-6940 E-mail: Webmaster@211LA.org Web Site: http://www.211la.org Portions available from the website; full access requires a subscription (price varies).

Keywords: Human services, Information systems, Thesauri

AARP, Ageline Database. 2005. Thesaurus of aging terminology. (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: AARP, 147 pp.

Annotation: This thesaurus provides a controlled vocabulary for terms used to index documents in the Ageline Database. It includes an introduction, a guide to using the thesaurus, the terms themselves showing the hierarchical relationships, a rotated listing of the terms, and a list of geographical terms.

Contact: AARP, 601 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20049, Telephone: (888) 687-2277 E-mail: member@aarp.org Web Site: http://www.aarp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Aging, Middle aged adults, Older adults, Thesauri

Redmond-Neal A, Hlava MMK, ed. 2005. ASIST thesaurus of information science, technology, and librarianship (3rd ed.). Medford, NJ: Information Today, 272 pp., 1 CD-ROM. (ASIST monograph)

Annotation: This thesaurus includes terms used in the field of information science, technology, and librarianship. Prefatory materials explain its use, its development, and a list of facets; the terms are displayed alphabetically, hierarchically, and in a rotated list. A CD-ROM containing an electronic version of the print thesaurus as well as Data Harmony's Theasurus Master software is also available.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: custserv@infotoday.com Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com $49.94 for book only; 79.95 for book with CD-ROM. Document Number: ISBN 1-57387-243-X (book); 1-57387-244-X (book with CD-ROM).

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Thesauri

Pickett OK, comp. 2005. Maternal and child health thesaurus (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 234 pp.

Annotation: This thesaurus provides the MCH professional community with a standard vocabulary in maternal and child health services, research, training, administration, and management, for use in indexing published and unpublished materials in a resource center, library, or special collection. The thesaurus lists 3,905 terms alphabetically with a display of hierarchical relationships, in a rotated term list, and by broad subject category. It is available in a pdf format and in an online version that is searchable in multiple ways. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Thesauri

Health Development Agency. 2004. National public health language: Version 1. London, England: Health Development Agency, 2 v.

Annotation: This thesaurus presents a unified indexing language which is designed to facilitate interoperability between several public health agencies in the United Kingdom. The thesaurus is used to index the databases, catalogs, and online libraries of the Association of Public Health Observatories, the Health Development Agency, and the Public Health Electronic Library. It supersedes the Public Health Information Thesaurus and the Public Health Information Tagging System. It is available in alphabetical order, including broader, narrower, and related terms, and in hierarchical order. The Web site also provides a searchable online version.

Contact: Health Development Agency, Holborn Gate, 330 High Holborn, London, England WC1V 7BA, Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7430 0850 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7061 3390 E-mail: nice@nice.org.uk Web Site: http://www.nice.org.uk/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Public health, Thesauri

Houston JE, ed. 2001-. Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 731 pp.

Annotation: This thesaurus lists the terms used in the subject analysis of educational literature by the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC).

Keywords: Education, Thesauri

Wellisch HH. 2000. Glossary of terminology in abstracting, classification, indexing, and thesaurus construction. (2nd ed.). Medford, NJ: Information Today, 70 pp.

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.