Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines the critical impact of mental health and substance use disorders on maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, highlighting how suicide and substance use-related overdoses account for over 20 percent of postpartum deaths. It presents promising approaches from states including Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, New Hampshire, and California that integrate maternity care with behavioral health services and social supports. The report outlines six key recommendations for improving care: supporting dedicated multidisciplinary care teams, centering people with lived experience to drive health equity, normalizing substance use care, training all staff on bias and stigma, expanding the community-based workforce including doulas and peer recovery specialists, and implementing harm reduction and street medicine approaches. The authors emphasize that with nearly every state now providing 12 months of postpartum Medicaid coverage, there are unprecedented opportunities to implement integrated, trauma-informed, non-punitive care models that can significantly reduce maternal mortality and improve outcomes for families.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Substance abusing pregnant women, Community participation, Disorders, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, Risk factors, Service integration, Substance use disorders

Annotation: The report outlines how overdose-related deaths in pregnant and postpartum women can be prevented with evidence-based treatment for opioid use disorder like buprenorphine and methadone. It also describes systemic and cultural barriers that make accessing care difficult and outlines key actions the Biden-Harris Administration will take to connect pregnant women with substance use disorder to care.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, Office of National Drug Control Policy , 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Foster care, Prevention, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: In this webinar, subject matter experts present on 1) the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health’s (AIM) patient safety bundle for perinatal people with substance use disorders, and 2) the role of public health agencies, perinatal quality collaboratives, and community organizations in supporting the implementation of the AIM bundle in their state. Speakers include representatives from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), the Louisiana Department of Health, and the Florida Department of Health.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Perinatal care, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Public health , Quality assurance, Safety, State initiatives, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This website presents a comprehensive overview of state harm reduction strategies aimed at improving outcomes for reproductive-aged women who use substances, developed as a collaborative project between AMCHP and NASADAD (National Association of State and Alcohol Drug Abuse Directors). The site outlines the critical context of substance use disorders (SUDs) in the United States, noting that women comprise 40% of individuals with SUDs and are most vulnerable during their reproductive years. It explains harm reduction approaches, which include practices like naloxone distribution, SBIRT (Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment), medication-assisted treatment, and syringe services programs. The website addresses COVID-19's impact on harm reduction services and provides an extensive glossary of relevant terms and acronyms. It also includes state-by-state profiles highlighting successful collaborations between state Maternal and Child Health programs and alcohol and drug abuse agencies, with particular attention to evidence-based practices and replicable strategies for future implementation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Mental health, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance abuse prevention programs, Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Nevada, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont

Annotation: This video details New Mexico's journey in developing comprehensive policies for substance-exposed newborns, specifically highlighting how the state worked to align with the 2016 Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA)'s amendments to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA). The process culminated in the 2019 passage of HB230, which mandates hospitals to create Plans of Care for affected infants and families, with the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) providing guidance to hospitals, insurers, and other stakeholders. Length: 8 minutes, 25 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: New Mexico, Patient care planning, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance exposed infants, Substance abusing women, State policies, Evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This issue brief outlines the implementation of Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) for pregnant and postpartum women with substance use disorders. SBIRT is an evidence-based practice endorsed by major health organizations that includes three key components: universal screening using validated tools, brief intervention through short conversations using motivational interviewing techniques, and referral to treatment when needed. The brief details how various states, including Iowa, Kansas, and South Carolina, have implemented SBIRT programs through partnerships, training initiatives, and innovative delivery methods such as text-based screening in waiting rooms. It addresses practical considerations including billing codes, mandatory reporting requirements, and provides extensive resources including validated screening tools (such as T-ACE, TWEAK, and 4Ps) and implementation toolkits. The guide emphasizes opportunities for Maternal and Child Health programs to advance SBIRT usage through provider partnerships, training programs, and policy advocacy, while noting that the approach has shown significant effectiveness in reducing substance use, with studies showing reductions in alcohol use (35.6%), heavy drinking (43.4%), and illicit drug use (75.8%).

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V Programs, MCH programs, Pregnant women, Postpartum women, Substance use screening, Perinatal care, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This webinar describes how maternal mental health and substance use disorder (MH/SUD) systems change can lead to increases in diagnosis and treatment rates; identifies opportunities to utilize the lifting of the "Medicaid Institutions for Mental Disease (IMD) Exclusion" to improve treatment of mental health and substance use disorders in MCH populations; and discusses the process by which Virginia leveraged a Medicaid IMD waiver to improve access to care and treatment for MH/SUD in reproductive age women. Length: 60 minutes, 9 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Mental health, Pregnant women, Substance abusing mothers, Access to care, MCH services, Maternal health, Virginia

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on substance abuse during pregnancy. A chart provides detail on state-by-state definitions of abuse and what guidance is recommended.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, State legislation, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drugs, Resources for professionals, Substance abusing pregnant women, Tobacco use

