Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This action plan focuses on the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition’s goals related to improving the oral health of all Louisianans. It provides direction for achieving priorities set forth by stakeholders representing individual oral health champions and multiple organizations across the state. The plan describes three oral-health-promotion interventions across the state: Well Ahead Louisiana (a chronic-disease-prevention and health-care-access initiative of the Louisiana Department of Health), school dental sealant programs, and community water fluoridation. Information about the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition is provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health promotion, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State planning

Annotation: This report outlines goals and strategies for advancing oral health equity, increasing access to oral health care, preventing oral disease, and improving oral health in Minnesota. It included five key focus areas: oral health infrastructure; access to oral health care; health systems integration; disability, special health care needs, and inclusion; and data. Oral health disparities in Minnesota, work and achievements since Minnesota’s first state oral health plan, best practices, and future directions are also discussed.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Health care systems, Health equity, Minnesota, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Special health care needs, State planning

Annotation: This report provides information about the Arkansas Office of Oral Health Surveillance System (AOHSS), which drives the objectives and activities within the Arkansas Office of Oral Health and is used to measure the prevalence of selected indicators that determine the state of oral health in Arkansas. The report presents 2021–2026 AOHSS objectives and an AOHSS logic model. It discusses oral health indicators and data sources, data dissemination and use, resources and sustainability, and privacy and data confidentiality.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Population surveillance, Statewide planning, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents information about state Title V transition strategies and evidence-informed measures. Contents include an executive summary and recommendations, examples of innovative transition strategies, and information about a new transition measure from the National Survey of Children's Health that will be used to report state and national transition performance. [Supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Measures, Program development, Program planning, State programs, Transition planning, Transitions

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that policymakers in the state make informed oral health policy decisions. It discusses three policy opportunities: increasing the state budget for expanding school-based dental sealant programs, strengthening Ohio’s safety net oral health system in the state budget, and preserving dentistry in telehealth services that Medicaid authorized during the COVID-19 pandemic to promote access to oral health care.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Budgets, Dental sealants, Ohio, Oral health, School health, Statewide planning, Telemedicine

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to integrate oral health and overall health across systems in the state. It discusses school-based health centers and the impact that tooth decay in children and adolescents can have on school readiness, absenteeism, career readiness, and mental health and well-being. Also discussed are two policy opportunities: adopting K–12 education standards and including oral health in school-based drug-prevention-education and mental-health-promotion curricula.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Curricula, Mental health, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, School health, School readiness, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure equitable health care systems and access to oral health care in the state. It discusses three policy opportunities: preserving the adult benefit under the Medicaid program; preserving Medicaid expansion, and increasing the number of oral health professionals in the state who accept patients enrolled in Medicaid by advocating for higher reimbursement rates.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Medicaid, Ohio, Oral health, Reimbursement, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report presents a plan for improving oral health in North Carolina. It introduces the issues, describes the methodology, and presents a plan-development timeline. Other topics include oral health drivers, the oral health safety net in the state, environmental conditions, and public oral health care in North Carolina. A snapshot of oral health status in North Carolina is presented, along with an introduction to regional oral health plans and a list of partners.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Regional planning, State planning

Annotation: This oral health plan provides an agenda for achieving a set of objectives to improve oral health equity and well-being for Californians. The plan provides information about the California Partnership, background information about oral health in California, supporting the plan, transitioning the California Oral Health Plan Advisory Committee to the Partnership for Oral Health, and the meaning of "partnership" in the context of the plan. The partnership structure and operations are discussed, and next steps are presented.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Oral health, Oral health equity, Partnerships, Statewide planning

Annotation: This resource guide provides a summary of evidence-based/informed strategy measures (ESMs) as part of the 2018/2020 MCH Block Grant submission as seen through the results-based accountability (RBA) framework. It provides tools to help state Title V agencies ensure their programs have the greatest potential to be effective for the families they serve. For each of the 15 National Performance Measures (NPMs) the document provides evidence strategies and examples of field-generated measures currently used by states. It also provides resources for a structured planning process and finding, implementing, and measuring evidence-based/informed programs. Social determinants of health and health equity tools are included, and information on requesting technical assistance.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Evidence based practice, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Program planning, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report is intended to serve as a blueprint for how efforts, resources, and interests can be combined to strengthen Pennsylvania’s capacity to prevent oral diseases and help achieve a lifetime of good oral health and overall health. The plan outlines three main priority areas: access, prevention, and education; workforce; and infrastructure improvement. Background information on oral health in America and in Pennsylvania is also included.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health education, Oral disease, Pennsylvania, Prevention, State planning

Annotation: The Arizona Oral Health Action Plan 2019–2022 provides guidance for improving the oral health of all Arizonans. It introduces issues related to oral health in Arizona and discusses the following topics: understanding oral health disparities among children, pregnant women, adults, and older adults; improving oral health equity; cross-cutting oral health care systems; and improving health and oral health in the state.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-1891 Fax: (602) 364-1494 Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/prevention/womens-childrens-health/oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adult health, Arizona, Older adults, Oral health, Service delivery systems, State planning

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This strategic plan outlines focus areas for the period 2010–2018 that are intended to increase the number of Iowans who have access to optimally fluoridated community water. The focus areas include partnerships, data collection and reporting, communication and policy, and infrastructure and system development. For each focus area, strategies and activities are presented. Outcome measures are also included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Fluoride, Iowa, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning, Strategic plans