Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

National Cancer Institute. 2016. Evidence-based cancer control programs (EBCCP). Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute, multiple items.

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Lord JH. 2014. No time for goodbyes: Coping with sorrow, anger and injustice after a tragic death. (7th ed.). Ventura, CA: Pathfinder Publishing , 237 pp.

Annotation: This book is to help those who have lost a loved one through a devastating tragedy, such as homicides or motor vehicle crashes. The book gives hope and useful suggestions to survivors grieving for a loved one killed. It discusses grief, the death of children, siblings, mates and parents, holidays, spirituality, professional counseling, suicide, coping with the criminal justice system, and finance issues. A list of resource organizations and readings is included.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Survivors, Victims, Violence

Abrash B. 2006. A lion in the house: A content-centered outreach strategy for public broadcasting. Washington, DC: American University, Center for Social Media, 2 items.

Annotation: This 225-minute documentary film follows five racially and economically diverse young people and their families an caregivers over 6 years as they confront childhood hematological cancer and the after-effects of treatment at Cincinnati's Children's Hospital. The film is the centerpiece of a national and local outreach campaign focusing on class and racial health care disparities, survivorship, and pediatric end-of-life bereavement care. The website presents a case study of how the film was developed and conceptual maps that portray key issues raised in the film.

Contact: American University, Center for Social Media, 3201 New Mexico Avenue, Suite 330, Washington, DC 20016, Telephone: (202) 885-3107 Fax: (202) 885-1309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerforsocialmedia.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Cancer, Child health, Economic factors, Families, Films, Public awareness campaigns, Racial factors, Survivors, Treatment

National Center for Children in Poverty. 2005. Children, Social Security, and private accounts: 10 questions for policymakers. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about how proposed changes to the Social Security program would affect children. The fact sheet includes a list of basic facts about Social Security and a list of questions about private accounts. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Disability benefits, Disability insurance, Families, Poverty, Social Security, Survivors

Medina AM, Vasquez JF. 2004. Developing linguistically and culturally responsive materials for Latina survivors of domestic violence. (2nd ed.). New York, NY: National Latino Alliance for the Elimination of Domestic Violence, 15 pp.

Annotation: This paper summarizes efforts to understand and help develop responses to the particular challenges and barriers faced by Spanish-speaking Latina survivors of domestic violence and by organizations that seek to provide prevention and intervention services for them and their families. It describes the challenges and barriers; summarizes literature reviews, surveys, and focus groups; and provides preliminary guidelines for the development of Spanish-language materials that respond to the expressed needs of Latina survivors and service providers. The paper includes three appendices: (1) additional means used to document the need for materials and services, (2) reviewed cultural competency materials, and (3) partial listing of Spanish-language resources. Future plans and endnotes are also included.

Contact: National Latino Alliance for the Elimination of Domestic Violence, P.O. Box 2787, Albuquerque, NM 87532, Telephone: (505) 753-3334 Fax: (505) 753-3337 Web Site: http://www.dvalianza.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Domestic violence, Guidelines, Hispanic Americans, Language barriers, Literature reviews, Manuals, Spanish language materials, Survivors, Women

U.S. Center for Mental Health Services. 2004. Mental health response to mass violence and terrorism: A training manual. Rockville, MD: U.S. Center for Mental Health Services, 184 pp.

Annotation: This manual offers information about what mental health professionals, crime victim assistance professionals, and faith-based counselors need to know to provide appropriate mental health support following incidents involving criminal mass victimization. The manual also provides a training course designed to enable human service providers to help victims, survivors, and family members cope with trauma and loss and participate in the criminal justice process, help the community at large recover, and understand and manage service providers' own work-related stress responses. Manual topics include (1) human responses to mass violence and terrorism, (2) mental health intervention, (3) organizational preparation and response and the mental health role, (4) stress prevention, management, and intervention, (5) setting up training, (6) comprehensive training course outline, and (7) additional training needs and options. An overview of resources is also included.

Contact: U.S. Center for Mental Health Services, , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1310 Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/about-us/who-we-are/offices-centers/cmhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Counselors, Crime, Emotional trauma, Families, Intervention, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Prevention, Resource materials, Stress, Survivors, Terrorism, Training, Victims

National Institute of Mental Health. 2002. Mental health and mass violence: Evidence-based early psychological intervention for victims/survivors of mass violence—A workshop to reach consensus on best practices. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Mental Health, 123 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a conference held in Warrenton, Virginia, October 29 - November 1, 2001, of disaster mental health experts from six countries to address the impact of early psychological interventions and to identify what works, what doesn't work, and what the gaps are in knowledge in this area. Participants examined research on critical issues related to the following topics: recommended early interventions for those exposed to mass violence situations; identifying the key operating principles; setting parameters for appropriate screening and follow-up; and defining expertise, skills, and training for providers of early intervention services. The report also addresses what is known about timing for various types of interventions. Also included is an outline of a sample training program for an early intervention work force. Appendices include additional information on resource organizations, a glossary of terms, workforce training, additions and dissenting opinions, intervention literature review tables, measures, and references.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 02-5138.

Keywords: Conferences, Early intervention services, Emergencies, Mental health, Model programs, Survivors, Terrorism, Training, Trauma, Victims, Violence

Smith J. 1990. Coping with suicide: A resource book for teenagers and young adults. New York, NY: Rosen Publishing Group, 187 pp.

Annotation: This book explores the reasons for and warning signs of adolescent suicide. The author examines some current theories about suicide, as well as suicide intervention, including coping mechanisms for varying emotions. One case study of an actual suicide occurrence is included along with a chapter dedicated to the survivors of suicide. The appendices includes an exercise on identifying feelings and a listing of suicide prevention and crisis intervention hotlines that are available in the United States.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ $13.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-8239-1052-0.

Keywords: Adolescents, Mental health, Suicide, Suicide prevention, Survivors