Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chart provides a list of states in which dental hygienists may provide services in medical settings such as hospitals and medical offices, as well as in public health clinics. For each state, a link to the relevant statute or rule is provided, and a description of the provision is presented.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Health services, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This manual is intended for health professionals interested in integrating a dental hygienist into a medical care team. It discusses billing, contracting, rules and regulations, and scope of dental hygiene practice specific to North Dakota. It also provides information related to workflow, patient data, and education relevant to health professionals outside North Dakota. The manual discusses scheduling a visit, the oral health screening process, integrating a dental hygienist into the workflow, electronic medical and dental records, care coordination, charging and billing services, rules and regulations, and medical resident and clinical staff evaluation.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Care coordination, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Pediatricians, Primary care, Regulations, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This report provides information to increase awareness about the role law and policy play in improving oral health and focuses on state, tribal, and local settings. Topics include financing oral health care, the government’s role in the oral health workforce, challenges in accessing available oral health care, recommendations for additional research, and emerging trends and issues.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Background Information On Report

Keywords: Government role, Laws, Local government, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This map provides information on state legislation of interest to academic dentistry for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Users can view the status of bills, upcoming hearing dates, and bill text and author and sponsor information. Users can also view state legislation on topics such as health coverage and financing, fluoride, oral health programs, teledentistry, regulations, and work force.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Dentistry, Financing, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This document presents the final text rule requiring local school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) in Oregon to be certified by the Oregon Health Authority before they can provide dental sealants. Contents include guidance on the requirements for certification, the application process for certification and recertification, monitoring of SBSPs, and decertification or pro- visional certification for programs that are out of compliance. Information about certification and clinical training is also available.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Certification, Dental sealants, Health services delivery, Oral health, Oregon, Preventive health services, Regulations, School age children, School districts, School health programs, Schools, Standards, State legislation, Training

Annotation: This brief presents an analysis of each state's community benefit landscape viewed through the lens of major categories of federal community benefit requirements articulated in the Affordable Care Act. It reports laws and regulations adopted, new community benefit legislation enacted, bills that were introduced but not enacted or are still pending, and conclusions. Topics include tax exemption and preventing unnecessary medical debt.

Contact: Hilltop Institute, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Sondheim Hall, Third Floor, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, Telephone: (410) 455-6854 Fax: (410) 455-6850 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hilltopinstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Costs, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Regulations, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This report provides findings on tobacco retailer density, examines changes in product availability and marketing and promotion at retailers, and documents the growth in retail policy activity in states and localities. It also reports barriers to retail policy activity, resources, examples of policy successes, and a roadmap of strategies to help demonstrate how states and communities are changing the tobacco retail and policy landscape.

Contact: Washington University in St. Louis, Center for Public Health Systems Science, Campus Box 1009, 700 Rosedale Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63112, Telephone: (314) 935-3365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cphss.wustl.edu/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Community action, Evolution, Marketing, Policy development, Regulations, State legislation, Tobacco

Annotation: This report for policy makers, agency officials, non-governmental organizations and associations, and others who work to promote quality child care and advance children's health provides information about laws, regulations, and programs to address indoor environmental contaminants in child care facilities. Contents include an overview of how policies address indoor environmental quality issues in licensed child care facilities and, for each issue, examples of policy strategies for states to consider including notable non-regulatory initiatives that are being implemented by state agencies. Topics include carbon monoxide alarms; mold and dampness; building ventilation and temperature; pesticides, lead-based paint; asbestos; other chemical exposures (cleaning, renovation, and consumer products); facility site/location; and state non-regulatory activities (education, assistance and incentives to advance best practices). The appendix provides information about where to find state statutes and regulations online.

