Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

Human Relations Media. n.d.. Teenage crises: The fateful choices. Pleasantville, NY: Human Relations Media, 1 videotape (28 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape addresses many of problems encountered by adolescents including addiction, violence, pregnancy, AIDS, depression, and suicide. It discusses the importance of finding positive role models, setting goals, and defining a sense of purpose. Stories from a former gang member, an adolescent mother, a former substance abuser turned Olympic champion, and a young convict reveal how their difficulties began and trace the events that enabled them to turn their lives around.

Contact: Human Relations Media, 41 Kensico Drive, Mount Kisco, NY 10549, Telephone: (914) 666-9151 Fax: (914) 666-9506 E-mail: Letters@hrmvideo.com Web Site: http://www.hrmvideo.com/home.cfm $189.00 plus 5 percent shipping and handling.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Depression, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Suicide, Videotapes, Violence

Boston Healthy Start Initiative. n.d.. Support materials for substance abuse workshop: Women for Sobriety acceptance program work book. Boston, MA: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 158 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed for women with alcohol dependency who are participating in a substance abuse workshop. The manual explains recovery, the roots of addiction, relapses and slips, and recovery programs (including holistic recovery). It also includes exercises and a bibliography for the educator, and handouts and a glossary for participants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 1010 Massachusetts Avenue, Second Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 534-5395 Secondary Telephone: (617) 534-9799 Contact Phone: (617) 534-7828 Fax: (617) 534-5358 E-mail: healthystart@bphc.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol education, Alcohol rehabilitation, Alcoholism, Boston Healthy Start, Educational materials, Risk prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Training materials

Great Expectations/Healthy Start. n.d.. Prenatal education curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This study guide consists of a series of brief training sessions on various aspects of prenatal and infant care. Curricula topics include the following: 1) anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; 2) breastfeeding; 3) alcohol, smoking, and drug abuse; 4) personal hygiene; 5) sexually transmitted diseases; 6) contraception/family planning; and 7) domestic violence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Contraception, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Great Expectations/New Orleans Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant health, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prenatal nutrition, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance dependence, Training materials

Seabury, H. 2019. In her words: Opioid use disorder and pregnancy. Fort Wayne, IN: McMillen Health, 23 pp. (Community report)

Annotation: This report presents information about opioid use during pregancy. The report provides definitions of terms used, an overview of the problem, the impact of opioid use disorder during pregnancy on infants, interviews with mothers being treated for opioid use disorder, interviews with professionals, and results. The development of an educational intervention is also discussed.

Contact: McMillen Center for Health Education, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Intervention, Neonatal addiction, Opiates, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Oregon Pregnancy and Opioids Workgroup. 2018. Oregon Pregnancy and Opioids Workgroup recommendations. Salem, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document provides recommendations for the management of opioid use for pregnant women, including pregnant women with opioid-use disorder, and for care of the opioid-exposed newborn. Topics include clinical recommendations, health-systems and policy recommendations, definitions, and resources and collaborative approaches.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, 500 Summer Street, N.E., E-20, Salem, OR 97301-1097, Telephone: (503) 947-2340 Secondary Telephone: (877) 398-9238 Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: OHPBinfo@state.or.us Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/oha Available from the website.

Keywords: Narcotics, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs, State programs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2018. Medicaid coverage of medication-assisted treatment for alcohol and opioid use disorders and of medication for the reversal of opioid overdose. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 113 pp.

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2018. Clinical guidance for treating pregnant and parenting women with opioid use disorder and their infants. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 159 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides guidance for the optimal management of pregnant and parenting women with opioid use disorder (OUD) and their infants, based on recommendations of experts as of 2017. The guide is designed to help health professionals and women determine the most clinically appropriate action for a particular circumstance. In addition to offering background information, the guide includes fact sheets divided into the following sections: prenatal care, infant care, and maternal postnatal care. Each fact sheet includes a clinical scenario, clinical action steps, supporting evidence and clinical considerations, and links to and descriptions of online resources on the topic.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: (SMA) 18-5054. .

Keywords: Narcotics, Parents, Guidelines, Perinatal addiction, Pregnant women, Prenatal addiction, Substance dependence, Substance use disorders, Treatment

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General. 2016. Facing addiction in America: The Surgeon General’s report on alcohol, drugs, and health. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, multiple items.

Annotation: This report reviews what is known about substance misuse and how that knowledge can be used to address substance misuse and related consequences. Contents include information and findings related to neurobiology, prevention, treatment, recovery, and health care systems. The report concludes with a vision for the future including five general messages and their implications for policy and practice, and recommendations for specific stakeholder groups. Supplementary materials such as fact sheets on specific findings and recommendations for different audiences and a toolkit for promoting the report are also available.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care systems, Medical treatment, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Substance abusers, Substance dependence, Substance use behavior, Substance use disorders, Substance use screening

National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University. 2011. Adolescent substance use: America's no. 1 public health problem. New York, NY: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 406 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about adolescent alcohol consumption and substance abuse, including the abuse of prescription drugs and illegal drugs. The report explains the problem and discusses its magnitude, consequences, messages that promote adolescent substance abuse, adolescent perceptions and expectations,factors that compound or reduce the risk of adolescent substance abuse and addiction, prevention approaches and barriers to improvement, and treatment.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mass media, Prevention, Substance abuse, Treatment

Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law. 2010. An evaluation of state EPSDT screening tools. Washington, DC: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 7 pp. (Protecting consumer rights in public systems' managed mental health care policy; no. 3; )

Annotation: This paper reports on tools in use or under development to identify children's mental health and addiction treatment needs, under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Medicaid mandate. The paper includes a table showing the type of tool used in fifteen states.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Contact Phone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: communications@bazelon.org Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Child mental health, Drug affected children, EPSDT, Medicaid managed care, Mental health, Substance dependence

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2005. Results from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National findings. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 292 pp. (National survey on drug use and health series: H-28)

Annotation: This report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2005. Overview of findings from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 58 pp. (National survey on drug use and health series: H-27)

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Wright D. 2004. State estimates of substance use from the 2002 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 140 pp.

