Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (32 total).

Institute for Family-Centered Care. n.d.. Focus group on ACTG 076: Summary report. Bethesda, MD: Institute for Family-Centered Care, 10 pp.

Annotation: This summary report is from a focus group convened to discuss issues related to the use of ACTG 076 to treat HIV-infected pregnant women. The chief issues covered are: women's attitudes about health care providers and the health care system; information and informed decision making; and counseling and testing. Implications, conclusions and recommended are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: institute@ipfcc.org Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, Counseling, HIV, HIV infected patients, Pediatric HIV, Pregnant women, Testing, Treatment outcome, Treatment refusal

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2016. Women's preventive services: Required health plan coverage guidelines. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information about required health plan coverage guidelines for women's preventive services under the Affordable Care Act. It includes a table listing type of preventive service, guidelines for health insurance coverage, and frequency of coverage. Preventive service types listed include well-woman visits, gestational diabetes screening, human papillomavirus testing, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, counseling and screening for human immune-deficiency virus, contraceptive methods and counseling, and screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, HIV screening, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Human papillomavirus, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Sexually transmitted infections, Testing, Women's health

W. K. Kellogg Foundation. 2016. Managing lead in drinking water at schools and early childhood education facilities. Battle Creek, MI: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, 75 pp.

Annotation: This report for educators and community leaders provides information about ways to limit children's exposure to lead in drinking water in schools and early childhood education facilities. Contents include information about the danger of lead in drinking water, how federal regulation has reduced exposure to lead in drinking water, deciding if a lead testing program is necessary, getting school buy-in for a program, involving external and community partners, preparing and taking lead samples, choosing remediation options, and communicating with the public. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care centers, Communication, Community action, Environmental exposure, Lead, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Lead poisoning screening, Regulations, School health programs, Schools, Testing, Water

Jeronimo J, Castle PE, Temin S, Denny L, Gupta V, Kim JJ, Luciani S, Murokora D, Ngoma T, Qiao Y, Quinn M, Sankaranarayanan R, Sasieni P, Schmeler KM, Shastri SS. 2016. Secondary prevention of cervical cancer: American Society of Clinical Oncology resource-staffed clinical practice guidelines. Journal of Global Oncology [published online before print October 28, 2016],

Annotation: This guideline for health professionals, public health authorities, policymakers, and laypersons in all settings offers guidance on secondary prevention of cervical cancer. Contents include key recommendations for screening; triage; and treatment of women with precursor lesions. Recommendations for special populations, such as women who are HIV positive, immunosuppressed, pregnant, postpartum, or women who have had hysterectomies are also addressed. Topics include developing infrastructure for HPV testing, diagnosis, and treatment in settings without current mass screening; cost and policy implications, guideline implementation, and future directions.

Contact: American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2318 Mill Road, Suite 800, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (571) 483-1300 Fax: (703) 299-1044 E-mail: asco@asco.org Web Site: http://www.asco.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cervical cancer, DNA testing, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, International health, Medical treatment, Oral cancer, Oral health, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Primary care, Triage, Women's health

Beachy SH, Johnson SG, Olson S, Berger AC, rapporteurs; Institute of Medicine, Roundtable on Translating Genomic-Based Research for Health. 2014. Refining processes for the co-development of genome-based therapeutics and companion diagnostic tests: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 102 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes a workshop held on February 27, 2013, in Washington, DC, to examine and discuss challenges and potential solutions for the co-development of targeted therapeutics and companion molecular tests for the prediction of drug response. Topics include perspectives from a variety of stakeholders including patients, providers, and laboratory representatives; pharmaceutical developers; and payers and regulators.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29821-6.

Keywords: Financing, Genomics, Laboratory techniques, Pharmaceutical research, Regulations, Testing, Therapeutics

Genetic Alliance. 2013-. Genes in life. Washington, DC: Genetic Alliance,

Annotation: This resource provides information about genetics and health. Topics include how genes work; genes, lifestyle, and environment; collecting family health history; genetic disease information; advocacy and support groups; financial planning; talking to families and health professionals; compensation for genetic testing; whole genome sequencing; screening vs. testing; disease research; patient privacy; clinical trials; and biobanks. Features include Ask the Experts, frequently asked questions, and a blog. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: info@geneticalliance.org Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Counseling, Family health, Genetics, Information sources, Medical history, Research, Screening, Testing

Radice SD. 2013. Fluoride and water testing laboratories. [Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Oral Health], 3 pp.

