Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This book for students who are enrolled in a professional course in health promotion program planning aims to provide both theoretical and practical information. Topics include program planning models, assessing needs, measurement, mission statements, goals, objectives, theories and models commonly used, interventions, community organizing and building, allocation of resources, marketing, implementation, evaluation, and data analysis and reporting,

Keywords: Textbooks, Health promotion, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning

Annotation: This book's major emphasis is on the analysis and application of health behavior theories to public health and health promotion practice. It discusses models of individual behavior (such as health belief, reasoned action, and stages of change); models of interpersonal behavior (such as social support, stress and coping, and interpersonal communication); and community and group models (such as community engagement, diffusion of public health interventions, and the changing media environment). It also discusses planning models, behavioral economics, and social marketing.

Keywords: Health behavior, Health promotion. Textbooks, Public health, Theories

Annotation: This annotated instructor's version of a college textbook presents research-based information on early brain development, emergent curricula, and early childhood programming in developmentally appropriate practice. The book includes a built-in instructor's manual as well as notes in the margins about class discussion, activities, assignments, films, and lectures. Each chapter also includes answers to five key questions that appear in the corresponding student textbook. Ideas for major projects or assignment are provided. The book is divided into six main parts, each of which focuses on a different aspect of early childhood education: the what, who, why, where, how (curriculum) and how (guidance) of early childhood education. Also included are an epilogue, references, a glossary, name and subject indexes, and a preface.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7668-3451-4.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood education, Early childhood educators, Families, Parents, Programs, Research Early childhood development, Textbooks

Annotation: This text for undergraduates and students in professional preparation programs explains what theory is, how theories are developed, and factors that influence health behavior. It covers the more frequently used theories, including self efficacy; reasoned action and planned behavior; health beliefs; attribution; the transtheoretical model; social cognition; diffusion of innovation, ecological models; and social capital. The final chapter covers how to choose a theory. Articles, class activities, and class questions are included.

Keywords: Health behavior, Textbooks, Theories

Annotation: This text is organized according to fundamental principles of maternal and child health (MCH), covering traditional topics such as family planning; maternal, infant, and child health and development; as well as skills that are applicable across public heath disciplines such as planning, research, monitoring, and advocacy. Additional topics include environmental health, life course, oral health, program monitoring and evaluation, assessment and planning, MCH research, rights and justice, advocacy and policy development. Topics new in this edition include global health and health disparities in MCH and life course theory. Ancillary course materials for instructors are provided.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com $92.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-14496-1159-0.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Environmental health, Family planning, Infant health, Life cycle, MCH programs, MCH research, Maternal health, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health, Resource for professionals, Textbooks

Annotation: This book aims to educate students in the day-to-day practice of public health in three broad areas: communication, administration and management, and leadership. Topics include communicating with the public; media interviews; how to advocate; making presentations; writing for publication; cultural competence; working within an organization; planning and budgeting; improving quality; obtaining funding; recruiting and developing employees; creating a vision; systems thinking for transforming organizations; creating and sustaining change; negotiation and mediation; and collaborating with others.

Keywords: Administration, Communication, Leadership, Management, Public health, Textbooks

Annotation: This new edition offers a review of the basic science and clinical practice of obstetrics and gynecology. It discusses female reproductive anatomy, evaluation, ethics in practice, assessing the quality of medical and surgical care, the human genome, maternal-fetal medicine, reproductive endocrinology, gynecologic oncology. There are more than 225 tables and figures and an updated bibliography. Common presenting symptoms, diagnostic approaches, differential diagnoses, and management are discussed.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Diagnosis, Endometriosis, Enuresis, Ethics, Gynecologic oncology, Gynecology, Laparoscopic surgery, Obstetrical care, Obstetrical surgery, Quality assurance, Reproduction, Textbooks

Annotation: This book covers the origins and development of the modern pubic health system. Additional contents include health from an ecological perspective; public health and the health system; law, government, and public health; core functions and public health practice; the infrastructure of public health; interventions; public health emergency preparedness and response, and future challenges for public health in America. A glossary and index are provided.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com $85.95. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-7637-5444-0.

• Teaching Resources For 4th Edition

Keywords: Public health, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook provides reference material in both the clinical and basic sciences in maternal-fetal medicine. The text is divided into three parts: early fetal development and the environment; fetal diagnostic and treatment modalities; and maternal and fetal pathophysiology. Normal and abnormal growth and development of the fetus, normal and abnormal labor and delivery, problems of pregnancy and problems of neonates are covered.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Fetal development, Medical reference books, Newborn infants, Pregnancy, Prenatal diagnosis, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook covers all aspects of health, including mental health; family and social health; growth and development; anatomy; personal health care and fitness; nutrition; medicines; tobacco, alcohol, and other drug use; diseases, both communicable and non-communicable, including sexually transmitted diseases; the environment; consumer awareness; and safety and first aid. A glossary and index are appended.

