Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on preventive dental visit. It also provides sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a list of resources. Programs can also use this information to assist in the implementation of oral-health-related state performance measures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

Annotation: This report explores the maternal health crisis in the United States and offers real-world examples and solutions designed to eliminate disparities in maternal health and reduce maternal mortality rates. The areas of focus include: dynamics in maternal care that lead to disparities; policies that facilitate change; utilizing technology to increase health equity; and recommendations for the future.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Telehealth, Telemedecine

Annotation: This review evaluates the effectiveness, use, and implementation of telehealth for women’s preventive services for reproductive healthcare and interpersonal violence (IPV). It examines patient preferences and engagement in telehealth and explores how this form of health care delivery affects health outcomes, particularly for those who are geographically isolated or in underserved settings or populations. The use of telehealth services during the COVID-19 pandemic is highlighted.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Health care delivery, Health screening, Prevention services, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Women', s health

Annotation: During this 20 minute virtual round table, presenters from the Association of Maternal and Child Health (AMCHP) discuss the role that telehealth played in addressing equity and access to care during the pandemic and how an equity lens can be used to evaluate telehealth practices moving forward.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Access to care, Evaluation , Health equity, Racial factors, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This webinar features three presenters who describe the Equitable Evaluation Framework and explain how equitable evaluation activities can be applied to telehealth work. Included are telehealth examples based on equitable evaluation. The recording is from the virtual roundtable presented on May 17, 2022 by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's Equity, Epidemiology, & Evaluation Team,

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Evaluation , Health equity, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This toolkit offers pediatric and adult medical professionals sample content that can be used to facilitate transfer to adult care, as well as a sample resource for the transferring young adult that explains the telehealth visit. The two tip sheets are designed to be used as a general guide for the agenda of the joint telehealth visit, and both can be customized to the practice and young adult and family situation. Additional resources include a practice script example and a link to Got Transition's Six Core Elements of Health Care Transition.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report identifies key policy flexibilities enacted during the COVID-19 public health emergency. It summarizes stakeholders' perspectives about the impact of the pandemic and policy flexibilities on children and youth with special health care needs and their families and providers. The authors present recommendations for continuing or ceasing temporary policy changes after the public health emergency, as well as new policies and actions to best support children and youth with special heath care needs and their families.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Medicaid, Mental health, Telehealth, Virus diseases, Work force

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This issue brief provides a definition of equity in telehealth, describes four dimensions of equity in telehealth policy, and provides case study examples of how these dimensions can be applied when assessing the equity impacts of a given maternal and child health (MCH) telehealth policy solution.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health equity, MCH services, Policy, Public health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: These recommendations discuss health services that can be deferred, such as non-emergent, elective, and preventive health services for patients, during the COVID-19 pandemic. The following considerations for providing care are offered: ability to implement telehealth, virtual check-ins, and/or remote monitoring; personal protective equipment availability; staffing availability; medical office/ambulatory service location capacity; community testing capability; health and age of each individual and their risk for severe disease resulting from COVID-19 infection; and urgency of treatment or service.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases, telehealth

Annotation: This toolkit provides states with statutory and regulatory infrastructure issues to consider as they evaluate the need to expand their telehealth capabilities and coverage policies. It covers (1) patient populations eligible for telehealth, (2) coverage and reimbursement policies, (3) providers and practitioners eligible to provider telehealth, (4) technology requirements, and (5) pediatric considerations. This toolkit also includes a compilation of frequently asked questions (FAQs) and other resources available to states. An accompanying checklist of policy questions serves as a tool for states to assess telehealth in their state.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Checklist

