Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy snapshot examines community-based doula policies across states as part of the 2024 Prenatal-to-3 State Policy Roadmap, identifying doulas as one of 12 evidence-based policies that impact the prenatal-to-3 system of care. The document explains that community-based doulas are trained social service professionals who provide non-clinical emotional, physical, and informational support to expectant parents from pregnancy through the postpartum period, and when integrated into larger support systems can improve child health outcomes, parenting behaviors, and birth outcomes. It identifies two key policy levers for states: expanding access through Medicaid coverage and reimbursement of doula services, and bolstering workforce sustainability through financial support for training and development. The snapshot shows which states cover and reimburse community-based doula services under Medicaid and which states provide financial support for doula training.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Doulas, Medicaid, Policy development, Reimbursement, State policies, Statistics, Work force, trends

Annotation: This video explains the differences between big P and little p policy in public health settings. It discusses how big P policy refers to government-enacted policies at federal, state, and local levels through legislative, judicial, or executive branches, while little p policy encompasses policies developed outside government entities, including workplace policies, nonprofit guidelines, and program implementation protocols. The video provides interactive examples for viewers to distinguish between the two types and highlights the role of Title V programs in influencing policy through advocacy, development, implementation, and stakeholder engagement. It also references the CDC's policy process as a systematic approach to addressing public health problems and encourages public health professionals to recognize their participation in policy work regardless of their formal role. Length: 3 minutes, 7 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: State policies, Health policies, Administrative policies, Guidelines, Title V programs

Annotation: This video details New Mexico's journey in developing comprehensive policies for substance-exposed newborns, specifically highlighting how the state worked to align with the 2016 Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA)'s amendments to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA). The process culminated in the 2019 passage of HB230, which mandates hospitals to create Plans of Care for affected infants and families, with the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) providing guidance to hospitals, insurers, and other stakeholders. Length: 8 minutes, 25 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: New Mexico, Patient care planning, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance exposed infants, Substance abusing women, State policies, Evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents survey results showing state and territory policy strategies for supporting maternal and child health during COVID-19. The data indicates varying levels of implementation across multiple initiatives, including creating auxiliary maternity units, supporting birthing options, requiring implicit bias training, covering telehealth services, and tracking quality measures. The policies particularly focus on ensuring equity in birthing options for populations affected by racial/ethnic and socioeconomic disparities, with specific attention to data collection, vaccination strategies, and expanding healthcare professional scope of practice.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Covid-19, Pregnant women, Postpartum women, Infant health, State policies, Surveys, Telemedicine

Annotation: This framework describes desired systems performance outcomes for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) in the domains of health services; family support and social services; education and employment services; and law enforcement and juvenile justice contact. The document provides a table listing services used by CYSHCN and their families by domain; a description of how the literature was reviewed; a list of statutes, policies and existing documents relating to the outcomes; a list of state, federal and other actors who support CYSHCN and their families; and available datasets and state policy compendia. The audience for the framework is parents, state lawmakers, and other stakeholders.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health care systems, Policies, Service delivery systems, State programs, Youth with special health care needs

Annotation: This document discusses current trends to access to developmental screening, private and federal efforts to increase access (including Head Start, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Parts B and C, Medicaid and Title V of the Maternal and Child Health Block Grants), and challenges in expanding access. It then discusses state policies supporting developmental screening in child care and early education (including licensing, subsidies, pre-kindergarten, quality initiatives and service coordination) and state policy recommendations.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Developmental screening, Public policies, State programs, Young children

Annotation: These questionnaires are designed to assess school health policies and programs at the state, district, school, and classroom levels. Components include health education, physical education and activity, health services, mental health and social services, nutrition services and foods and beverages available at school, healthy and safe school environment, physical school environments, faculty and staff health promotion, and family and community involvement in schools.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• 2006
• 2000, 1994

Keywords: Food service, Health education, Health policy, Health services, Local government, Physical education, Policies, Programs, Questionnaires, Schools, State government, Survey tools, Teachers

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on state policies and school-based strategies for preventing suicide among adolescents. The brief provides an overview of the problem; provides background; and discusses the role of school in suicide prevention, state support for suicide prevention programs, and state suicide-prevention initiatives. A conclusion and selected sources for further information are included. The brief also includes endnotes.

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Initiatives, Public policies, School health programs, State programs, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This report, which is based on data from the 2003 and 2001 California Health Interview Surveys, examines health insurance coverage and the sources and consequences of periods of uninsurance for the nonelderly population in California. The report (1) paints an overall picture of health insurance and uninsurance in California and the changes experienced between 2001 and 2003, (2) examines changes in employer-based insurance, (3) profiles Medi-Cal and Healthy Families enrollees and their families, as well as children who are uninsured but eligible for coverage in these program, (4) examines the consequences of being uninsured vs. having coverage as it relates to access to care and getting necessary care, and (5) discusses the advantages and disadvantages of key public policy options to extend coverage to California's 6.6 million uninsured residents. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. An executive summary and a conclusion are included. The report includes one appendix: estimating uninsurance using population-based survey data.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Families, Health insurance, Low income groups, Public policies, State health insurance programs, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report on an annual 50-state survey of enrollment and eligibility policies in Medicaid and the Sate Children's Health Insurance Program presents survey findings and decisions made by policymakers regarding strategies to make programs available, affordable, and easy to obtain. The report also discusses where states stand on eligibility, enrollment, and renewal procedures and cost-sharing rules and practices. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes an executive summary and the survey methodology.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, Public policies, State Children', State programs, Surveys, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of data relevant to adolescent driving behavior, including adolescent crash rates and trends, licensure rates, seatbelt use, and other risk factors associated with fatal crashes among adolescents. The brief also discusses the possible causes of the high rates of adolescents in fatal crashes, strategies states have taken to make adolescents safer, and some implications for policy and future research. Statistical information is provided in figures and tables throughout the brief.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent mortality, Motor vehicle crashes, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Public policies, State programs

Annotation: These materials provide information on a series of policy academies convened by the National Governors Association in 2000 and 2001 to enhance states' ability to meet the oral health needs of children from families with low incomes. The materials serve as a resource for states seeking to incorporate the lessons learned from the academies into their own action plans. The materials include a description of the policy academies, news releases, agendas for three of the academies, faculty and state attendee lists, a faculty guide, a planning guide, a homework assignment, talking points, and PowerPoint presentations. Topics include the development of an oral health action plan for children, states' visions of future issues and challenges, an assessment of the reality in the states, priorities and goals, strategies, and action steps.

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Conferences, Low income groups, Model programs, Oral health, Policies, State programs, Strategic plans

Keywords: Child health services, EPSDT, Federal programs, Medicaid, Public policies, State program