Contact: Macmillan/McGraw-Hill School Publishing, Glencoe Division, P.O. Box 543, Blacklick, OH 43004-0554, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Secondary Telephone: (800) 334-7344 Fax: (614) 755-5682 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glencoe.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Health education, Textbooks

Annotation: This book is about the evaluation of health programs and the role it plays in program management and decision-making. The book is divided into three major sections that cover basic steps of the evaluation process. Asking the questions (section 1) occurs in the political realm, where evaluators work with decision-makers and other groups to define the questions that the evaluation will answer about a program. Answering the question (section 2) applies evaluation methods to answer the questions about the program. Using the answers in decision-making (section 3) returns to the political realm, where findings are disseminated to decision-makers, interest groups, and other constituents. The sections are divided into chapters, each of which includes a list of terms and study questions.The book also includes an epilogue, references, an author index, a subject index, and an about the author section.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7619-1847-7.

Keywords: Decision making, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Program evaluation, Program management, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook discusses the theory and practice of counseling patients of a different cultural background from the counselor's. The authors first address issues and concepts in cross-cultural counseling; they then offer guidance on counseling specific populations: Native Americans, Asian Americans, African Americans, and Hispanic Americans; they end with case descriptions that illustrate critical incidents in cross-cultural counseling. There are name and subject indexes, as well as a 26-page bibliography.

Contact: Wiley , 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: E-mail: https://www.wiley.com/en-us/contact Web Site: http://www.wiley.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Counseling, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Textbooks

Annotation: This book provides information on these elements of injury prevention: the nature and magnitude of injury, the basic concepts of prevention, and practical approaches for implementing prevention programs. It is targeted to public health practitioners and students. Part I covers the importance of the injury problem, conceptual and historical underpinnings, epidemiology of injury, and unintentional and intentional injury. Part II covers general principles, educational strategies, environmental modification, and the role of law. Part III covers the role of public agencies, a systems approach to developing a public health agency injury program, injury surveillance, real world evaluation techniques, and barriers to injury prevention. The appendix lists injury-related World Wide Web sites.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Contact Phone: (800) 638-8437 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com $49.50. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-0840-7.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Public health, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

Annotation: This textbook is part of a training program to enhance the analytic skills of maternal and child health (MCH) professionals in state health agencies. Descriptive epidemiology and statistical estimation, measures of association and hypothesis testing, analytic epidemiology and multivariable methods, methods for summarizing data, methods for analyzing trend data, creating target population estimates using national survey data, and using census data in MCH are discussed. These are presented as analytic issues that MCH professionals can expect to confront in their daily work. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau] K120 archived by NMCHC 1/2001 SJA

Keywords: Data analysis, Epidemiology, MCH training, Multivariate analysis, State health agencies, Statistical analysis, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the concepts and language of statistics for social science students. The book covers the following: statistics in social science research, introduction to hypothesis testing, comparing the means of paired data, comparing the means of two groups, introducing regression and correlation, comparing many means, comparing proportions, and advanced techniques. Most chapters have an assignment and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include the U.S. states data set, the normal (z) distribution, student's "t" distribution, the "F" distribution, and the "X" squared distribution.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $24.50 plus $3.50 shipping and handling for the first item and $1.00 for each additional item. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-7918-5.

Keywords: Social sciences, Statistics, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook is a collection of essays, poetry, personal reflections, and case histories on racism and sexism in the United States. Sections focus on the legal issues, socioeconomic factors, and cultural stereotypes that perpetuate discrimination in this country.

Contact: St. Martin's Press, 175 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (646) 307-5151 Contact Phone: (800) 221-7945, ext. 346 Fax: (212) 674-6132 Web Site: http://us.macmillan.com/SMP.aspx $19.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-312-09652-6.

Keywords: Gender bias, Legal issues, Legislation, Race, Social factors, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook is written for future caregivers and teachers of children from infancy to age 5. The first four chapters cover nutrition basics, meal planning, and safe food preparation and storage. Chapters 5 to 9 apply this information to the different age groups, discussing growth and development, cultural differences, and children with special needs. Chapters 10 through 13 emphasize safety, working with children with special health needs, prevention of infections and accidents, and emergency preparedness. Chapter 14 discusses lesson plans and curricula, and chapter 15 suggests how to involve parents. The appendices give recommended dietary allowances, nutritive values of foods, growth charts, and information on federal food programs, followed by a glossary and reference list.

Contact: Macmillan/McGraw-Hill School Publishing, Glencoe Division, P.O. Box 543, Blacklick, OH 43004-0554, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Secondary Telephone: (800) 334-7344 Fax: (614) 755-5682 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glencoe.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-02-802089-8.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child care, Child care centers, Child health, Child nutrition, Child safety, Dietary guidelines, Infant nutrition, Textbooks

Annotation: This textbook provides analyses of the major problems in the health care of mothers, infants, children, youth, and their families. It describes the organization and provision of basic MCH services, reproductive health care, child health care, care of adolescents, care of children and youth with special health needs, and care of mothers and children around the world. It also addresses broad issues such as needs assessment, program monitoring, program evaluation, legislation, organization of services and funding, and delivery of maternal and child health services.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, International health, Maternal health, Public health, Special health care needs, Textbooks