Contact: Environmental Law Institute, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 939-3800 Web Site: http://www.eli.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child health, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Hazardous materials, Health education, Model programs, Policy development, Regulations, State initiatives, State legislation

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the strategies being used to expand preventive services and the opportunities for state public health departments to influence and lead such efforts. Topics include how preventive services are currently provided in the community, understanding the Medicaid landscape in states, Medicaid state plan amendments and waivers, increasing access to preventive services through emerging professions, preventive services rule change (what the rule changes and how the regulatory change can improve community prevention efforts), opportunities to expand preventive services through community benefit program, and key points for state health departments on expanding community-based prevention services. Resources are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Community health services, Medicaid, Preventive health services, Program development, Program improvement, Regulations, State health agencies

Annotation: This manual provides expectations and standards for programs that enter into a memorandum of agreement with the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, School-Based Dental Prevention Program. Topics include regulatory compliance, program operation, data management and monitoring, and reporting requirements. Supporting documents and educational resources are included.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dentists, Manuals, Oral health, Regulations, School age children, School based clinics, South Carolina, State programs, Training materials

Annotation: This tool summarizes authorization requirements for psychotropic medications to ensure appropriate medication use for children and youth covered by Medicaid. Contents include a table highlighting prior authorization parameters used by 14 states to reduce the inappropriate use of psychotropic medications among children and youth covered by Medicaid including those in foster care.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Drug therapy, Foster care, Medicaid, Mental health, Quality assurance, State programs, State regulations

Annotation: These worksheets are designed to help clinic managers, integrated care project directors, and billing/coding staff at community mental health centers and community health centers identify available current procedural terminology (CPT) codes they can use in their state to bill for services related to integrated primary and behavioral health care. The worksheets link CPT codes with state-specific diagnostic codes and associated professional credentials needed to submit a successful, payable claim. Links to instructional videos covering a range of billing and coding topics and an archived webinar on billing for integrated health services are also available.

Contact: SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, 1701 K Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: integration@thenational council.org Web Site: http://www.integration.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Community health centers, Medicaid, Mental health services, Primary care, Regulations, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Service integration, State programs, Training

Annotation: This brief examines how states have exercised their options under the initial federal essential health benefits (EHB) framework. Topics include the Affordable Care Act's 10 EHB categories and state approaches to selection of an EHB benchmark plan, regulation of EHB substitution, defining coverage for habilitative services, and coverage for pediatric dental services.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Dental care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric care, Regulations, Rehabilitation, State programs

Annotation: This document provides model legislation for states implementing a policy requiring a safety warning on sugar-sweetened beverage (SSB) containers and packaging. Contents include model legislation to assist states seeking to increase consumer awareness about the health risks of consuming SSBs and to help them to make informed choices. An accompanying set of evidence-based facts that support the legislation is also available.

Contact: ChangeLab Solutions, 2201 Broadway, Suite 502, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 302-3380 Web Site: http://changelabsolutions.org Available from the website.

• Model Legislation For States
• Appendix

Keywords: Consumer education, Food labeling, Health behaviors, Health policy, Nutrition, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Sugar

Annotation: These fact sheets for public health professionals, policymakers, and others provide data on oral health in the 50 states and the District of Columbia and describe laws governing the respective services provided by members of the oral health work force. Each state fact sheet, titled Pathways to Improved Access to Dental Health Services, describes indicators of oral and dental health and how the state compares with the nation on these indicators. The fact sheets also describe the scope of practice for allied dental personnel in the state such as what the practice includes, what services cannot be performed, supervision requirements, and the body responsible for oversight.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Allied health personnel, Dental care, Dental hygienists, Health status, Licensing, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Regulations, Reimbursement, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This report presents an assessment of oral health needs and policy recommendations for North Dakota. Contents include an assessment of the oral health work force and service capacity, potential unmet need for oral health care, and stakeholder group perspectives. Descriptions of existing oral health programs and initiatives in the state and proposed models to improve oral health status are included.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Financing, Health status, Models, Needs assessment, North Dakota, Oral health, Policy development, Professional education, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Research, State legislation, State programs, Training, Work force