Annotation: This document defines fluoride, describes the benefits of fluoridated water, and discusses the importance of consulting a health professional or oral health professional before making decisions about taking fluoride supplements. The document also provides information about independent laboratories that the Maryland Department of the Environment has approved to test fluoride levels and accept water samples from the general public.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: http://phpa.dhmh.maryland.gov/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Laboratories, Maryland, Oral health, State programs, Testing, Water

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention. 2012. 2010 epidemiologic profile: Asians and Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders. Atlanta, GA: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, 80 pp.

Annotation: This report compiles 2010 national surveillance data on infectious disease in single race Asians and Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders. Contents include background information and data sources, overviews, snapshots, discussion, and references on tuberculosis, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV and AIDS.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Communicable diseases, Data sources, Epidemiology, HIV, Hawaiians, Hepatitis, Mortality, Pacific Americans, Pacific Islanders, Population surveillance, Sexually transmitted diseases, Testing, Trends, Tuberculosis

Vermont Department of Health. 2012. Vermont's guide to fluoride levels in public water systems [rev.]. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 21 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to help health professionals make decisions about the need for prescribing fluoride supplements for infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 16. Contents include public water systems listed by town and level of fluoridation, a dietary-fluoride-supplement schedule, health professional responsibilities, and an order form for testing fluoride in well water for families with infants and children under age 4.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Fluorides, Oral health, Primary prevention, State programs, Supplements, Testing, Vermont, Water

Pickett OK, DeFrancis Sun B. 2012. Genetics: Resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, multiple items.

Annotation: This brief is an electronic guide to recent resources on genetics and genomics; genetic testing, counseling, and disorders; and newborn screening. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Genomics, Newborn screening, Resources for professionals, Testing

Healthy Schools Network. 2012. Molds at school. Albany, NY: Healthy Schools Network, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about molds and the potential impact of molds on children's health. Topics include types of mold; symptoms of exposure to mold in children; allergies, asthma, and mold; monitoring, prevention, and cleanup tips; and tips on remediation for school officials, parents, and school personnel.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: info@healthyschools.org Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Hazards, Respiratory diseases, Risk factors, School age children, Schools, Testing, Toxic disorders

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2010. Direct-to-consumer genetic tests: Misleading test results are further complicated by deceptive marketing and other questionable practices—Testimony. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 29 pp.

Annotation: This testimony before the House of Representative's Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations, Committee on Energy and Commerce, summarizes findings from an investigation conducted by the Government Accountability Office (GAO) on the reliability of test results from direct-to-consumer genetic tests and the marketing and advertising used to sell these products. Included is a full description of the study conducted by GAO in 2006 and the results of their findings.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer protection, Federal initiatives, Genetic predisposition, Investigations, Marketing, Research, Testing

Association of Public Health Laboratories. 2010. 2010 Newborn Screening and Genetics Testing Symposium. Silver Spring, MD: Association of Public Health Laboratories,

Annotation: This website provides information about the 2010 Newborn Screening and Genetic Testing Symposium held in Orlando, Florida, on May 3-6, 2010. The symposium brought together almost 400 laboratories, follow-up professionals, and metabolic specialists from around the world. The site presents the symposium schedule and provides links for presentations that have been authorized for posting. Meeting session topics included health information technology, education, program quality improvement, laboratory quality improvement, international perspectives, old conditions, new information, and candidate conditions.

Contact: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700 , Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-2745 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-2747 Fax: (240) 485-2700 E-mail: scott.becker@aphl.org Web Site: http://www.aphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Education, Genetic testing, Health, Information, Laboratory techniques, Neonatal screening, Programs, Technology

Secretary's Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children. 2010. Screening U.S. college athletes for their sickle cell disease carrier status. Rockville, MD: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children, 18 pp.

Annotation: This briefing paper outlines issues surrounding the screening of young athletes for their sickle disease carrier status (sickle cell trait), a genetic condition. The report discusses research findings and reports on health outcomes of individuals with sickle sell trait, public health implications of the National Collegiate Athletic Association rule on testing athletes for sickle cell trait, and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1080 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Athletes, College students, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Public policy, Research, Sickle cell trait, Testing

CJ Foundation for SIDS. 2010. Information for families: Medical testing for inherited disorders following a sudden unexplained death [upd ed.]. [Hackensack, NJ]: CJ Foundation for SIDS, 5 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information to help families talk to their doctor about medical testing for inherited disorders following a sudden unexplained death. Although the paper points out that sudden unexpected infant death syndrome (SIDS) cannot be predicted or prevented, it describes certain rare, inheritable diseases that can cause sudden death in infants and children. The paper discusses the evaluation of inborn errors of metabolism and cardiac mechanisms, including Long QT Syndrome. Research and commercial testing options for families are are also presented.

