Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This data book presents data on Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Contents include an overview with key statistics on Medicaid and CHIP; trends in Medicaid; Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and spending with information on benefits, managed care, and program administration; Medicaid and CHIP eligibility; and measures of beneficiary health, use of services, and access to care. The final section of the data book contains a technical guide that describes the data sources used, the methods used to analyze the data, and guidance in interpreting how specific data may differ from each other or from those published elsewhere.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• 2024

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Medicaid, Statistical data, Trends, s health insurance program

Annotation: This brief provides data on variations across states in the recognition of and reimbursement for select oral health services for children. Content build upon two editions of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's resource, Are Your Kids Covered? The brief also presents information on the importance of selected services. Time trends in state coverage for selected services for children are included, and data and methods are discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Reimbursement, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of integrating oral health care and mental health care into obstetrical care to improve the overall health of women during and after pregnancy. The report explains why poor oral health and mental health may be a particular problem for women during and after pregnancy, and how oral health and mental health are linked. The report also explains the role obstetricians can play in identifying oral health and mental health problems in pregnant and postpartum women.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Gynecology, Mental health, Obstetrical care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, Statistical data

Annotation: This report assesses access to and use of oral health care among people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) in Tennessee. It synthesizes data from multiple sources to evaluate the readiness of the state’s oral-health-care infrastructure to address the needs of people with IDD in the state. The report introduces the issue and provides analyses of overall health outcomes, oral health outcomes, and wait times for oral health care for people with IDD in the state. Recommendations for improving access to oral health care for this population are included.

Contact: American Institute of Dental Public Health, 401 William Street, #5560, River Forest, IL 60305, Telephone: (210) 876-6943 Web Site: https://aidph.org/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Special health care needs, State information, Statistical data, Tennessee

Annotation: This scorecard examines women's health and reproductive care across all U.S. states, analyzing performance through 32 measures organized into three dimensions: health outcomes; health care quality and prevention; and coverage, access, and affordability. It reveals significant regional and racial disparities in health system performance, with northeastern states generally performing better than southeastern and southwestern states. Key findings include: Massachusetts, Vermont, and Rhode Island ranking highest overall while Mississippi, Texas, and Nevada rank lowest; maternal mortality rates being highest in Tennessee, Mississippi, and Louisiana, with rates disproportionately affecting Black and American Indian/Alaska Native women; mental health conditions representing the leading cause of preventable pregnancy-related deaths; women in states without Medicaid expansion facing higher uninsured rates and more frequently skipping care due to cost; and abortion restrictions potentially limiting future access to maternity care providers. The report highlights how state policy choices impact women's health, noting that southeastern states with abortion restrictions generally have fewer maternity care providers, higher maternal mortality, and lower screening rates.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: , Barriers, Health disparities, Health services, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Measures, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This report uses Youth Risk Behavior Survey data from 2009 to 2019 to focus on four priority areas associated with sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV, and unintended pregnancy: sexual behavior, high-risk substance use, experiencing violence, and mental health and suicide. It updates a previous report covering 2007-2017. The resource also includes trends fact sheets and infographics.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, National surveys, Risk taking, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral hygiene home care practices in the United States. It presents the results of a survey of adults conducted to learn about oral hygiene habits, lifestyle choices, and socioeconomic factors that may affect oral health. The brief discusses brushing and flossing frequency; influences of food- and beverage-related behaviors and tobacco use on oral hygiene practices at home; and the influence of dental insurance type on brushing and flossing behaviors. Statistical information is presented according to age group, gender, and race and ethnicity.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Age factors, Dental insurance, Ethnic factors, Gender, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This brief presents national findings on young adults' mental health status and utilization of mental health care; summarizes the developmental factors important for positive mental health; highlights strategies for evidence-based mental health promotion and treatment; and offers guidance on how to build public awareness and engagement around mental health detection and treatment.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Health promotion, Mental health, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of the literature on housing instability as a social determinant of health. It provides background information on the federal Healthy People 2030 framework and describes how housing instability as a social determinant is organized according to the following five domains: Economic stability, education access and quality, health care access and quality, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community context. Data methods and sources, related objectives, links to evidence-based resources, and tools for action are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/