Annotation: This report presents state estimates for 20 measures of substance use and mental health problems based on the 2002 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, an ongoing survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 and older. In addition to a highlights section, the report includes the following main sections: (1) illicit drug use; (2) alcohol use; (3) tobacco use; (4) substance dependence, abuse, and treatment need; (5) serious mental illness among adults; and (6) discussion. Most of the information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes two appendices: (1) tables of model-based estimates by substance and (2) state estimation methodology. The report also includes a list of references.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1044, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1212 Web Site: http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (SMA) 04-3907.

Keywords: Adults, Alcohol use, Drug dependence, Health, Mental Illness, Mental health, Statistics, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Surveys, Tobacco use, Treatment

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2004. Overview of findings from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 42 pp. (National survey on drug use and health series: H-24)

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. A more complete presentation of the initial results of the survey is given in the full report, Results from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National Findings. Both reports present national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental health problems are also included. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2002 and 2003. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; trends in initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; and prevalence and treatment of mental health problems. A discussion is also included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix: prevalence estimate tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Covington SS. 1999. A woman's journal: Helping Women Recover—A program for treating addiction. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 134 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a personal journal to be used by a participant in a program for treating addiction, Helping Women Recover. The journal is intended for use in a group meeting setting although it may be used one-on-one with a counselor. The program is organized into four modules: self, relationships, sexuality, and spirituality. For each module, the journal contains exercises to be used at the group meetings, summaries of information received at meetings, and questions and exercise for reflection between meetings. The appendix contains a list of other recovery resources.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: info@wiley.com Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-4430-0.

Keywords: Behavior modification, Personal narratives, Recovering addicts, Substance dependence, Therapeutic programs, Women's health

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Bureau of Primary Health Care. 1997. MOM's Project: Strategy transfer guide—Models that work. Bethesda, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Bureau of Primary Health Care, 34 pp.

Harris LS, ed. 1995. Problems of drug dependence,1994: Proceedings of the 56th Annual Scientific Meeting, the College on Problems of Drug Dependence. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 2 v. (NIDA Research Monograph series 152 and 153)

Annotation: This monograph is based on papers or presentations from the 56th Annual Scientific Meeting of the College on Problems of Drug Dependence. It is highly clinical in nature and covers many different aspects of drug dependence and substance abuse including behavior, treatment, policy, impact, and health issues. Volume 1 contains plenary sessions and annual reports, and Volume 2 contains abstracts.

Contact: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, MSC 9561, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: NIH 95-3882.

Keywords: Drug abuse, Drug dependence, Drug effects, Drug use behavior, Medical research, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Holstein ME, Cohen WE, Steinbroner PJ. 1995. A matter of balance: Personal strategies for alcohol and other drugs—A prevention workbook. Ashland, OR: CNS Publications, ca. 125 pp.

Annotation: This student workbook discusses substance abuse, health and wellness, and counseling. It is designed for use in drug awareness and drug use prevention programs. The topics are divided into three subject areas: 1) heredity, environment, and psychoactive drugs; 2) environmental pressure to use drugs; and 3) halting the progression. For each topic, general information, group exercises, and individual exercises are presented. The guide includes a bibliography.

Contact: CNS Publications, 11 Almond Street, Medford, OR 97504, Telephone: (541) 779-3361 Secondary Telephone: (800) 888-0617 Fax: (541) 773-5905 Web Site: http://www.cnsproductions.com/ Multiple copies are $14.50 plus shipping and handling; single copies are $23.00 plus shipping and handling. Must be prepaid by Visa card, Master Card, or check..

Keywords: Adolescent programs, Alcohol dependence, Cleveland Healthy Start, Curricula, Drug dependence, Educational materials, Risk prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependence, Substance use behavior, Substance use disorders

Milwaukee Healthy Women and Infants Project. [1993]. Outreach training manual. Milwaukee, WI: Milwaukee Healthy Women and Infants Project, ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a training and education resource for outreach workers. It contains an overview of the Healthy Start project, description of the various services offered and the providers, and sections on the following subjects: work habits; home visiting; communication; pregnancy, infant, and child care; substance dependency; and nutrition. Supplements to the manual contain required forms and a glossary of terms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Milwaukee Healthy Women and Infants Project, 40 West Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 350, Milwaukee, WI 53233, Telephone: (414) 345-4500 Fax: (414) 345-4505 E-mail: $20.00.

Keywords: Case management, Child care, Communication, Community based services, Educational materials, Home visiting, Infant care, Milwaukee Healthy Start, Nutrition, Outreach, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Public programs, Substance dependence, Training materials, Workplace

Schydlower M, Rogers P, eds. 1993. Adolescent substance abuse and addictions. Philadelphia, PA: Hanley and Belfus, 477 pp. (Adolescent medicine: State of the art reviews; v. 4, no. 2)

Annotation: This book presents current review articles on the medical aspects of adolescent substance abuse and addiction. The topics include risk factors and behaviors; ethnic and cultural factors; office assessment by primary care physician; alcohol, nicotine, illicit drugs, anabolic steroids; drug testing; treatment issues; the influence of the media; influence of drug use on sexual activity; trauma and clinical issues; and psychiatric and developmental issues.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.