Annotation: This document provides guidance to hospitals, health care providers and affiliated professionals about maternal drug screening, laboratory testing, and reporting of drug-exposed newborns delivered in Washington State. Contents include indicators for testing, hospital policy, newborn and maternal risk indicators, consent issues for testing, newborn drug testing, management of a newborn with positive drug toxicology, and reporting to Children's Administration. Appendices include references and resources, guidelines for obtaining consent, a sample letter, neonatal abstinence syndrome scoring system, and information on Washington's Children's Administration prenatal substance abuse policy.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drug use during pregnancy, Guidelines, Hospital services, Infant health, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, State initiatives, State social service agencies, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use screening, Washington

Annotation: This fact sheet summaries research findings related to substance use during pregnancy. It discusses the prevalence of substance use among pregnant women; examines the social and psychological issues; and looks at the biological and developmental effects of in-utero drug exposure on children. The effects from using tobacco, alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, heroine, methamphetamine, and prescription drugs each are discussed. The fact sheet also explores the societal impact of prenatal substance exposure and the various interventions for pregnant and parenting substance abusers and newborn infants. Relevant public policies are also discussed. An online training tutorial on this topic is also available.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Online Tutorial

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Infant health, Newborn infants, Policy, Pregnant women, Prenatal development, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Training

Annotation: This tutorial presents an overview of the prevalence and nature of substance abuse among pregnant women in the United States and discusses factors that often contribute to substance abuse. It reviews the potential impact of prenatal exposure to various substances on infant development and well-being. The tutorial also examines interventions for the prevention and treatment of substance abuse during pregnancy, from identification and education to individual and family-based services. Interventions proven to promote the safety and well-being of affected newborns, such as family treatment drug courts and father involvement, are also discussed. In addition, the tutorial explores relevant federal and state policies.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• Tutorial
• Tutorial References

Keywords: Education, Family support services, Fathers, Health promotion, Infant development, Infant health, Intervention, Public policy, Risk factors, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This paper addresses aspects of substance abuse and addiction in women of childbearing age, with an emphasis on the potential adverse effects of substance use and substance use disorders during pregnancy. The paper details mechanisms of harm from alcohol and other substances during pregnancy. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: American Society of Addiction Medicine, 4601 North Park Avenue, Upper Arcade, Suite 101, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 656-3920 Fax: (301) 656-3815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asam.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Infant health, Public policy, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women', s health

Annotation: This practice brief, which is geared toward practitioners who work with pregnant and parenting women who abuse substances, outlines specific engagement and retention strategies to decrease noncompliance and increase participation among this population. Topics include (1) client barriers and service barriers to engagement and retention and (2) tactics for assessing and addressing agency barriers.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Mothers, Pregnant women, Programs, Social services, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This report identifies community-level fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) interventions and policies that can prevent fetal alcohol-exposed pregnancies (AEDs) and reduce the prevalence of physical, mental, behavioral, and learning disabilities due to prenatal alcohol exposure. Topics also include an epidemiological overview, screening for women at risk, current evidence, prevention interventions, and recommendations and future research directions.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Early intervention, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Screening, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This report highlights ten recommendations to improve and expand efforts regarding early identification, diagnostic services, and quality research on interventions for individuals with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASDs) and their families. Also included are action steps, accomplishments of the Task Force, an overview of the strategic plan, an overview of the Center for Excellence, and information about the Interagency Coordinating Committee on fetal alcohol syndrome.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early intervention, Federal initiatives, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, MCH research, Prevention, Strategic plans, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This purpose of this curriculum development guide is to enhance the knowledge and skills of health care providers to recognize and prevent fetal alcohol spectrum (FAS) disorders by aiding in the development of educational programs and materials. The guide is organized by three types of learning outcomes: competencies, learning goals, and learning objectives, allowing educators or trainers to select goals and objectives appropriate for participants' learning needs and skill levels, along with university or organization criteria. Chapter contents include seven competency topics: foundation; screening and brief interventions; models of addiction; biological effects of alcohol on the fetus; screening, diagnosis, and assessment of FAS; treatment across the lifespan for persons with FASDs; and ethical, legal, and policy issues.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, CD-ROMs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Prenatal addiction, Prenatal care, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Screening, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This paper highlights recent findings from academic literature concerning the debate about the consequences of prenatal substance exposure for infants and young children. The paper discusses the prevalence of substance abuse during pregnancy; research limitations; and child growth and development in the following areas: motor development, cognitive development, language skills, behavior, attachment, school performance, and physical growth. Intervention strategies, including overarching programmatic recommendations and successful service interventions for health family development, are also discussed. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Attachment behavior, Child behavior, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Families: Intervention, Infant development, Infant health, Language development, Motor development, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This site provides access to the September 21, 2006 webcast focusing on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD). Five PowerPoint presentations are provided in addition to the agenda and the audio file. The presentations include: (1) prevention, education, intervention, and advocacy; (2) emerging issues about FASD in Michigan; (3) emerging issues about FASD in Detroit, Michigan; (4) Detroit Department of Health and Wellness promotion; and (5) the presentation from the National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Conferences, Early intervention, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Infant health, Michigan, Multimedia, Prevention, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses results from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health on illicit drug use among pregnant and nonpregnant women ages 15 to 44. The fact sheet, which includes results in brief, also discusses illicit drug use, alcohol use, cigarette use, and substance use during the year after giving birth. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. Endnotes are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1044, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1212 Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Illicit drugs, MCH research, Postpartum women, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use behavior, Surveys, Women', s health