Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report focuses on highlighting evidence-based policies that can be implemented to address the root causes of disease. The report identifies and reviews five policy areas: access to healthcare, economic mobility, affordable housing, safe and healthy learning environments for children, and health-promoting excise taxes. Based on an extensive review of the evidence, the report recommends federal and state-level policies to improve health outcomes, advance health equity, and reduce healthcare spending. The report concludes that America's chronic disease and health disparities crisis require policy interventions targeting structural racism and the social determinants of health.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Government financing, Health care disparities, Health policy, Health status disparities, Model programs, Policy analysis, Policy development, Taxes

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This report provides estimates of the public health, educational, social, and financial benefits of a proposal by President Obama in his fiscal year 2014 budget to expand federal funding for early childhood education programs over 10 years and to pay for this with an increase in federal excise tax rates of cigarette and other tobacco products. The report outlines the proposal and discusses the importance of early education, the importance of reducing tobacco use, synergies between education and health, and how the proposal addresses these issues. Benefits of the proposal for the nation and for states are presented.

Contact: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, National Center for Tobacco-Free Kids, 1400 Eye Street, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-5469 Fax: (202) 296-5427 Web Site: http://www.tobaccofreekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Early childhood education, Early childhood programs, Financing, Health, Public health, Taxes, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report focuses on results of the STATE Child Well-Being Index (CWI), a comprehensive state-level index of child well-being. The report provides background information about CWI; presents key findings in the following areas: state taxes, public investments in children; relationship between and child well-being and state of residence; and policies and child well-being.

Contact: Foundation for Child Development, 295 Madison Avenue, 40th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 867-5777 Fax: (212) 867-5844 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fcd-us.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child development, Child health, Children, Costs, Education, Financing, Geographic factors, Public policy, Research, State programs, Statistical data, Taxes

Annotation: This report provides data on the key issues of health, child abuse, school readiness, child care, after school, and poverty. It focuses on the importance of federal programs for children and how proposed changes will affect them.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-9790866-0-4.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child health, Children, Costs, Federal government, Government role, Poverty, State programs, Taxes

Annotation: This report tracks the status of the tobacco epidemic and the impact of interventions implemented to stop it. Contents include the World Health Organization's framework convention on tobacco control, along with guidelines for implementation. Topics include monitoring tobacco use and prevention policies, protecting from tobacco smoke, offering help to quit tobacco use, warning about the dangers of tobacco, health warning labels, and anti-tobacco mass media campaigns. The appendices contain global tobacco control policy data, country profiles, graphs on tobacco taxes and prices, age-standardized prevalence estimates for smoking, country-provided prevalence data, Global Youth Tobacco Survey data, and maps on global tobacco control and policy data. Information is presented in English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Spanish, and Russian.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• 2011 Editions
• 2008, 2009 Editions

Keywords: Asian language materials, Costs, Data, Health policy, International health, International programs, Non English language materials, Prevalence, Spanish language materials, Taxes, Tobacco use

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Maryland's early efforts to use income tax returns to identify children who are potentially eligible for Medicaid or the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) but who are not enrolled in the programs. The brief examines the benefits and drawbacks of this strategy as well as mechanisms for maximizing its effectiveness. Topics include Maryland's Kids First Act (legislation directing the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene to use the state's personal income tax system to target outreach efforts to children who might be eligible for Medicaid or CHIP); preliminary efforts; data-sharing issues; Kids First and federal action; and lessons learned.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Enrollment, Family income, Federal programs, Legislation, Low income groups, Maryland, Medicaid, Outreach, State Children', State programs, State programs, Taxes, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This annual report examines federal expenditures on children. It provides analysis of federal programs and tax provisions that allocate resources to children and places these expenditures in the broader context of the overall federal budget. Topics include current expenditures, historical trends, and future projections. While the primary focus is federal expenditures, the report also provides information about state and local spending on children. A companion volume, Data Appendix to Kids' Share, provides the sources of expenditure data, and the methodologies for estimating the portions of programs that go specifically to children, for each program.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Budgets, Child development, Child health, Child nutrition, Child safety, Costs, Education, Federal programs, Taxes, Trends

Annotation: This report provides (1) a brief description of approximately 140 federally funded programs directed specifically toward children and their families, as well as the programs' tax rules, (2) federal funding amounts, (3) participation data, (4) information about how the program/tax rule is targeted, (5) selected program characteristics such as entitlement status, whether features of the program are indexed, matching requirements, and whether major waivers or federal rules are allowed, and (6) Congressional committee involvement. Programs are grouped into the following categories: education and training, health, housing, income support, nutrition, and social services. Tables at the end of each section summarize selected information about the programs and tax rules described in the section. The report concludes with copies of two letters requesting the report, and a list of credits. It was originally published by the Congressional Research Service in 1999 and republished by IEL under a different title.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iel.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Data, Entitlements, Families, Federal programs, Financing, Health, Housing, Nutrition, Participation, Social services, Taxes, Training, Waivers

Annotation: This report examines fiscal, policy, and political issues which face the states as responsibility for children's education and other services, devolves from the federal to the state level. The report addresses issues of state spending on education and other services for children. Information is given about measures of need, fiscal capacity, willingness to pay more for services, and state spending. Tables give information on spending by the states.

Contact: Finance Project, 1401 New York Avenue, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-4200 Fax: (202) 628-1293 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Education, Government financing, Public education, State programs, Statistics, Taxes

Annotation: This report is part of a series of monthly seminars entitled Family-Centered Social Policy: The Emerging Agenda, conducted by the Family Impact Seminar. The publication provides meeting highlights and a background briefing report. This seminar discussed ways to increase the income of poor families, including several new tax-based and child support proposals which are attracting interest.

• PDF

Keywords: Child support, Poverty, Taxes

Annotation: This study discusses the death of infants in the United States before their first birthday, the indirect costs of infant mortality, indirect costs of disabilities of low birthweight children, and the resulting foregone federal taxes.

Keywords: Costs, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Taxes, United States