Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster encourages cigarette smokers to quit smoking. The poster provides words of support to those trying to quit smoking.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This document outlines a curriculum for families that includes information on self-knowledge, awareness of the effects of alcohol and other drugs, and developing more effective behavior. The materials used in classes are not included with the document. Baby S.A.F.E. is funded by the Hawaii State Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, and emphasizes prevention, early intervention, and treatment of substance-abusing women who use alcohol, tobacco, and legal or illegal drugs.

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, Baby S.A.F.E. Program, 741-A Sunset Avenue, Room 208, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9022 Fax: (808) 733-9032 Web Site: http://health.hawaii.gov/mchb/home/baby-s-a-f-e-program Price unknown.

Keywords: Curricula, Families, Prevention programs, Substance abuse, Treatment, Women

Annotation: This digital toolkit provides information and resources to help adolescent health partners reduce the use of e-cigarettes among middle- and high-school students. It includes a review of the different types of e-cigarettes and their harmful health effects; describes actions that key adult influencers can take to help end the e-cigarette epidemic, and provides free media and communication resources and ideas to help reach parents, educators, and health care providers. Included are fact sheets, sample health advisories, a sample newsletter article/blog post, digital and social media materials. and free materials for use in print, radio and television.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Educational materials, Media campaigns, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth ages 10-14 years. Based on evidence from 60 U.S. studies, it demonstrates effectiveness in reducing initiation and use of cannabis, alcohol, tobacco, illicit substances, and prescription drug misuse. The review examines intervention components including parent-child communication, rule setting, and monitoring, delivered through individual or group sessions, web-based modules, and printed materials. It includes detailed economic analyses showing cost-benefit ratios ranging from 3.9 to 8.9 across multiple programs and provides implementation guidance for various community settings and populations.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Literature reviews, Parent child relations, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This online document describes the CHOICES program for women who are not pregnant (but could become pregnant) and who are drinking alcohol at excessive levels. The program uses motivational interviewing to increase a woman’s motivation and commitment to change. It is an evidence-based intervention that helps women to reduce or stop drinking, use contraception (birth control) effectively, or both. Links to additional resources on the prevention of fetal alcohol spectrum disorders are included on the website.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Contraception, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Prevention, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This report presents information on methods for conducting cost-outcome analysis for a number of child, adolescent, and adult injury prevention and intervention programs, followed by data and analysis for specific program types. Topics include motor vehicle and pedestrian safety intervention, impaired driving and pedestrian intervention, open-flame and burn prevention, violence prevention, substance abuse intervention, and health services and miscellaneous injury prevention. Data tables, a glossary, and references are provided.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2014

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Burn prevention, Children, Cost benefit analysis, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Pedestrians, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Statistics, Substance abuse treatment, Violence prevention

Annotation: These guidelines offer best practices, implementation strategies, and practical guidance for the design and development of services that meet the needs of children, youth, and their families experiencing a mental health crisis. The document provides strategies for different populations,, including young children, transition-age youth and young adults, youth with intellectual and developmental disabilities, LGBTQI+ youth, and rural and frontier communities. Each section includes a summary of implementation strategies, as well as links to programs and additional information. An appendix provides a table of core crisis principles.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Substance abuse treatment, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This resource for clinicians is intended to support youth cessation of all commercial tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, vaping devices, cigarettes, cigars, dissolvable tobacco, heated tobacco products, hookah, pipes, nicotine pouches, smokeless tobacco, roll-your-own, bidis, and snus. The resource explains why youth tobacco use is a critical health concern; describes the role pediatric clinicians play as a trusted resource for youth and families; outlines challenges and considerations; and calls on clinicians to address youth cessation using effective screening, counseling, and treatment strategies.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This report describes how young people often turn to nicotine products to alleviate stress, anxiety, and depression, and yet these products may actually make them feel worse. It highlights research studies connecting nicotine use with increased anxiety and depression are describes action steps that mental health professionals, policy makers, and regulators can take to help alleviate the problem.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Mental health, Nicotine, Policy development, Prevention, Regulations, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: This systematic review examined the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; in addition, references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review identified 29 trials that met inclusion criteria; 26 of the trials were general prevention trials that focused on nonpregnant youth covering the ages 10 through 24 years. The review found low strength of evidence on the benefits of behavioral counseling interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical substance use in young people.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Families, Interventions, Literature reviews, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This issue brief describes the Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) model for pregnant and postpartum women with substance use disorders and explains how this treatment model can be integrated into care delivery.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Drug abuse programs, Model programs, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Screening, Service integration., Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services

Annotation: Because youth in foster care have a higher propensity for drug use, this report was written to inform child welfare professionals, treatment providers, families, and community members on the signs of drug use and the risk factors that and impact of substance abuse. The report also provides links and information on various prevention and treatment initiatives, including those determined to be culturally sensitive.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug use behavior, Foster care, Foster children, Substance abuse prevention, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and other adults contains graphs, statistics and general information about underage drinking, and helps them identify warning signs and the sorts of injuries that may result from alcohol abuse. This NIH resource also informs parents how their role can positively impact the use of alcohol in their children, and how they can find interventions that work.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: This guide describes evidence-based strategies to prevent substance misuse among young adults, ages 18-25. It is part of the Evidence-Based Resource Guide Series of resources intended to support health care providers, health care system administrators, and community members to meet the needs of individuals at risk for, experiencing, or recovering from addictions and mental illness.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: This advisory warns of the e-cigarette epidemic among youth. The document explains the different types of e-cigarettes and offers information for parents, teachers, health professionals, and states, communities, tribes, and territories. There are links to relevant studies and publications.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Disease prevention, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behaviors, Tobacco, Young adults

Annotation: This report contains a comprehensive plan for states and local governments to address the problem of underage drinking. It outlines the goals of the ICCPUD (Interagency Coordinating Committee for the Prevention of Underage Drinking) and how it intends to facilitate cooperation among member institutions and provide information and resources on the prevention of underage drinking. This paper reports on the progress made toward achieving targets identified in 2006 for achievement in 2009 by ICCPUD, and lays out goals for 2021 and specific objectives on how to attain them.

Contact: Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/iccpud#:~:text=Underage%20Drinking%20Report-,The%20Interagency%20Coordinating%20Committee%20on%20the%20Prevention%20of%20Underage%20Drinking,prevent%20and%20reduce%20underage%20drinking.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This guide describes organizations, policy and legislation, prevention programs, publications, and webinars focused on prescription drug overdose prevention among youth and young adults. Contents include descriptions of reports, guides, toolkits, campaigns, website, iinitiatives, and research studies. Each item includes a short description and a link to the resource itself. Information about child safety and neonatal abstinence syndrome are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Drug effects, Infants, Legislation, Multimedia, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Policy development, Prescription drugs, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Safety, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs, Young adults

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the unique rural challenges related to opioid use disorder and the experiences of families in crisis and recommendations for federal action. Topics include the opioid epidemic as a national problem with rural differentials, opioid abuse trends in rural communities, substance abuse and child welfare, the role of federal block grants, and barriers to treatment and services. Opportunities for creating a stronger treatment system for opioid use disorders are also addressed including the role of support services, care coordination and mental health workers to address current shortages in rural communities, increasing the availability of treatment programs, and research. A case study from Indiana is included.

Contact: National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, 5600 Fishers Lane, 17W59D, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-0835 Fax: (301) 443-2803 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/rural/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child welfare, Crisis intervention, Drug addiction, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Health policy, Interagency cooperation, Mental health, Opiates, Policy development, Program coordination, Rural population, Service coordination, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance use disorders, Systems development, Work force