Contact: CJ Foundation for SIDS, HUMC: WFAN Pediatric Center, Hackensack University Medical Center, 30 Prospect Avenue***MERGED WITH FIRST CANDLE*** 2017, Hackensack, NJ 07601, Telephone: (888) 8CJ-SIDS Secondary Telephone: (551) 996-5111 Fax: (551) 996-5326 E-mail: info@cjsids.org Web Site: http://www.cjsids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child death, Consumer education materials, Genetic disorders, Infant death, SIDS, Testing

Washington Sate Department of Health, Within Reach. [2008]. Mommy, baby, and hepatitis B: What you need to know to protect you and your baby. [Seattle, WA]: WithinReach, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women and mothers of infants provides information about how women can protect themselves and their children from hepatitis B. The brochures explains what hepatitis B is, how to prevent it, and what to do for those who have it. Resources for more information are included. The brochure is available in English, Cambodian, Chinese, Korean, Samoan, and Vietnamese.

Contact: WithinReach , 155 North East 100th Street, Suite 500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (800) 322-2588 Secondary Telephone: (206) 284-2465 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: info@withinreachwa.org Web Site: http://withinreachwa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Hepatitis B, Infant health, Non English language materials, Pregnant women, Prevention, Screening, Testing, Vaccinations, Women's health

Lehman T, Nikkel T. 2008. Making library web sites usable: A LITA guide. New York, NY: Neal-Schuman, 184 pp. (LITA guides; no. 14)

Annotation: This book's purpose is to provide solid grounding about library Web site design and testing for beginners and to introduce experienced library Web site designers to to new techniques. The book is divided into 17 chapters. Chapter 1 introduces usability assessment and its application to library Web sites. Chapters 2-8 discuss the primary assessment techniques: heuristic evaluations, surveys of library users and and others in the target population the library is meant to serve, focus group interviews, card sorting to analyze how library Web site information should be grouped, paper prototyping of Web pages, developing and conducting usability testing, and Web server logs analysis. Chapters 9-11 focus on general usability testing issues, including attracting users for testing, low cost usability recording, and communicating usability results effectively. Chapters 12-17 present usability case studies in several types of libraries. The book also includes a bibliiography that lists sources for additional information. An index is included, as well.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: info@neal-schuman.com Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9781555706203.

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Evaluation, Libraries, Library services, Technology, Testing, World Wide Web

University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. [2007]. Iowa integrated screen: The Iowa Maternal Screening Program. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine,

Annotation: This website describes the Iowa prenatal screen that integrates information from early ultrasound results with blood tests to determine whether or not a pregnant woman has an increased risk for giving birth to a baby with Down syndrome, Trisomy 18, or certain birth defects such as neural tube defect and therefore. The website provides information about the birth defects covered in the screening; discusses what the results of the screen mean; and explains how the screen test is not a diagnosis, but rather a tool to help predict the likelihood of a problem. A summary of the website content is provided, along with answers to frequency asked questions. A list of state agencies affiliated with the Iowa Integrated Screen is also provided.

Contact: University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, 200 Medicine Administration Building, 451 Newton Road, Iowa City, IA 52242, E-mail: http://www.medicine.uiowa.edu/contactus/ Web Site: http://www.medicine.uiowa.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Integrated information systems, Iowa, Prenatal screening, State programs, Testing

U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children. 2006. Evidence-based evaluation and decision process for the Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children: A workgroup meeting summary. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children, 14 pp. (Committee report)

Annotation: This paper summarizes the outcomes of a workgroup meeting convened by the Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children (ACHDGDNC) to discuss how to establish a rigorous evaluation and recommendation process to determine the suitability of screening for certain rare inherited disorders. The paper includes background on ACHDGDNC; an overview of the nomination form for adding conditions to the uniform screening panel of 29 conditions; issues in evidence review for genetics and pediatric and newborn screening; and a case study on the evaluation of Pompe disease. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1080 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Evaluation, Genetic disorders, Genetic testing, Infants, Screening

Mincy R, Garfinkel I, and Nepomnyaschy L. 2004. In-hospital paternity establishment and father involvement in Fragile Families. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University, Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, 59 pp. (Working paper no. 2004-11-FF)

Annotation: This paper addresses the effectiveness of in-hospital paternity establishment (a federal requirement since 1993) and whether paternity establishment is associated with father involvement (including formal and informal child support payments and father-child visitation). The paper introduces the issue, discusses previous literature on the evolution and effectiveness of paternity establishment policies, provides the conceptual framework and expected effects of covariates, describes the data and methods, and offers findings. References are included. Statistical information is presented in tables at the end of the paper.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: crcw@opr.princeton.edu Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child support, Father child relations, Fathers, Hospitals, Paternity, Paternity testing, Public policy, Research, Single parents

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.