Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents insights from a meeting held on November 14, 2013, to explore the implications of stability and instability for children's development and to discuss what is known and what is needed across research, policy, and practice. Topics include the characteristics of instability that seem likely to affect children's well-being, where it occurs in children's lives, pathways by which it affects children's well-being, and contextual factors that seem likely to play a role in affecting its impact. Additional topics include research needs, implications for policy and practice, and immediate next steps such as developing a common framework and language to support shared understanding of the issues and challenges that need to be addressed.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Coping, Life change events, Policy development, Research, Stress management

Annotation: This webcast, held on June 17, 2014, convened federal policymakers, national thought leaders, and partner organizations to discuss the emerging science demonstrating the impact of toxic stress on a child's lifelong health. Topics included an overview of toxic stress and impact on practice; creating system transformation by forging connections between health, poverty, education, and violence programs; key federal agency activities to prevent toxic stress and promote resilience; a call to action; and congressional leadership and networking. Additional resources are also available including the symposium agenda, supplemental resources and materials, a fact sheet, speaker biographies, a press release, a policy statement, and a technical report.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Children, Community action, Lifecourse, Policy development, Poverty, Stress, Stress management, Violence prevention

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about sources of stress that pregnant women and new mothers experience and the impact of maternal distress on the developing fetus and young child. Topics include policies, programs, and practices that enhance a woman's ability to cope with stress, provide social and emotional support for pregnant women and new mothers, and build protective factors in new families. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. A separate brief lists resources for families. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the O'Neill Foundation]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Electronic publications, Families, Knowledge paths, Mental health, Parenting, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Social support, Stress, Stress management: Infant health, Young children

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women', s health

Annotation: This website is designed to help parents understand their child's reactions to injury and learn how to help children cope with trauma in a healthy way. Contents include resources on topics such as finding a therapist, traumatic stress and post-traumatic stress disorder, dealing with other types of traumatic events, worry or stress in children and adolescents, sleep problems, injury prevention, pain and injury care, books for parents, and books for children. Information for health professionals is also provided including information about risk factors for persistent traumatic stress and traumatic stress reactions, general guidelines, suggested reading, and measures for pediatric traumatic stress. A glossary, news and press releases, expert biographies, fact sheets, and published research are also available.

Contact: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399, Telephone: (215) 590-1000 Web Site: http://www.chop.edu/consumer/index.jsp Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Injury, Materials for children, Parent education, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Resources for professionals, Stress management, Trauma

Annotation: This brochure for military families provides information about how to handle stress and worry in reaction to deployment or other issues, both in adults and in children. The brochure presents tips on what to do to manage such feelings, lists behaviors that children may exhibit in reaction to stress, and discusses how to help children cope.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Consumer education materials, Coping, Mental health, Military, Stress management

Annotation: This book presents information on a wide range of alternative or complementary methods for providing health care. It provides an introductory chapter on alternative medicine which covers approaches such as acupuncture and acupressure, biofeedback, homeopathy, massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, and visualization therapy, among others. It includes chapters on the following topics: natural nutrition; vitamins; minerals and trace elements; botanical medicines; coping with stress; stress-related disorders; drug abuse and addiction; mental health disorders; common male and female health problems; pregnancy, childbirth, and infant care; dental care; eye, ear, nose, and throat problems; cancer; heart disorders; and aging. Each chapter presents alternative treatments for specific conditions, includes sidebars which summarize certain strategies, and provides bibliographical references. A glossary, a general bibliography, and an index are included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8303-9.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Childbirth, Dental care, Drug abuse, Encyclopedias, Exercise, Health services, Heart diseases, Holistic health, Infant care, Men, Mental disorders, Minerals, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Stress, Stress management, Vitamins, Women

Annotation: These audiotapes explain how use meditation to access your inner resources, enrich your everyday life by living each moment fully, reduce stress by responding creatively, and bring greater clarity and understanding to everything you do.

Contact: Nightingale-Conant Corporation, 6245 West Howard Street, Niles, IL 60714, Telephone: (800) 560-6081 Secondary Telephone: (800) 557-1660 Web Site: http://www.nightingale.com/HomePage.aspx $17.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-6715-3724-5.

Keywords: Audiotapes, Audiovisual materials, Stress management

Annotation: These six volumes supply material for the health teacher; each unit provides 90 classroom activities or worksheets for grades 7-12, ready to be photocopied. Each volume focuses on a major area of health education: Vol. 1, consumer health and safety activities; Vol. 2, diet and nutrition activities; Vol. 3, relationships and communication activities; Vol. 4, sex education activities; Vol. 5, stress management and self-esteem activities; and Vol. 6, substance abuse prevention activities. Each volume is illustrated with cartoons and graphs.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Communication skills, Consumer education, Diet, Health promotion, Nutrition, Relationships, Safety, School health education, Self esteem, Sexuality education, Stress management, Substance abuse prevention, Teaching

Annotation: This book has organized the facts about the major areas of health promotion and disease prevention into 30 chapters under the following major headings: Health promotion, health protection, preventive services, age groups, minority populations, diseases, and settings. Prevalence data, public and professional awareness data, service delivery data, and significant trends are included in most chapters.

Contact: Bull Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1377, Boulder, CO 80306, Telephone: (800) 676-2855 Fax: (303) 545-6354 Web Site: http://www.bullpub.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Communicable diseases, Exercise, Family planning, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical fitness, Pregnancy, Public health programs, Smoking, Stress management, Substance use

Annotation: The overall objective of this study was to evaluate group methods for helping mothers of special needs children use personal coping skills and social supports to deal with child-rearing stresses. The project was carried out as a randomized clinical trial in which 231 mothers of handicapped children, divided into groups of 10 members each, participated in 1 of 3 intervention groups. The study found: (1) Mothers of special needs children who participated in skills-building groups demonstrated better personal coping skills and showed greater interpersonal skills than mothers who did not participate in these groups; (2) at followup points, mothers of special needs children who participated in skills-building groups reported the use of personal coping skills and social supports more than the mothers who did not participate; (3) mothers in the experimental group reported lower depression levels at post-test than mothers in the comparison treatment group; (4) following their participation in skills-building groups, the mothers of developmentally and emotionally handicapped children reported less stress and greater well-being than mothers who did not participate in these groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB88-174420.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Family support programs, Mothers, Stress, Stress management

Annotation: This guide is designed to help Head Start programs encourage parents and staff to adopt health behaviors that will lead to healthier families. It discusses a variety of topics such as alcohol and drug awareness, nutrition, and physical fitness. It explains why each is important to good health and proposes some ideas for developing programs on each topic. The guide presents some suggested strategies for involving Head Start parents, particularly Hispanic parents, and staff in activities through which they can practice new health promotion skills. Suggestions about who to contact in the community for resources and expert assistance in developing activities are offered.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org $7.50 for members, $8.50 for nonmembers.

Keywords: Alcohol education, Drug education, Families, Head Start, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Physical fitness, Safety, Smoking cessation, Stress management