Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on silver diamine fluoride (SDF) treatment. Topics include the purpose of SDF, side effects of SDF treatment, who can benefit from SDF treatment, U.S. Food and Drug Administration clearance of SDF treatment, Vermont Medicaid coverage of SDF treatment, and who should not receive SDF treatment. Also included is information on how SDF treatment can prevent children under age 6 in Vermont from requiring tooth decay treatment performed under general anesthesia. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State materials, Vermont

Annotation: This video library is designed for pediatricians wishing to integrate oral health care into well-child visits, as well as for parents. The library contains one video correlating with each well-child visit, from the 2-month visit to the age-5 visit.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, Telephone: (207) 805-4243 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mainecohn.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Maine, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, State materials, Videos, Young children

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information from a survey of federally qualified health care centers on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the oral health workforce in Missouri. The survey includes questions on staffing issues and appointment wait times. Information on dentists, dental assistants, and dental hygienists is presented, and action steps to address the problem of an insufficient oral health workforce in the state are offered.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, MIssouri, Oral health, Service delivery, State materials, Surveys, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report recounts the development of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's (UNC-CH's) dental public health education program from its inception in 1936 through 2016. The report provides an overview of public health education and describes the beginnings of dental public health education at UNC-CH and the launch of the university's Institute of Public Health Dentistry, laying the foundation for a resurgence of training in dental public health, and UNC-CH's short courses in dental public health. Also discussed are the North Carolina Dental Public Health Residency Program, degree programs in public health dentistry at UNC-CH, and oral health research conducted at the Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Contact: University of North Carolina Press, 116 South Boundary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808, Telephone: (919) 966-3561 Fax: (919) 966-3829 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://uncpress.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Higher education, History, North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Research, State materials, Training

Annotation: This section of the 2021-2026 Idaho Oral Health Improvement Plan comprises reports from partner organizations and individual oral health champions who have undertaken activities that align with the plan and are working to improve, support, or otherwise positively impact oral health for Idahoans. For each partner organization or individual, information on the geographic area served, the target population, and the oral-disease-prevention activities, activities to improve access to oral health care, and policy-related activities is provided.

Contact: Idaho Oral Health Alliance, P.O. Box 2309, Boise, ID 83701, Telephone: (208) 994-9058 Web Site: http://www.idahooralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Idaho, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help oral health professionals in California integrate tobacco-cessation interventions into routine oral health care. It provides tools and evidence-based resources that oral health professionals can use or share with their patients who use tobacco. Information is offered on trends in tobacco products and use in California, oral health professionals’ role in tobacco cessation, tobacco dependence and the benefits of quitting, and FDA-approved medications for tobacco cessation. Brief interventions for use in dental settings are included.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 707 Parnassus Ave., San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 502-5800 Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Webinar Companion To The Toolkit

Keywords: California, Intervention, Oral health, Smoking cessation, State materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This practice guidance provides information on oral health care during pregnancy for oral health professionals and prenatal care professionals in Maryland. It provides information about the oral health of pregnant women and their infants in the state, state statistics on oral health care utilization during pregnancy, clinical practice guidance, a visual guide of oral conditions that can occur during pregnancy, a pharmacological considerations chart, a sample dental referral form, and educational resources to share with pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Maryland, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about implementing oral health services in Washington’s rural health clinics (RHCs). It discusses assessing a community’s oral health needs and how an RHC can address these needs, procuring funding and equipment, determining a dental encounter rate, recruiting staff, collaborating with primary care and emergency services, selecting health records software, and managing costs and patient processes. Getting started, implementing a program, program impact, and looking ahead are also addressed.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, Financing, Oral health, Rural environment, Rural health, State materials, Washington

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health trends in Arkansas. It presents graphs and charts illustrating the impact of preventive oral health practices on oral disease risk factors on Arkansas residents. Topics include: dental visits, permanent tooth extractions, edudentalism, and diabetes. Information is presented for children, adolescents, and adults. Background information on oral health, oral diseases and conditions, oral health disparities, and good oral hygiene practices is also included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Dental caries, Diabetes, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State materials, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information on Nevada’s state oral health plan. The report describes the Nevada Oral Health Program and offers information on the Advisory Committee on the State Program for Oral Health (AC4OH) and development of the oral health plan. The burdens of oral disease nationally and in Nevada are discussed, and key findings and priority areas (policy and infrastructure, prevention and screening, access to and quality of oral health care, and workforce capacity) are presented. The report also describes the process that AC4OH will use to implement plan objectives and measure progress toward them.

Contact: Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Oral Health Program, 4150 Technology Way, Carson City, NV 89706, Telephone: (775) 684-4200 Fax: (775) 684-4211 Web Site: http://dpbh.nv.gov/Programs/OH/OH-Home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health screening, Nevada, Oral health, Prevention, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, State materials, State programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This plan was created with a vision of empowering all South Dakotans to embrace oral health as a critical component of overall health and well-being throughout life. The plan includes the following goals: improve oral health literacy and awareness of the importance of oral health; prevent oral diseases; increase the availability, accessibility, and use of oral health care; and coordinate state oral health efforts. For each goal, objectives and strategies are presented.

Contact: South Dakota Oral Health Coalition, South Dakota Dental Association, 804 N. Euclid Avenue, Suite 103, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 224-9133 Web Site: https://www.sddental.org/public-resources/oral-health-coalition Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, South Dakota, State materials, Strategic plans

Annotation: The purpose of this oral health plan is improve the oral health of all Vermonters and, in particular, to move closer to oral health equity in the state. The plan defines health equity, discusses past and ongoing efforts to improve oral health in Vermont, and presents updates from the field. The following plan goals are discussed: increase access to oral health care, expand the dental workforce, expand school-based oral health programs, expand community water fluoridation, enhance oral health surveillance, promote quality-improvement initiatives, and increase the integration of oral health and primary care.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7606 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7701 Web Site: http://www.healthvermont.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Fluoride, Oral health, Oral health equity, Quality assurance, School health, Service integration, State materials, Strategic plans, Surveillance, Vermont

Annotation: This plan was created with a vision of empowering all South Dakotans to embrace oral health as a critical component of overall health and well-being throughout life. The plan includes the following goals: improve oral health literacy and awareness of the importance of oral health; prevent oral diseases; increase the availability, accessibility, and use of oral health care; and coordinate state oral health efforts. For each goal, objectives and strategies are presented.

Contact: South Dakota Oral Health Coalition, South Dakota Dental Association, 804 N. Euclid Avenue, Suite 103, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 224-9133 Web Site: https://www.sddental.org/public-resources/oral-health-coalition Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, Service coordination, South Dakota, State materials