Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure is designed for coroners or medical examiners to give to families of an infant or a young child who has died suddenly. It outlines the roles of the professionals that may be involved in investigating the death, gives time estimates for the investigation process, and lists national resources. It can be used for all manners of sudden pediatric deaths. A sample of this brochure is available online; agencies can order a customized version that includes their local information. It is available in three versions: coroner only, medical examiner only, and coroner/medical examiner combined.

Contact: Sudden Unexplained Death in Childhood Foundation, 549 Pompton Avenue, Suite 197, Cedar Grove, NJ 07009, Telephone: (800) 620-SUDC Secondary Telephone: (973) 239-4849 Fax: (973) 559-6191 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sudc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Coroners, Death scene investigation, Infants, Medical examiners, Role, Sudden death, Young children

Annotation: This presentation describes efforts by the Ohio chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics to reduce post-neonatal deaths, focusing on pediatrician education about safe sleep, a statewide program, an hospitalist program, and child abuse and maltreatment. It compares these initiatives to its successful bike helmet initiative. Safe sleep marketing and an action plan are described.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Ohio, Prevention programs, SIDS, Sleep, Social media, State programs, Sudden infant death

Annotation: This book is a compilation of recent articles that address the topics of bedsharing, breastfeeding, sleep training, and normal infant sleep. Section I covers bedsharing, breastfeeding and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); Section II covers the impact of sleep training and cry-it-out techniques; and Section III explores working with parents around sleep issues.

Contact: Praeclarus Press, 2304 Sweetgum Lane, Amarillo, TX 79124, Telephone: (806) 367-9950 Web Site: Http:www.praeclaruspress.com Document Number: ISBN 9781939807045.

Keywords: Infant care, Research, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep, Sudden infant death

Annotation: This website collects comprehensive data to characterize sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) cases and to determine which sleep environment factors contribute to SUID. The site shows a map of SUID Case Registry (SUID-CR) state grantees, explains the purpose of the SUID-CR Pilot Program, describes activities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in collaboration with the National Center for Child Death Review, and outlines quality-improvement goals and case-registry successes and progress.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Registry
• Reporting System

Keywords: Child death review, Prevention, Programs, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Statistical data, Sudden infant death

Annotation: This book discusses the controversial topic of parents' sleeping with their baby in their bed, and cautions about circumstances in which sleeping in the same bed is not safe. Part I provides an introduction to cosleeping (defined as situations in which parents and infants are within arms' reach, whether sleeping on the same surface or not); Part II presents the author's views on how to reduce safety risks during cosleeping (primarily meaning bedsharing); and Part III provides answers to frequently asked questions and general advice on cosleeping. Appendices include the 2005 sudden infant death policy statement issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics, which recommends that adults avoid sleeping in the same bed with an infant, and responses to the statement from breastfeeding advocacy organizations.

Contact: Platypus Media, 725 8th Street, SE, Washington, DC 20003, Telephone: (202) 546-2356 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.PlatypusMedia.com $14.95. Document Number: ISBN 1-930775-34-2.

Keywords: Infant care, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep, Sudden infant death

Annotation: This document contains the original language as introduced in November 2011, to amend the Public Health Service Act to improve the health of children and reduce the occurrence of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) and to enhance public health activities related to stillbirth. Topics include improving the completion of death scene investigation and autopsy; training on death scene investigation; building state capacity and implementing state and local child death review programs and prevention strategies; establishing a national registry for SUID and sudden unexpected death in childhood; establishing and implementing a culturally competent public health awareness and education campaign including educating individuals about safe sleep environments, sleep positions, and reducing exposure to smoking during pregnancy and after birth; establishing grants for providing support services to families who have had a infant or child die of sudden unexpected death; evaluating state and regional needs; and enhancing public health activities related to stillbirth.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• Full-text - Senate
• Full-text - House

Keywords: Child death, Data collection, Federal legislation, Fetal death, MCH research, Neonatal death, Prevention, SIDS, Sudden unexpected infant death

Annotation: This website provides information for first responders on handling sudden unexpected infant death. It includes a discussion of the roles of emergency medical technicians (EMTs), firefighters, emergency-room personnel, coroners, and medical examiners' standards and protocols; and training resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Emergencies, Resources for professionals, SIDS, Sudden infant death