Keywords: Children', Medicaid, Telehealth, Telemedicine, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about what teledentistry is and how it can improve the oral health of Marylanders. It provides information about Maryland’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Maryland and Medicaid billing updates, other telehealth dentistry regulatory issues, steps to implement teledentistry, recommendations for using teledentistry during the pandemic, and teledentistry dos and don’ts for oral health professionals.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Guidelines, Infectious diseases, Maryland, Oral health, State programs, Teledenistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This report provides information from a survey about oral health professionals’ awareness of and concerns related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The report discusses differences in responses of oral health professionals who work in federally qualified health centers and other public health settings and those who do not. Topics include oral health professionals’ attitudes and priorities, likelihood of embracing telehealth, and staffing challenges.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website. Document Number: DOI 10.35565/DQP.2020.2023.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, Telehealth, Virus diseases

Annotation: This policy brief defines a set of measures for evaluating grants awarded under the School-Based Telehealth Network Grant Program, administered by the Health Resources and Services Administration Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP) Office for the Advancement of Telehealth. Grants were targeted to rural, frontier, and underserved communities providing telehealth services for school children, with a particular focus on five clinical areas: asthma, behavioral health, diabetes, health weight, and oral health. The goal of the project was to identify a common set of measures that could be collected from each of the grantees for a cross-grantee assessment of school-based telehealth services, utilization, process, and outcomes.

Contact: Rural Telehealth Research Center, N200 CPHB, 145 N. Riverside Drive, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 384-3830 Web Site: https://ruraltelehealth.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Rural health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This report explains what telehealth and teledentistry are and discusses the increasing use of teledentistry across the country since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Statistical information is provided on the percentage of dentists using telehealth and the percentage planning to use it in the near future, services provided via telehealth or another virtual platform, telehealth modalities, and patients’ attitudes toward teledentistry. Snapshots about how telehealth is being used in several states are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, Telehealth, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report provides findings from a survey on health professional attitudes toward continued use of telehealth after the COVID-19 pandemic abates. Survey results are presented on use of telehealth modalities, types of telehealth oral health services provided, and the likelihood that oral health professionals will use telehealth in the future. Growth potential for telehealth, including teledentistry, is discussed, along with the future of oral health care financing as it relates to telehealth.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Attitudes, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, Surveys, Telehealth, Virus diseases

Annotation: This paper discusses a proposed oral health care model using emerging technology that builds on health promotion and disease prevention while supporting value-based care. Using an analysis of projected Medicaid costs, the paper describes the model and offers a roadmap for implementation. Topics include the purpose and significance of the model, social determinants of health and healthy communities, teleprevention, minimally invasive care, and personalized and integrated intervention.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, Telehealth

Annotation: This brief provides information about teledentistry, how it has gained traction as a method for enabling access to oral health care during the COVID-19 pandemic, and how it can continue to be used once the pandemic has abated. It explains the different teledentistry modalities: synchronous, asynchronous, remote patient monitoring, and mobile health. And it discusses persistent barriers to accessing oral health care and what states can do. The connection between oral health and certain chronic health conditions is also addressed.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Telehealth, Virus diseases

Annotation: This policy brief provides information about increasing access to oral health care among vulnerable populations in North Carolina as restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic begin to be lifted. It presents recommendations in the following areas: workforce utilization (including supervision requirements), care delivery (including teledentistry), and payment reform.

Contact: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, Foundation for Health Leadership & Innovation, Cary, NC Telephone: 919-589-7524 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthnc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, North Carolina, Oral health, Public policy, Service delivery, State materials, Telehealth, Virus diseases

Annotation: This document presents findings from a 2017 survey conducted by the Washington State Department of Health on telehealth capacity for autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities services. The assessment, part of the federal Autism Spectrum Disorder and Developmental Disabilities (AS3D) grant work, surveyed 52 healthcare providers including applied behavioral analysis (ABA) providers, Centers of Excellence for autism, and neurodevelopmental centers. Survey results show approximately one-third of respondents currently offer telehealth services, with ABA providers having the highest implementation rate (53%). The most common barrier to telehealth adoption reported by non-offering providers was lack of technical knowledge, while providers already offering telehealth cited billing/reimbursement challenges as their primary concern. Additional barriers included HIPAA compliance, patient trust, and organizational capacity for change.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telehealth, Washington, Autism, Surveys, State CHSCN programs, Children', s health