• Link

Keywords: Federal Initiatives , Health disparities, Housing, Literature reviews, Measures, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This issue brief provides analysis of racial and ethnic disparities across selected measures of maternal and infant health, discusses the factors that drive these disparities, and provides an overview of recent efforts to address them. Statistics from federal data sets are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Access to health care, Alaska natives, Blacks, Data, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Native Americans, Racial factors, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This tool is intended to help policymakers, administrators, and advocates understand where a given state’s Medicaid adult dental benefits package falls on a continuum from no dental benefits to extensive benefits, thereby identifying areas for improvement and expansion. The tool provides information on coverage of procedures and services, including allowed frequency, in eight service categories. It presents data reflecting the benefit package in place as of December 31, 2022.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health services, Medicaid, Oral health, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This web portal provides oral health data sources organized by state to help professionals and programs improve oral health and address oral health equity. Consolidated datasets on oral health status, attitudes, cost, utilization, and access to care have been organized into files and visualizations for easy access and use.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Health equity, Oral health, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the effects of reinstating Hawai'i's adult Medicaid dental benefits in 2022. Statistics are presented on the number of Hawai'i Medicaid beneficiaries with no diagnostic, preventive, or dental coverage and who visited the emergency department (ED) with a dental-related diagnosis between 2016 and 2020, the total cost of ED visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period, and the percentage of ER visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period who were Medicaid beneficiaries. Also provided are estimated savings from reinstating the benefits as well as information about the association between poor oral health and several chronic conditions and other negative health outcomes. [Produced by District of Columbia Department of Health]

Contact: Hawaii Public Health Institute, 707 Richards Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 591-6508 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hiphi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency room data, Hawaii, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report focuses on key areas that are impacting the health and well being of women in the state of California, including poverty, employment status, technology, the media, changing demographics, leadership, women in the military, and mental and physical health. The research and statistics highlight trends and insights on why gender gaps continue to exist within the state. Data on racial and ethnic health disparities is included, along with figures that compare statistical data in the state of California with national averages. Data on obesity, infant mortality, substance abuse, breastfeeding, and other health-related variables are interspersed throughout the report, which is intended to inspire college students at Mount St. Mary's College to affect change.

Contact: Mount St. Mary's College, Doheny Campus, 10 Chester Place, Los Angeles, CA 90007, Telephone: (213) 477-2500 Web Site: http://www.msmc.la.edu/ Available from the website.

• 2022 Edition
• Website

Keywords: California, Gender, Geographic factors, Health status disparities, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide provides information about workflow and configuration for the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include logic, specifications, and documentation; best practice workflow; configuring required data elements in the EClinicalWorks (eCW) electronic health record; and additional support. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Fluoride, Health services, Oral heath, Prevention, Risk assessment, Statistical data

Annotation: This framework describes the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS’s) plan to incorporate health equity and efforts to address health disparities as a foundational element across all its work. It discusses five priority areas: (1) expand the collection, reporting, and analysis of standardized data; (2) assess causes of disparities within CMS programs and address inequalities in policies and operations; (3) build capacity of health care organizations and the workforce to reduce health and health care disparities; (4) advance language access, health literacy, and the provision of culturally tailored services; and (5) increase access to health care and coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health equity, Health literacy, Policy, Statistical data

Annotation: This handbook is intended as a resource for coaches who provide primary care practices with health information technology (IT)–related assistance to support their quality-improvement (QI) and practice-transformation efforts. Topics include strategies for health IT advisors, working with electronic health records (EHRs), clinical-decision support, patient portals and engagement technologies, and incorporating patient-generated data for QI. Additional topics include EHR cases for QI, alternative data sources for QI, and reviews of clinical quality measures and of risk stratification in primary care.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ 22-0028.

• PDF

Keywords: Information technology, Measures, Primary care, Quality assurance, Statistical data

Annotation: This guide provides information on oral health data and sources that advocates may find helpful in describing access to care barriers, problems, and disparities and that may help make the case for policy solutions that address these issues. Topics include oral health access and outcomes, oral health professionals, Medicaid, and special populations (children, pregnant women, older adults, and adults with low incomes).

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Health care disparities, Low income groups, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health 2019–2020 about the health, including oral health, of children living in rural areas, as well as use of health care. Topics include receipt of preventive medical and oral health visits; adverse childhood experiences; and weight, physical activity, and food insecurity.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Rural population, Statistical data, Surveys