Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 4 (4 total).

New York State Department of Health, Division of Chronic Disease Prevention and the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children. n.d.. Making it work toolkit. Albany, NY: New York State Department of Health, Division of Chronic Disease Prevention and the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, multiple items.

Annotation: These toolkits for consumers and employers provide information to address the challenges of low income wage earners returning to work while continuing to breastfeed. Contents include five individual toolkits. A toolkit for mothers provides information on how to talk with supervisors, coworkers, and child care providers and how to store and handle breast milk, as well as checklists, tips, sample schedules, and food ideas. A toolkit for family members explains the role grandparents and partners play while dispelling myths that can be held by others, and how to give support and care for a breastfed infant. Additional toolkits are designed to help employers comply with state and federal laws; offer guidance for mothers and employers on interpreting the laws and resources; and provide sample letters and policies.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (866) 881-2809 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.ny.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employer initiatives, Legislation, Low income groups, New York, State programs, Supported employment, Workplace health promotion

Hynes M. 2014. Don't call them dropouts: Understanding the experiences of young people who leave high school before graduation. Washington, DC: America's Promise Alliance, 71 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from interviews and surveys of young people across the United States about what leads to leaving school before graduation. Contents include findings on the relationship between interrupted enrollment and family violence and abuse; school safety; violence in the neighborhood; personal and family health challenges; unsupportive or unresponsive school policies; family abandonment (death, incarceration, other events); family absence; instability of place (residential mobility, school mobility, homelessness); school salience; peer influence and support; and school and community support.

Contact: America's Promise Alliance, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0600 Fax: (202) 657-0601 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americaspromise.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Educational attainment, Graduation, Life course, National surveys, Resilience, Risk factors, School attendance, School dropouts, School failure, Social support, Supported employment

Robin Morris, ed. and Autism Speaks, Family Services Team. 2011. Transition tool kit: A guide to assist families on the journey from adolescence to adulthood. [New York, NY]: Autism Speaks, ca. 115 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for parents of adolescents with autism provides options to help plan for the transition to adulthood. The kit is divided into the following sections: self-advocacy, why transition plans are needed, community living, employment and other options, post-secondary educational opportunities, housing, legal matters, health, internet and technology, and getting organized. At the end of most sections are resources specific to that section as well as forms to help keep track of the transition process. Timelines for each state, with state agency information, are also provided.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent with special health care needs, Advocacy, Autism, Consumer education materials, Education, Employment, Employment programs, Housing, Legal issues, State programs, Supported employment, Technology, Transition planning

United States Civil Service Commission . 1969. Handbook of selective placement in federal civil service employment of the physically handicapped, the mentally restored, the mentally retarded, the rehabilitated offfender . Washington, DC: United States Civil Service Commission, 48 pp.

Annotation: This handbook describes the federal government's Selective Placement Program aimed at optimizing federal employment opportunities for handicapped individuals. Intended as a reference for those involved in the Selective Placement program, the handbook broadly defines the term "handicapped" to include those with physical and/or mental limitations and encourages employers to focus on abilities and skills, rather than disabilities. The handbook provides an overview of the Selective Placement Program, applicable regulations, and suggestions to help employers refer, place, and retain individuals in positions that best match their abilities.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

Keywords: Disabilities, Employment, Federal initiatives, Mental retardation, Physically handicapped, Supported employment, Work force
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.